We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,017)
Filter reviews
6,017 results
Traveler rating
3,247
1,418
694
412
246
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,247
1,418
694
412
246
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boatsflying bridgejacaranda buildingbeefpizza hutpirate showthe palm courtgiant slidebeach slidethe trade windsadult poolkids activitieskids clubfront rowmini golfbedroom suitemain pool
Filter
Updating list...
3,935 - 3,940 of 6,017 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Overall our trip to the Tradewinds in September of 2012 was a pleasure. The weather was beautiful, the resort had a great beach and pool areas. Definitely a family friendly facility. The food and drink prices were reasonable for a resort and the staff was friendly, especially the tiki bar team. We used the Kids Kamp, the children enjoyed it, keeping in mind there were 3 kids in our group so they were not alone, price was a little steep ($80/kid for 4 or 5 hrs), but for an evening out it was worth it.

The only downside to our trip was the layout of the 2 bedroom suite. We were traveling with another family, so we booked the two bedroom suite expecting to have the two bedrooms to give each family some privacy. That was not exactly the case. When you entered the room, you actually step into the first "bedroom" rather than a shared space. The 2nd bedroom is actually accessed through a door in the 1st and has no direct access to shared living space.

I would definitely recommend asking what the room configuration is if you are traveling with others and booking a 2 bedroom suite.

Room Tip: Ask about room configuration if booking a 2 bedroom suite.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samanderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

When my wife and I checked in five days ago, we had no idea what awaited us. The friendly staff that met us at our car and directed us into the spacious and grand promenade where we were quickly registered and escorted to our gorgeous spacious room complete with a kitchenette and a view to wow anyone. The sunsets across the Gulf were worthy of the trip. There are countless pools surrounded by beautifully well manicured scapes. The dining choices rival some of the best. So if you want to get out of the cold for a treat, you can have it all at the Tradewinds.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night trip to the Tradewinds hotel (as part of a 10 day trip) to Florida. Check in was friendly and very easy and we decided to upgrade our view to an ocean view which was the best thing we did. Room overlooked the gulf and had its own kitchen area and dining area, separate bedroom and of course en suite bathroom and I could have looked at the view all day! Room was clean, comfortable with two TVs. There are lots of places to eat on site and we found we didn't need to venture too far from the hotel as the variety on site was really very good and we ate at the hotel alot. It was a very good beach/swimming holiday everything we needed was there. Our daughter loved the huge inflatable slide and the bungee trampoline but at the time of our stay it was $25 a day to use the slide and $8 a go for the bungee trampoline so the costs racked up. We understand that these costs are now included in the resort fee which has huge benefits if you use them but I guess a massive downside if you don't. Lots of activities for kids and it was great to see a takeaway pizza hut as this made for a casual dining experience on the beach or in our room and our daughter loved this. Staff were really child-friendly that they get to know your kids names really quickly and develop a great rapport with them. If we could have guaranteed the weather this would have been a perfect holiday. The staff on the beach were so helpful and couldn't do enough for us with setting up the cabana's which did not cost extra were not extra (which was a relief). You can have great fun on the pedalos and the tennis courts and there is a spa and adults pool. There is a kids entertainment section which you can take advantage of and free parking if you arrive by car. Contrary to other posts we found the beds comfy, maybe it depends on the room you have and we had no problem with housekeeping as we just used the privacy sign when we were in the room and we were not disturbed at all. The room was a little tired the kitchen was a little old but no complaints really. we thought the literature in the room about things to do on wet days was really very good and gave us ideas of what to do on the rainy days. The hotel is a big conference resort as well, so a couple of days it was quite busy but it feels quite sectioned off and didn't impact on our enjoyment at all. Would like to return when the weather is warmer, December/January was a bit hit and miss.

Room Tip: Ocean room is a must but of course there's a premium.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

went for a conference so did not get to enjoy all it had to offer but for couples and families who like to be outdoors there are lots of activities. Really like the number and variety of restaurants within the resort. Beach front is excellent. Live music at night at one of the venues is a nice addition. Good food for a good value. Beer and wine selection a little limited if you are interested in that kind of thing. Staff is helpful and the concierge can help you get anywhere you want to go. Located in a good area to get to other things easily. Rooms well kept up and if there is a problem they take care of it quickly.

Room Tip: rooms with the ocean view are quieter and nicer
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAH461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Most staff was very friendly. The overall resort atmosphere was great. The bed was terrible--covers and mattress. I did not sleep well and my back hurt when I woke up. TradeWinds--you are such a great facility. Invest in some mattresses and decent covers. They are cheap and not comfy AT ALL. Housekeeping STUNK. We had our bed made once in 4 days. They walked in on us changing multiple times. If we were not out of the room by 9 AM or 10 AM we missed our chance to have our room freshened, towels replenished, and beds made. They did not check back. It was really horrible for this caliber of resort.

Room Tip: Upgrade to oceanfront with balcony! It's worth it!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seneeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews