We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for anyone with mobility issues!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions, always for a meeting. Rooms have varied tremendously depending on the stay. Recently the hotel completed a complete renovation and rooms do appear to have been upgraded. For a family looking for a beach vacation this is probably a great choice. Recently I experienced a medical problem and it is very painful for me to walk even with a cane...so the only rooms available with two beds according to the clerk who checked me in are in a building a block away that requires either an even longer walk or climbing up and down stairs and over bridges that cross the property's scenic waterways. This is extremely handicapped unfriendly. Explaining my predicament to the clerk failed to provide any closer accomodation even though colleagues told me they were in the closer building in rooms with two beds.

There are multiple restaurants on the property ranging from the regular hotel restaurants to chain restaurants such as Beef O'Bradys and PIzza Hut. A large number of hotel employees are constantly walking back and forth between and within the buildings although I am not sure what they are doing.

Overall this is a nice resort with lots to offer so long as it isn't convenient transportation between the main building and the outlying buildings where many of the accomodations are located. Keep that in mind if you have ANY mobility issues.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PWCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,494 - 3,500 of 5,480 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

Clean room - beds not all that comfortable & pillows terrible (hard foam cheap). It is ok but does not match the 4 star rating it has. I wish I hadn't booked thru Priceline & prepaid or I'd be moving hotels. Live & learn. Won't do Priceline prepay again !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindysezhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I didn't know what to expect, but upon arrival we were surprised to see a beautiful country club type low rise building with stunning pane glass windows becoming the foyer to a spectacular hi-rise hotel behind it.. Don't get me wrong, it is not the most exclusive of resorts but this place was amazing. We were greeted in the foyer with a lady carrying tropical drinks on a tray. It was a nice welcome after the long plane trip and so refreshingly good. It was the beginning of a wonderful 5 day stay that I wish could have been longer. There are cabanas on a beautiful stretch of white sandy beach right outside the back of the resort. Tiki bars that serve not only generous drinks but great tasting appetizers to keep you energized. They have activities right on the beach, water cycling, boats and swimming. There is a huge slide right on the beach, several pools as well as tennis courts and paddle boats you can take out and ride through the mini canals on the property. There is so much to do and if you just want to relax you can just hang out in the hammocks and doze off in the breeze between some palm trees....There is so much more and the area is adjacent to many other attractions like the Pier, museums, and nature preserves. but you don't even have to leave this resort. They have great restaurants, a gym, spa, hair salon, and boutiques all on the lower level. They even have a take out pizza place that delivers to your room or right out on the beach. The room we had was big and overlooking the beach with a balcony. There were a couple of weddings and functions out on the back terrace but all was over by 11pm. We stayed out late anyway in the restaurants and bars so it didn't bother us. If you want a quieter area request the garden view in the front. If you are looking for a place to just kick back not go anywhere and be waited on then this is the place. Highly recommended for families and anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front are quieter, rooms on the gulf side can be noisy at night since the revelers and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyLaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Tradewinds Grand Island Resort met our needs completely. It was clean, helpful staff and a good sized suite. For less than 200$ a night including resort fee we were very happy. If you want upscale go along to the Ritz Carlton and pay the going rate. This resort sets out to provide a good base for a beach vacation and it achieves it. Would happily stay here if I were to come back to St Pete's Beach.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUKTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband, 3 children and my parents stayed at this hotel recently. The beach was great but the hotel was just ok. Our room was fine but the beds didn't have fitted sheets which was both annoying and kind of gross. The biggest disappointment was the kids club. There was a weekly schedule but nothing on the schedule seemed to happen. My 7 year old son did the tie dye which was silly....I paid $10 for him to watch someone dye his tee-shirt. Some of the people that work at the front desk don't seem to realize that they are working with the public. Not worth the money and we won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tulip104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Tradewinds Island Grand is truly a mixed bag. While there are certainly amenities that are nice such as the different pools that are available and the restaurants that have somewhat decent food ,like the flying bridge, which incidentally has great fast type food that is actually pretty good picky food. There are some things that you need to watch out for. For example when you get your room, you really should ask if you could take a look at it first. We were told that our room had a balcony but it was only a balcony in the sense that it did extend out from the room, but it was only wide enough to get 1 chair on it.. And then you couldnt get around that chair. it was more like a cat walk. Meanwhile there were other rooms that clearly did have real balconies.
Also, there were things in our room that were kind of falling apart and needed some attention. The sink / refrig area has some issues of molding coming undone etc. Then there is the air conditioning in the room. This is an area of concern for me every time I stay at a hotel. The air conditioning vent is huge and is pointed right at you as you are laying in bed.. I never understood why a hotel would do that, why they wouldnt create an atmosphere that the air was pointed in a direction to diffuse the air and not having it blow right in your face as you are trying to sleep. It was rather loud as well, bring ear plugs.The Beach at the resort had lots of activities like wave running which was great, and a jet pack (very pricey) we didnt try that one. There was also this huge inflatable playland that they had just off of the shore, but again very pricey as there was a daily fee to use it. They did have an excellent workout facility, and thats a big plus to my family.
Overall the resort is ok, just not a 4 or 5 star. Its good for a family, lots to do and fairly decent food.

Room Tip: Inspect your room before letting them assign it to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christ0pher1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked in here for one nights stay on a recent holiday to Florida. We booked standard rooms and although the rooms were well kitted out we had no view (or view of a brick wall/elevator). This made the room dark and depressing. The hotel was very quiet when we arrived and a lot of upgrading work was being carried out in various rooms across the complex. In our room we could hear the people next door arguing during the night - not ideal! The walls seemed very thin so all noise seemed to carry.
We choose to eat at the hotel in the evening and again this was very quiet and not much of an atmosphere about the place. At times there appeared to be more staff about than guests! The food was distinctively average and not exciting for the grade of hotel.
Overall good beach location but would I return?? No. We have stayed in better hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a window (decent size) and a sea view or you might end up disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $275 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing