We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed January 2, 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,747 - 1,753 of 2,363 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here between Christmas and New Years 2013 and felt this room was definitely "you get what you pay for". We noticed it's obvious some rooms have nicer features than others, and I think we had one of the cheapest, least updated rooms in the hotel. Our tube tv had about 10 channels, none of them with acceptable programming for young kids, and no way to play DVDs or hook an iPod up. The room seemed clean and smelled of wonderful cleaning products, but I noticed the sheets on the bed and drapes were stained and a thorough cleaning of the room hadn't been done in a while (there was thick, caked on dust on the blow dryer plug in the bathroom, and the faucets were eroding, stains in the toilet and sink). Additionally, the hotel was really noisy, and I could hear everything from the neighbors and drunk bar guests coming home late. Overall, I think it was mostly clean but not something I would consider unless cost was a significant factor.

Having stated the downfalls...the layout of the room was really nice and had ample room and storage for our carload of crap. The beds were exceptionally nice- maybe one of the nicest I've ever slept in (but that might also be because we drove 20 hours straight through to get here). The pool and beach area were suburb, perfect for families. The Toasted Monkey was excellent, but again their beach bar makes the hotel seem less private as drunk people walk back past your room and make a lot of noise.

Bottom line- the room smelled clean, the beds were very comfortable, and the pool and beach area were really nice, but I'm glad I brought my Clorox wipes with me...I would also advise some earplugs and an iPad with some movies if we return.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Cherylvandrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

I am glad that you found the beds comfortable after such a long drive. I appreciate you sharing your comments. I apologize that you found some dust in your room. I will definitely pass this information on to the appropriate department in order to make the necessary improvements. We are planning some updates this year for the hotel. I hope that you will join us again and enjoy the improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Super friendly front desk, great with directions to area attractions. Room was as standard as standard can get. Good overnighter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the friendliness of the front desk staff. I will be sure to pass this information on to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Cesar J S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

If you like live music every afternoon and evening at the Beach bar next door you will love this place. :-( I came to the beach for sun sand and surf - peace and quiet - which is impossible with the loud music playing every day and night. You cannot even sit and read by the pool in the afternoons. Wish other reviewers would have mentioned this as I didn't know how noisy it is here.
The staff at Hojos couldnt have been nicer....Patrick and Dawn are awesome!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank StPeteBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the friendliness of Dawn and Patrick. They are true assets to my front desk staff. I apologize that the hotel bar on the adjoining property interfered with your relaxation. I do understand the importance of that. That is one of the reasons that we keep our music relatively low key and end it no later than 11pm most nights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
600 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,020 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
501 reviews
1.2 mi away
Miramar Beach Resort
Miramar Beach Resort
#27 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
84 reviews
0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $88 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing