We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large oceanfront resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Large oceanfront resort”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for a company retreat. My room was in the Breckenridge building, which is on the far end of the resort. The room had a nice oceanview, comfortable beds, and a small kitchen area with a microwave and refigerator. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The air conditioner was a little loud, but not intolerable. The conference rooms were also well appointed with comfortable chairs. The staff constantly refreshed the drinks and snacks for the conference. I recommend this hotel for family vacations, romantic getaways, and conferences.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,845
    1,294
    628
    371
    224
See reviews for
2,299
1,029
76
821
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hewitt, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband stayed here for just one night on a visit with a senior relative. Definitely a resort type place. Staff were very pleasant with many warm greetings and smiles. Room comfortable for the two of us and enjoyed the balcony. Beach lovely. Outdoor bar prices very reasonable(surprisingly) and enjoyed a beautiful sunset in very beautiful weather which was greatly appreciated since we are northerners.
My husband requested a later checkout so that we could spend sometime in the sun and enjoy the amenities which you so dearly pay for. There was a charge of $20/hr to stay longer....which we were going to pay but the weather didn't cooperate and we changed our plan.
But, apparently there was no communication to housekeeping to our later check out since they came knocking on the door at 8:30AM! Really? Many would probably be sleeping at that time(which we weren't, but still?).
While I would recommend this place, I would skip it for just one night's stay; you can't really take advantage of the amenities which you are paying for.
Personally I hate the add-on costs, just charge me upfront what it is and sto the nickel and diming.
Oh and check out, my husband told the clerk about taking off the extra charges for the late check out and she presented the bill, WITH the charges still in place....had to re-run it a second time.
Room coffee is horrible but lobby coffee(for a fee) is good.
Had an end room which was fortunate b/c easily heard our neighbors on the other side.

Room Tip: Go for an end room to minimize neighbor's noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kas81057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deptford, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I can't say enough about the great staff at Tradewinds...Yolanda & Sue took care of us at the Deli which has great sandwiches packed with tuna or egg salad and many other choices! Had an awesome dinner at Bermudas our thanks to the chief! Our housekeeper Audrey was very friendly and had us laughing she also recommended something for my husbands stiff neck and actually called us to see if we found it at the store! Flossie at the Breckinridge is a sweetheart and Ray on the big slide does a great job and is super nice....we love the Tradewinds and can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie Reeves W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Marie, thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that our staff made your stay special and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed here for a business conference in January. The hotel was nicely situated directly on the beach. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed. They are within walking distance of restaurants and bars as well as have many directly on the property itself. I would definitely stay here again for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunryz710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Debbie was so helpful and friendly. It was such an added bonus to the wonderful resort. She went above and beyond for my husband and me. Great service, great coffee, and great information on the resort. Never had to go to the front desk. Just sit at the lobby bar, have a drink and chat with sweet debbie!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbiekesling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Can't knock the Tradewinds Island Grand Resort for location but if you want a personnel touch don't come here it unfortunately caters far more towards people hosting business meetings or such like which at times renders large parts of the hotel sectioned off including the area just beyond the lobby? Rather then seeing fellow holiday makers you constantly bump into suits or have the pleasure of listening to their sales speak over their cell phones. There are 4 pools 3 for kids and 1 only for adults then there are a load of other activities to do, be warned you do have to pay extra for these including the large 2 story high inflatable slide which sits on the beach owned by the hotel. There are a number of places to eat which vary in price ranges and a Pizza Hut which is great if you have kids. Location is fantastic white sands and clear blue seas. Levels of service in this hotel are blatantly obvious, for every polite kind member of staff you encounter 5 more that couldn't care less if you were there or not, more often then not we were either ignored or the level of customer service was way below what we had received previously in America. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a sea view room which was very well decorated and homely but not very big for the 5 of us (2 adults 3 kids) the level of room service was exceptional every day but unfortunately most nights sleep were broken by fellow patrons drunk antics, it must be added these characters can be found most days by the adult pool and adjacent bar,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WamBamSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustLetGo8, Guest Relations Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
As Director of Guest Satisfaction I would like to apologize for our staff members who failed to be polite and to thank you for responding to my message. We strive for an aggressively friendly environment which is a basic part of our philosophy. I personally speak of this in the new hire orientation and all department meetings each month. I have forwarded this to our Director of F&B for review and coaching of the service staff in Beef O’ Brady's as you indicated that you felt as if you were ignored while the staff continued to clean around the area. Regarding the charges for the slide, it is now included in the resort amenity fee. The only charges would be to non-registered guest / locals. Regarding the conference -vs- leisure guest, we are just about 50/50 in occupancy right now. However, families for Spring Break are starting to take over as the weather improves and children are out of school. We were fortunate enough last year to basically be sold out from the second week of March until the second week of August. Hopefully, we will have just as good of a year this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

When my husband and I first pulled up to the Tradewinds Resort for a 5-day stay, we were met by a very personable doorman named Skyler, who helped us with our car, our luggage, everything--and set the welcoming tone of a truly carefree vacation. We stayed in a charming suite in the Breckinridge (I think that's right?) building. Our suite was exceptionally spacious, spotless, practical and comfy, overlooking both a pool and the ocean. We watched the sunsets on our balcony, had a hilarious time on the paddle boats, played some vicious ping pong, daydreamed on the hammocks and enjoyed the striking beauty of the place. The staff was never less than professional, but at the same time seemed like family. We found this engaging atmosphere contagious, even dubbing our maid "Angela the Ultimate" and hugging her good-bye! We're eager to return and would recommend this gem of a place to anyone. It's easy to imagine attending a convention, planning a stylish wedding, or kicking back on the beach with the family here. Everyone would feel right at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie M, Manager at TradeWinds Island Grand Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Catherine, we're so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us! Especially glad to hear that you made some friends during your visit...we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,576 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing