We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty standard but there are better places.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty standard but there are better places.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

we took an impromptu trip so we didn't do much research. The desk staff was very prompt and helpful.... The parking attendants threatened to tow us constantly while we were waiting for our room to be ready which was annoying. The room was outdated but it was nice to have a porch. The volleyball area and pool was cute and lively. I was very disappointed when the bar downstairs stopped selling food at 11pm and the bar closed at 12:30 which is very early on a summer saturday. They told us that all the bars in the area would be closing.... come to find out, only the bar at the howard johnson closed early so we had to walk elsewhere. Next visit, we will be doing more price research and staying at a place that is open late. Also, I guess it is par for the course but there were a lot of drunks outside screaming late at night and motorcylists up at the crack of dawn which made sleeping there terrible. There are better options out there with more activities offered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deardementia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding the efficiency of the front desk staff. I will be happy to share you gracious comments with them. I apologize that the restaurant and bar closed sooner than you would like. I apologize for any inconvenience that this caused you. Parking at the beach is a challenge. I apologize that the parking attendants were rude with you. I will be sure to pass this information on to the appropriate individuals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    717
    548
    269
    208
See reviews for
886
645
110
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

What can I say? We (family of 3) stayed in this hotel for four days and weren't pleased. The guests (from Friday to Sunday) were loud, inconsiderate, drunk and kind of gross. I mean, someone vomited inside the elevator and down the hallway so our floor smelled like puke for about a day and half (though, thankfully, we didn't actually *see* any vomit). Unfortunately, I'd say that because of the guests, this hotel isn't family friendly.
Aside from that, the hotel was in need of a bit of sprucing up. I would not sit on the carpets or walk barefoot, if I were you. And I actually wore my flipflops in the shower too. These are minor adjustments that I have never had a problem making, but you might feel differently.
Note: there's a sign on the kitchen cabinets that state that it is the guests' responsibility to clean the kitchen. If you get there and your kitchen's dirty, don't blame the housekeeping! Blame the previous guests.
Speaking of the housekeeping, they were all very nice and obviously tired from their work. They were, however, lacking basic supplies, such as towels (so those weren't replaced every day).
Aside from housekeeping and the parking lot staff, the rest were rude and unhelpful. Wouldn't recommend interaction.
Second note: in my opinion, this hotel might be nice during the week. Since our last day in the room was monday, we got to witness the change in atmosphere as all the puking-drinking-loud guests checked out. Once they were gone, the hotel became quiet and actually started to smell nice. Plus, the beach (which is right outside the hotel) became less crowded.
Third note: don't turn off the AC in your room! If you turn it off, the room will immediately get extremely humid (this is Florida, what do you expect?) and it can be unpleasant.
Fourth note: you need your room key to get into the building after a certain hour, which I totally liked. It somehow made things feel safer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I apologize for the misbehavior of some of our guests during your visit. Unfortunately, there are times when some of our guests are not as gracious as we all would like. We do have security on property each evening for just these instances. I will be sure to pass your information regarding your room and lack of service to the appropriate supervisors. I am unsure as to why you did not receive fresh towels each day. I will certainly investigate this so that our future guests receive fresh towels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powells Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We came to St. Pete Beach to start off our vacation before going on a cruise out of Tampa. We were looking for a hotel on the beach and decided on HoJo because of the cheaper price. We were expecting the room to be outdated from the reviews we read before making the reservation. What we found was a fairly clean room (I think our room was 502), cold A/C, and a nice sized room.... Bathroom fixtures, fridge, and microwave could be updated, as well as the tile in the bathroom area, but otherwise, the room was clean, had a nice view of the water on both sides (Not an oceanfront room, but could still see it from balcony), beds comfortable (linens a little thin/worn, but nothing too bad) with flat screen TV. The pool was nice, the beach just a short walk behind the hotel, and a good location to walk to several nearby restaurants. We did not try the restaurant or bar in the hotel so I can't give any feedback on that. The only disappointment I had was when we checked in, I had reserved a King room. I checked in assuming I was getting a king room, and when I opened the door to room 502, there were 2 queen beds. I called down to the reservationist and they said oh, it is because you reserved through a 3rd party website. I corrected the person saying no, I did not... I reserved through Howard Johnson directly. He then said that I was upgraded to a room with a whirlpool because of overbooking. It was no big deal, I just wish I would have been informed of that at check-in so it wasn't a surprise when we were already exhausted from a full day of driving. We didn't use the whirlpool because mostly we didn't have time to... This was a hotel that was suitable for our 2 night stay. While nothing plush and fancy, I was willing to have less amenities in the hotel itself to be right on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obxchelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. I apologize for the miscommunication regarding your room type. I do appreciate you being very gracious regarding this. Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel. I will be sure to share your thoughts on to my staff. I hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Property: Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing