We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFULLLLLLL BEACH!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFULLLLLLL BEACH!!!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

I stayed here twice in the span of three months while visiting friends who live in St. Pete. The rooms are nothing special (very big, mini-kitchenette, nice bathroom, beachy furniture). The grounds on the other hand are beautiful. Everything is very well maintained. The pools were always immaculate, the tables/areas surrounding the pool were always cleaned promptly and the beachhhhh! AHHH THE BEACH! The beach at TradeWinds was literally the widest beach I have ever seen! It was beautiful! The water was perfect, there were always chairs available, never too crowded. I would pay good money just to be able to use their beach for the day!
There are several restaurants within the resort and they were all pretty decent but there's also a whole bunch of options within walking distance that are great (try the Greek restaurant across the street and the little Italian bakery down the road).
The resort also offers a lot of activities to keep kids busy (volleyball, air jumpers, water sports, air hockey tables) but if you can go out you should definitely check downtown Tampa and St. Petersburg. Nightlife on the actual resort is nothing too special but there are a lot of bars/hangouts within walking distance of TradeWinds and you can always call Free Beach Rides (a roving golf cart) that will take you back the hotel free of charge!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sourire85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,806
    1,279
    621
    365
    224
See reviews for
2,255
1,019
75
817
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The staff are so very accommodating and friendly. I had my two little dogs there and they loved the play yard and their little spot in the sand next to the hammock and palm trees. So much to do-it's like being on a cruise on you're on land. I would definitely recommend this resort. I was there on business so I missed many of the great activities; however, even with that it was relaxing. The food prices were reasonable! Go,,, you'll have a ball!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Went memorial day weekend. Amazing fireworks. Comfortable beds, nice room (2nd floor gulf front w/balcony). Take stairs, elevators too slow. Weather was perfect. Recommend using publix across st for groceries and buy your own floats from beach store across st. Floated in gulf all day! Recommend shell island trip from beach for dolphin watch and shell islands. Besides nice boat ride, saw many dolphins and found beautiful shells.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metmlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Love the Tradewinds but my only complaint is the cost of that damn slide on the beach. $32.00 a day for a guest. Come on, that is crap.
My wife said to get over it, but it just stuck in my craw. I think it should be free to all guests or at the very least a lot less.

Also I would not recommend the jet ski rental. the guys are nice and the skis work fine, but they have heavy governers on them. $65.00 for a half hour and $95.00 for an hour is the cost. A half hour is plenty of time. I'm sure they are that way for safety, but if you are local and know jet skis, then dont bother.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tampanative1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Although traveling alone, I was instantly as ease and felt both comfortable and safe. The staff was very welcoming, the room was impecably clean and the view awesome. Pay a bit more for beach view- its worth it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank furniturebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reddick
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Great family vacation. wonderful stay !!!! Our family consists 3 boys under age 14. They always had something to do. Pools were great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Just returned from another great trip to the Tradewinds Island Grand and I must say that the hotel continues to improve with age! We usually stay 2 or 3 times per year as we live in Central FL and it has been some time since my last review but this last trip over the Memorial Day weekend was memorable!

We knew the resort would be at capacity because of the hoilday weekend so we booked poolfront rooms at the Poinciana Building. We were right on the ground floor looking at the Flying Bridge in room 1401. What a great choice as you get a ton of space on your patio plus they have done a nice job of creating a brick deck which is reasonably fenced in so only guests in rooms 1401-1404 would ever step onto it. This was great as we stayed with a group of friends (some of them had 1402) so we had a great place to congregate and have drinks while the kids swam. Though the room was noisy because of its proximity to the pool and RedBeard's Tavern I requested it for my upcoming Labor Day stay.

The new floating island was alot of fun for my girls. You have to wear life jackets which is good as the water is between 6-8 feet deep where the island is anchored. They also did the High Tide Slide($5 per ride or $37 for a day pass wristband less $5 if you charge it to your room) and the Bungee Trapeeze (now up to $8 for 5 minutes). We booked a 5 hour fishing charter out of the O'Neill Marina with Lyons Charters. Fabulous! $475 for six of us and we went out 15 miles to the reef and caught Red Grouper, Gag Grouper and sharks plus junk fish (Grunts in particular).

We ate at Beef O Brady's and the Flying Bridge which are still consistent and reasonably priced. We did take-out and went back to our patio which was great and we were able to drink our own drinks.

We ate down the beach at Crabby Bill's. Still fantastic food year after year with great service and great prices. I did a one hour deep tissue massage which was nice though the spa is limited. It is basically more of just a treatment facility.

We did the Sunday Bruch which was spendy but the prime rib, crab legs, salmon, etc. was amazing! I still felt the meal was worth the price. The fireworks show on Sunday was spectacular a la Disney or on par with a larger city's 4th of July display.

I can't wait to go back for Labor Day!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBlueiFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,518 reviews
18.2 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#25 of 98 in Clearwater
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing