We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

After staying here several times over 10+ years.. I hate to say I have mixed feelings.

10 years ago.. Anything was nice. I was young. But after coming here for the last decade.. Where you know the staff.. The staff knows you.. One would think that loyalty alone would get you something. Think again!

I must say.. Reta and Sandy.. They have their moments. When all is well.. Both are great. But they can't handle a complaint or problem at all. The reviews about double charging credit cards happens all the time. The complaints about rudeness.. Happens often. We even had two consecutive years where we were quoted a rate over the phone only to be charged more upon arrival.

My family has gone back and forth about finding a new place simply because the problems keep adding up.. But the location is great and the pool is wonderful.

The only thing I can say is.. When u make a reservation.. Have them fax you a copy.. USE the card you hive them over the phone when you actually get there.. And if you have a problem.. Don't expect a resolution. It will ruin your day when your told to go pound sand.

Other than that.. Enjoy Florida! :)

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sathomps10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    702
    531
    255
    190
See reviews for
854
622
107
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

We went to Howard Johnson for one night after we were travelling around Florida, and we wanted to stop off at St. Petes & Clearwater.
We paid that bit extra for a sea view, and a safe. The view was lovely, we had the beach & sea, and the pool and very nice gardens.
The room was clean and well equipped - TV, safe, shower, 2 sinks, bath, balcony, air-con, fridge, microwave & tea and coffee making facilities. Well equipped with tea bags & stuff for coffee, shampoos & conditioners, and extra little helpful bits. The beds, bathroom and floors were very clean. You could tell that it was very old, but nonetheless, we only wanted the hotel room for sleeping & showering - and it did that job great. If you wanted entertainment, it wouldn't be the right place. The pool was great, but the pool bar & restaurant was being refurbished. The corridors were old and drab and the reception a little taccy. But if you want to see the sights, it doesn't really matter what the rooms are like.
It was brilliantely located - we managed to get breakfast and dinner in the area, and there was a 1 minute walk to the beach, located at the back of the hotel. The receptionists were so lovely, and great to the kids.
Overall, a great stay. But I think you could only manage 4-5 nights, it was an ideal place to stay :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thomas095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

Was only there for overnight and pulled in because it was a good location. Grounds very nice and pool area exceptional. Large and beautiful next to beach......Didn't look at room first. Outdated. Like stepping back a decade of two. Hallways very dirty carpet. Room semi-clean. No vacuuming under tables or desk. A/C window unit very loud. Only $115 per night for ocean front. Great for a cheap budget. I'm picky and wouldn't have stayed there had I looked at the room first.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

If you are looking for a moderately priced hotel, with a clean pool, close to bars and good food. This is the place!
Would i bring my wife for a romantic weekend? Probably not.
But if you are looking to get away for a few days and not spend and arm and a leg it is hard to beat the HJ's for price and location (right on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

This place was the dirtiest place i have ever stepped foot in. The carpets were filthy and we saw roaches near the ice machine. When i peeled back the bedspread there was something hard and crusty on the blanket underneath. Not a family place either the place was full of drunks when we came home from dinner people we fighting and being loud and obnoxious needless to say we high tailed it out of there.,went down the street for a few dollars more!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ndhunnymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

I searched on line for weeks trying to locate a reasonable hotel directly on the beach for our family vacation. I found it with this place. The hotel is older, but very clean, and the staff is amazing. The day we arrived, I noticed the linens on the bed were soiled, so I stopped a employee in the hall and mentioned it. Within five minutes, she came to the room and changed all the bedding. The pool was warm and very clean. The beach was just steps away from the hotel. I would have enjoyed it more if the beach bar was open, but the one next door was open and they served drinks. The beds were so comfortable. If you are looking for a great location, clean and reasonable hotel, this is the one. I will stay there again next year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teachelady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komoka
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2010

This was our second visit and we stayed two nights in a gulf front room. Very comfortable beds, flat screen TV, good wireless connection and a nice view of the pool and beach. Watch carefully and you may see dolphins swimming by, we saw several each morning. Fantastic sunsets and the pool was fine, our kids loved swimming even though the weather was a little cool.
We had breakfast at Beverly's both days, casual restaurant with good food and very nice waitresses (and owner) just a couple of blocks north. We had dinner at Sea Hags the first night and Fisherman's Friend at John's Pass the second night. Both restaurants were excellent.
If you like looking for sea shells, the north beach at Fort Desoto Park is the place to go. It is about 10 minutes away with no development and very few people with a ton of nice shells on the beach. Our kids had a field day!!
The hotel staff were very friendly including housekeeping and maintenance, we would definitely recommend this hotel. You can't beat the price when compared to the other beach front hotels on Gulf Blvd.
The beach bar and restaurant were under renovation during our visit but may be reopening soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFireGuyandG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Property: Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing