We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation spot,you just got to be there!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent vacation spot,you just got to be there!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Great place to go for a vaction with your spouse,family,co-workers or friends.Great accommodations,excellent staff,great beach and whie you are there, do watch the sun set.Quite romantic..Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view is and the higher floors are the best way to go ,but overall the views are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbumlorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,526
    1,136
    558
    336
    200
See reviews for
1,967
915
67
736
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

What A Great Time At The Tradewinds. This Place Has It All To Do!! The Staff Here Care About The Guests. Also A Great Beach & Plenty To Do Around Town .Just Hopp on The Beach Bus To Go All Over The Island. Look No Further Than The Tradewinds Resort They Have It All.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We have stayed here over 10 times over the past few years and have always been very pleased with the overall experience...friendly staff, great variety of restaurants, visable security, several pools, cabanas, tiki-bars...a very well-run property...planning on visiting again this September.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at Island Grand for our family vacation may/ june 2011. The resort is fantastic with a wide variety of restuarants - we ate in Bermudas (breakfast and dinner), Beef O'Bradys and the Flying Bridge - all good value for money. My husband and I loved the slide although our kids (5yrs and 2yrs) were not so keen !! Beach was gorgeous with beach front cabanas and lovely warm water. We stayed in the Hibiscus building with pool front suites - they were suitable for our needs but had a few drawbacks - front door leads straight into the bedroom, no dishwasher and no seperate shower. It was also in desperate need of updating. The views from the balcony were very scenic and we also had prime position for the dive in movie. All the pools were great - my kids especially liked the childrens splash pool and Captain Redbeard's saturday night show was fab. We also used the activites put on for holiday makers in the kids club - sandmaker and pirate necklaces. All in all a great resort hotel indeed of a little updating and perhaps more efficient housekeeper but we would defintely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loububs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Nothing peeves me more than a hotel that uses flat bed sheets to "wrap" the mattress. Its completely low class and also unsanitary (don't try to argue me on this cause I will prove you wrong). I have stayed here 4 consecutive years for a business conference and have complained about the sheets every time, they still have not changed their policy. I will not be staying here again. The rooms are also very old and outdated, the hallway carpeting looks like its been walked on for 100 years and even though the rooms are non-smoking, somehow the odor of cigarette smoke still manages to find its way into the rooms.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldenBoy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed 4 nights on the 4th of July in a 1 bedroom, tropical view suite on the top floor of the Jacaranda Building. The suites in this building have been renovated, which means they've got updated bedding and fixtures, but they are still basic rooms. The rooms are fine, just not up to 4* standards. You enter the rooms from the outside, like a motel. None of the 3 pools are very large, one of which is an adult only pool. The pools were overcrowded our entire stay with very little access to chairs and just enough room to stand in the pool. Certainly no room to swim.
The beach here is beautiful and the Gulf is warm, calm, and shallow. Great for floating and relaxing in the water. It was also easy to get set up in a nice beach cabana for the day, so we spent most of the time at the beach during our days.
We tried a few of the restaurants and shops on the resort and they were all decent and fairly priced. I didn't feel gouged on food or drink prices which is common on a lot of resorts.
I had a small issue using the $250 resort credit that's posted on this site. They initially said they couldn't honor it based on the rack rate price of my room being more than $150 more than the rate I was paying. However, the fine print doesn't say that. It says you can't use it on a room that cost less than $150/nt and I paid $175/nt for my suite. In the end they allowed me to use the credit, but said they had to adjust the rate up to $199/nt. This was still a little shady in my opinion, but I didn't feel like arguing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steelerchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

On July 1st thru 5th my wife and I spent our 46th wedding aniversity at The Trade Winds Island Grand with dinner at the Palm Court. Our time went so fast but was so much fun and our dinner was very special, just the two of us. This was our second year in a row, last year was a surprise in the fun we had and the treatment we received and this year this year we found out that last year was the rule not an exception to what everyone can expect at the Trade Winds. On our last night we made our reservations for next year, because we enjoy the people there with and the staff so much, everyone is so attentive and don't seem to be able to do enough for you. If you have a special occation to enjoy the Trade Winds Island Grand cannot be beat.

Pat Taylor
Clearwater Florida

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#5 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,857 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#4 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 3,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#18 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing