We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tradewinds Never Disappoints” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Tradewinds Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

This was our fifth trip to the Tradewinds and as always, it never disappoints. Our room was clean and ready when we arrived, the staff was friendly and so helpful all of the time. The beach and pool areas are beautifully maintained. It always amazes my family that from year to year, so many of the staff are still there working. It is the people that work at the Tradewinds that help make it such a fantastic resort.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvthesun67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,704
    1,227
    601
    354
    218
See reviews for
2,145
988
74
793
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We had a 6 night stay over Easter weekend, the place was full to capacity but never felt that way. They have a ton of staff and a large location so everything is spread out. We had a redone room in Breckenridge bldg that was very nice with water views.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieMC3621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

The beach is the best thing going for this hotel. The pools are very small for the large amount of people & we were told the hotel was "not very busy" during our stay. I can't imagine it at full capacity. Waiters were very nice but the front desk staff was rude. Soaps, etc, were not replenished. Overall not what I expected from a 4 star hotel. I have paid less at other hotels and had a much better stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Our stay at the Tradewinds was such a splendid treat. Friendly, efficient staff everywhere...from the greeter at the front gates to the warm welcome at the front desk to the waiters/waitresses, housekeepers, activity hosts....the list goes on! We were thoroughly pleased with everything...the beach was gorgeous, the rooms clean and comfortable, the staff fabulous, the pools lovely, the river and paddleboats wonderful, the setting superb....what more can we say? We will definitely return. You don't need to leave the resort....but if you decide to muster up the energy -there are ample dining and shopping choices nearby. Tip: don't miss the sunset and watch for the dolphins passing by at that time!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrails79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

This is the place to stay on St. Pete Beach, everything you could want and more, great grounds, pools, rooms....and staff all round 5 star experience!!! You feel like you have travelled to another place. All you need to do is bring your bathing suit and tooth brush and as there ad says: "JUST LET GO!!" We love this place and have stayed here for years! Drop by the Tiki beach bar and say hello to Elaine!! The best bartender ever!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britgirl1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

When you come ask for a room in the Breckinridge facing the Gulf(3rd floor or up). We were in the Hibiscus this time but the time before in the other and we liked it better because we do not have kids and it is alot quieter overlooking the adult only pool.

Room Tip: See above if you do not have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funnytoy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Just returned from a wonderful week at Tradewinds Island Grand. It was Easter week break for schools and lots of children, but all in all there are lots of areas for adults where there is quiet time. The adults pool is wonderful, but they need to make sure it is absolutely adult. Some parents decide their teen is an adult. The grounds are lovely and the beach is fantastic. The chaos of getting beach cabanas is a hassle, perhaps they could think of a better way. The restaurant food is just OK. There are a lot of eating places near that are much better and cheaper. One that comes to mind is Skitters, which is across the street. Now to the rooms:
All of the one bedroom suites and whatever has not been renovated needs it bad. Very old, no upgrades TV's. bathrooms, bedding. etc. The renovated rooms are very nice if you get one. The Breckenridge building has some renovated rooms, but if you get on the upper floors, do not get rooms with even number. There is a problem with the venting systems from the restaurant which brings a very smoky, barBQ smell into your room. It is constant. All in all, staff is good. Housekeeping leaves much to be desired. as we did not has soap one morning, no coffee packets another morning, no good carpet cleaning daily, no kleenex replaced when it was out. Just things like that which needs to be addressed with the housekeeping service.When renovations are all in place, it will be a beautiful resort, but I am sure you will pay for it. m The pools are very small for all the children, even tho there are three.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1037wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.5 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,722 reviews
17.1 mi away
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
Coconut Cove All Suite Hotel
#22 of 95 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TradeWinds Island Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TradeWinds Island Grand Resort

Property: TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
Address: 5500 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — TradeWinds Island Grand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 585
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TradeWinds Island Grand spans 20 lush, tropical acres and boasts a heritage of award-winning service and certification as a Florida Green Lodge. Overlooking the tranquil waters of the Gulf of Mexico, Island Grand is located on the white sand beaches of St. Pete Beach, consistently ranked one of America's Top Beaches by TripAdvisor. Discover 201 things to do with a variety of recreation activities including JetLev flight center, The Floating Water Park, children's programs, paddleboats, tennis, stand-up paddleboards, a three story tall inflatable waterslide and more. Island Grand offers multiple dining and entertainment venues along with sand-in-your-toes beach bars. Pamper yourself with a beachfront massage at Body Works Salon & Spa. Relax on a beach cabana or lounge next to one of 5 heated pools and 2 whirlpools. Our on-site resort transportation and car rental agency makes getting to Island Grand easy and stress free. It's not just a vacation. At TradeWinds, it's a totally immersive experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your TradeWinds Island Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Island Grand Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Tradewinds Island Saint Pete Beach
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing