We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great time had by all again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great time had by all again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited the Tradewinds for about the 5th time on 26 December 2012 for a stay of 16 days. As always this hotel worked very well for us - we have a 9 year old and an 11 year old and went pool/ocean facing suite in the Hibiscus building. Rooms have been renovated since our last visit and whilst its not a major face lift it does make a diffence. Room seemed more modern / contemporary and cleaner. WE don't tend to eat in the hotel (except for the occasional lunch) as we prefer visiting local restaurants, bars and eateries of which there are many within walking and/or driving distance. The slide on the beach is as always a huge hit with the kids as are the activities around the pool during the day. Kids club in the evening was a success also even tough it was fairly quiet most evenings. This gave us a much appreciated few hours to dine alone. Staff are excellent throughout the hotel from the lady cleaning the room, to the staff at the Starbucks coffee shop in reception to any passing staff - all very pleasant and polite.
The beach here is just amazing - clean, and beautiful. Gym facilities and beauty salon facilities are good, ice cream shop and pizza shop for kids. Wifi throughout the resort is a bonus - all in all another success story. Hope to be back again.

Room Tip: A room facing the Gulf is a must - the beach is amazing and the sunsets are a pleasure in the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gourmetgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,553
    1,156
    572
    343
    204
See reviews for
2,022
922
67
739
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My family and I stayed here from Dec 26th to the 31st.
Despite the cool weather while we were there, we still had a great time.
Our stay here was awesome. Our room was spotless and the beds were comfy. Our room had a gulf view and had an amazing view of the beach :)
Upon our arrival, the staff was super friendly and polite.
We ate at a couple of the restaurants on the resort and the meals that we had were phenomenal. We ate at the steak house, the Italian restaurant and the pub. Finger licking good.
I would definitely come back here but at a different time of the year when the weather is a lot warmer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orbyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here for 6 days during a 2 week visit to Florida from the UK (Christmas / New Year 2012). We were originally booked into a standard room, but were offered an upgrade to a Gulf View Suite on check-in (at a very reasonable price) and were very glad we took it - the sunsets over the beach ARE stunning, and having a separate lounge room/kitchenette made life SO much easier.

Ate at a couple of the hotel's restaurants whilst we were there, service was good, waiters efficient and informative (about local highlights), but food was standard burger/fries/ribs/etc. There are other dining options, but we didn't use them (quite expensive compared to other local restaurants, which we did use ...).

Only 2 minor complaints - firstly the beds were 'double' size, which is great if you are 2 individuals using one each, but for 2 adults used to sharing a 'Queen-sized' bed, the double was a bit too cosy (our daughter was in the other!). Secondly, this is a dog-friendly hotel and we ended up in pooch-corner. Whilst this is not an issue in itself, it becomes one when people leave their dogs whining in their rooms while they are out doing other things - much better for the hotel to have told us of this when upgrading us!

Room Tip: Go for a Gulf View suite if you can - it's worth it for the extra space AND the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank returnmigrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have been a guest at TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort on two get away weekends and now for a conference, and all three experiences were wonderful. The employees were friendly and helpful, the rooms were spectacular, the beach and its services were amazing...
Can't say enough about the restaurants and wait staff--it's a wonderful place to visit!

Room Tip: The Breckenridge building is my favorite for location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joyfulone56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel would've been MUCH nicer if my expectations were set correctly. The property and rooms were not nearly as nice as their website made them sound. However, I'm not much for a beach/resort type of place anyway. I was here with my wife during a conference she was attending. I just took it easy and relaxed. From that point of view, it was a very nice place. WiFi was great. Rooms are small, which I'm fine with, and they include a decent fridge, microwave, and sink area which is quite nice. Restaurants are expensive, which you'd expect at a hotel, but from what I could tell with the food, and from people who had the food... go elsewhere!!! We walked about a mile on both sides of the resort and found a few decent places. Just use Yelp! or TripAdvisor to help you find a place. I'm sure I'll come back for another conference. Overall, if your expectations are set correctly, it's a nice place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Tradewinds is our favorite vacation resort when in Treasure Island/St. Pete Florida area! If we have any concerns or wish to switch rooms the staff is very accommodating! There are activities for all ages going on throughout the resort! We never feel as though we are at an all adult/or all family resort! We enjoy the super friendly staff always willing to help or offer suggestions! Wouldn't stay anywhere else when in the area!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missyms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at the Tradewinds early December in the off season. First, I want to go thru the negatives but don’t judge the overall resort on these comments. I am very judgmental when I am paying $250 per night and drinks cost $10.

• The pillows are horrible. Bring your own.
• The sheets fall off the bed every night so expect room service each day.
• The walls are thin so expect some noise from your honeymooning neighbors.
• The location of the room safe is on a shelf in the closet. Great, if you are 6’5” or taller.
• I don’t know what it is with hotels and resorts but their TV systems stink. Mine kept going out and the remote hardly worked. The elevator was down as well.
• I stayed in a “gulf view” room. Well worth the upgrade. Beautiful sunsets. Only draw back is the “deck” is more like a shelf. 3’x6’. And if you don’t like smoke your neighbors will certainly be smoking on the “deck.”
• As I mentioned, the adult beverages are expensive. And for some reason Saint Pete’s Beach hasn’t gotten on the “craft beer” bandwagon. Expect basic domestics and some imports but nothing in the craft beer niche.
• If I owned the resort I would have sections designated each year for a coat of paint. Some areas look run down while other areas are just fine.
• At a “resort” I would expect the restaurants to have hi-def television.

All this being said the Tradewinds Island Grand is at the center of the beach. It is a five minute beach walk to great beach bars. Good restaurants within walking distance: Madfish and Toasted Monkey. There is a Publix just down the road if you want to load up on groceries for the week.

The beach/bar service is what you expect from a beachfront resort. It is laid back so expect to wait. The hotel service (reception, bell captains, etc) was fine. I plan on returning to the Tradewinds again this winter but this time I will bring my own pillow.

Room Tip: Gulf View Room is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,942 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 2,057 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#18 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing