We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory budget hotel by a lovely beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed October 6, 2005

Just returned from a fortnight in Florida, last week spent at this hotel. The hotel was fine: great location, lovely beach, adequate rooms (do request a high floor though) and friendly-enough staff.

Nice walk early evening to Don Caesar (large plush pink hotel about half a mile down the beach) and back along the seashore, and great sunsets over the Gulf of Mexico.

We chose this hotel because of the positive recommendations on this site and would definitely come again. So thanks everyone.

Didn't think much to Shell Island ($18 each for return boat trip from Pass A Grille just down the road past the Don Caesar). The island is just a stone's throw across the bay and is a nature reserve so you can't walk on most of it. Beaches are just as nice right by this hotel.

Went the restaurant one reviewer said you could sit outside by a lake and feed the fish. In fact it's the sea not a lake (ahem) but the place is quaint and food lovely (I had clams), although the staff were a bit aloof. Lots of locals, which I suppose is a good sign. It's called 'Wharf' and is in Pass A Grille about half a mile south of Don Caesar on the left.

My top tip is to visit John's Pass Village about 6 miles north at the beginning of Madeira Beach. Lots of fantastic little shops all right by a waterside quay, plus several top-notch restaurants. We ate in Sculleys on our last night and were not disappointed. First class, freshly-caught seafood. Yum.

Enjoy!

PS. Don't buy stamps from the machine in the hotel reception - it's a rip off. Go to a supermarket instead.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jj_nottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,287 - 2,293 of 2,363 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Elmhurst, Illinois
18
Reviewed August 5, 2005

We have been vactioning to St. Pete Beach for many years and have tried three different places. We were a bit surprised to see that the rooms (we had the 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms room) had no living space. It was just a normal hotel room with the beds a tv in front and a little two person table at the side. Air conditioning is just a unit not central air.

The general property was clean and seemed to be well maintained. The pool area is outstanding. They have 5 big shadey tiki huts around the pool, 3 shuffleboard courts, and a pool big enough to avoid kids playing. We were a little suprised to see no hot tub.

Overall, it was okay. Very tolerable, however nothing that makes you love it.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tampa, FL
17
Reviewed June 24, 2005

We had booked 2 rooms, one for the inlaws and one for ourselves for a weekend getaway from Tampa. Upon arrival we were told the inlaws had checked in but that someone else had already checked into our room. Said he was buying one night for my wife's birthday (it wasn't her birthday and we did not know the person's name after it was given to us). Then the front desk clerk did something I thought was a security threat to us and called the guy to come to the front desk to see if we knew him. I told him not to call and just give us a different room. As the very drunk man arrived the clerk was giving me my room key and kept repeating my room number which just added to the security issue. The room was musty, trash left on shelves in room, faucets nasty and we could smell cigarette smoke coming through the adjoining room door yet we were on nonsmoking floor. The next day our keys were de-activated and when I went to the desk I was accused of having only told the clerk that I was staying one night. Make sure you get out of the room by the 11:00 check out also as at 11:05 the maids were knocking on the door despite a do not disturb sign and t 11:10 the front desk was calling despite the fact I had told the maids we would be gone shortly (within 10 minutes). They certainly did not need the room and were not finished with all the others on the hall as all the room doors were open and none were clean and the maids were in the hall just talking away. Management was rude from the start, the rooms are very dirty and outdated for the price especially compared to some of the other nonchain hotels on the beach. I could have handled a little outdated if it were at least clean. The ceiling paint was peeling, the walls yellowed, etc. Unfortunately our favorite little hotels on the beach were booked that weekend and we had to suffer through this nasty room. Do yourself a favor and look around the net for others

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2005

Just spent 3 nights. Got an oceanview room on the spot(no res) Fri. nite for 150.00 pr. night. had a baconey overlooking the pool and ocean. There was a microwave and fridge. Room was dated but clean. What was great was the tikibar on the beach! Great staff excellant accoustic live music everyday and evening. It was an older crowd. Also the Irish bar and restaurant in the lobby had decent food and great Irish Traditional music! HoJos is right on the same strip of beach as the bigger resorts but I dont think we would have enjoyed ourselves as much. We drove up to Tarpon Springs on Sunday. Long drive but interesting town with authetic greek restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank isla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2005

For the value; hotel on beach, clean and safe.
Only negative would be, some rooms a bit dated, management let us change to another room and we were satisfied.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2005

We stayed at the Howard Johnson in St.Pete Beach on May 5,6. We had a good time at the Resort. We got a room on the first floor overlooking the pool and the bar. We loved the pool and the bar very nice. The rooms are nice for being an older hotel. The bathroom is very old but is still very clean. Just make sure that you get extra towels if you go to the pool when we went there were no pool towels and when we called for some they never came. But we just made due with what we had. The beds were great you could tell they were new unlike some other places. If you want a place to stay thats good for the price stay here. But dont expect 4 star hotel. But it is great vaule for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelALot_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sewell, NJ
111
Reviewed May 3, 2005

My husband and I took a trip to St. Pete's Beach with our 2 daughers ages 11 and 8 from October 30-November 6, 2004 and found the Howard Johnsons to be a very nice hotel for the price. The hotel is oceanfront but not directly located on the beach. You have a walk down to the beach area. The hotel was clean, the grounds were well maintained, the pool was heated and cleaned every morning. There was Barnicle Bills bar with Tiki's huts that offered happy hours during the afternoon and early evening hours and a very nice restaurant Harpers which offered breakfast, lunch and dinner. They also delivered to the pool area. We had an oceanfront room which we had gotten 1/2 price from the Entertainment Book so we only paid $65.00 per night for an oceanfront room with balcony. The suite had two double beds, was clean, had a refrigerator, coffee pot and safe. The sliding doors could use to be replaced because they were a little old and the railing on the balcony was starting to chip but we still sat outside and enjoyed the view. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The young lady who checked us in was there for the first few days but then moved to work in Harpers Pub. She had an excellent personality and was very friendly. There was also a young man who was very friendly at the desk. We visited Busch Gardens and Lowry Park Zoo which was about 45-60 minutes away. The beach was very nice but you had to pay for the beach lounge chairs every day. My daughter's enjoyed picking the shells and walking down the beach. I would recommend this hotel to families. I read a lot of reviews and picked this hotel based on what people wrote in and I was not dissappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
501 reviews
1.2 mi away
Miramar Beach Resort
Miramar Beach Resort
#27 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
84 reviews
0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $88 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing