We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Super fantastic and very accommodating!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super fantastic and very accommodating!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Tradewinds is our favorite vacation resort when in Treasure Island/St. Pete Florida area! If we have any concerns or wish to switch rooms the staff is very accommodating! There are activities for all ages going on throughout the resort! We never feel as though we are at an all adult/or all family resort! We enjoy the super friendly staff always willing to help or offer suggestions! Wouldn't stay anywhere else when in the area!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missyms11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,553
    1,157
    572
    343
    205
See reviews for
2,024
922
67
739
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at the Tradewinds early December in the off season. First, I want to go thru the negatives but don’t judge the overall resort on these comments. I am very judgmental when I am paying $250 per night and drinks cost $10.

• The pillows are horrible. Bring your own.
• The sheets fall off the bed every night so expect room service each day.
• The walls are thin so expect some noise from your honeymooning neighbors.
• The location of the room safe is on a shelf in the closet. Great, if you are 6’5” or taller.
• I don’t know what it is with hotels and resorts but their TV systems stink. Mine kept going out and the remote hardly worked. The elevator was down as well.
• I stayed in a “gulf view” room. Well worth the upgrade. Beautiful sunsets. Only draw back is the “deck” is more like a shelf. 3’x6’. And if you don’t like smoke your neighbors will certainly be smoking on the “deck.”
• As I mentioned, the adult beverages are expensive. And for some reason Saint Pete’s Beach hasn’t gotten on the “craft beer” bandwagon. Expect basic domestics and some imports but nothing in the craft beer niche.
• If I owned the resort I would have sections designated each year for a coat of paint. Some areas look run down while other areas are just fine.
• At a “resort” I would expect the restaurants to have hi-def television.

All this being said the Tradewinds Island Grand is at the center of the beach. It is a five minute beach walk to great beach bars. Good restaurants within walking distance: Madfish and Toasted Monkey. There is a Publix just down the road if you want to load up on groceries for the week.

The beach/bar service is what you expect from a beachfront resort. It is laid back so expect to wait. The hotel service (reception, bell captains, etc) was fine. I plan on returning to the Tradewinds again this winter but this time I will bring my own pillow.

Room Tip: Gulf View Room is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NDPatriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I checked in for a conference and was asked it I would like to upgrade to a beachfront or a balcony view. I decided not to upgrade so the person who checked me in said he would see what he could do. We received a 2 bedroom, 2 bath, living room and kitchen suite in the main building! This worked out perfect because my husband and 3 year old traveled with me and I could just go down the elevator to get to the conference talks.

For the conference I attended, breakfast, lunch, snacks and a banquet that were hosted by the resort. The food and service was outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RSTWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was a good resort with lots to do. Good pools and lots of good beach activities. Restaurants were good for a hotel. The room we had was small, but you don't spend a lot of time in the room. What I didn't like was that it caters more to vacation people than business people. I was here for conference and thought the hotel could be more business friendly. But if I wanted to go on vacation , I would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay for a couple of nights for New Years Eve. We live here in Florida but wanted to stay on the beach. This place is amazing very family friendly so much to do. Food was very good and the staff was so nice and friendly. Can't wait to bring grandkids for a long vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tropical room with a balcony and a view of the beach. Just beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richards5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Or
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

TradeWinds Island Grand is a great resort. I find it to be nice enough without being over-priced and pretentious. Lots of variety in activities, food places, and great staff. Friendly and helpful. It wasn't their fault it rained and we couldn't use the beach - but they had a boxful of umbrellas at every doorway. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sod628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

First, the staff at the TradeWinds is outstanding. Helpful, friendly and always around when you need them. This hotel seems to find exceptional people - no attitude, just there to make your vacation great. The property is spotless. Clearly the recent upgrade was done with care. Multiple pools, 2 hot tubs, the charming the canal that meanders through the property and the adorable swans. We loved the water slide - huge, inflatable and what a blast. No way does it block anybody's view. It goes up in the morning and deflates by 5. The beach is spectacular. Acres of wide white sand,warm shallow water, cabanas and lots of water activities including a jet pack! Our room was in the Breckenridge building. It was spacious with a kitchenette and a private balcony looking over the Gulf. We loved the comfy beds, fresh linens and beautiful sunsets. Housekeeping was perfect. They were prompt - in and out of our room while we lounged at the beach. Everything was spotless when we came back for a nap. We LOVED all of the restaurants at TW, especially Bermuda for breakfast. The fresh pastries were made there and they were spectacular. We loved the spa too! Who needs the Bahama's when you can enjoy the TradeWinds and beautiful St. Pete Beach! We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Gulf view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,941 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 2,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#18 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing