We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positives & Negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Positives & Negatives”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Positives: The hotel location is great, as it is close to a lot of good restaurants and right on the beach. It was also clean, the rooms are good sized and the staff was very friendly.

Negatives: The walls are very thin-we could hear the people above us, people talking while walking down the hall, people in the parking lot outside our window (4 floors down), etc. Also the Wifi connection was awful in our room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    716
    546
    269
    207
See reviews for
883
644
110
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PEKIN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is located right on the beach. the rooms where clean and comfortable. we had a nice view for our balcony. a lot to do around the hotel. this hotel is located in a safe area. room had a little refrigerator and microwave.staff were very nice. check in and out were quick.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myasmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Overpriced beachfront property. Wasn't expecting much and we didn't get much. Booked through a third party and were treated like 2nd class citizens for doing so. Asked for a rollaway for my 86 year old Mother in Law and was told they didn't have any which would have been fine, but when we asked to move to a different room we were told we couldn't because we booked through a third party. When I checked out I asked for a receipt and was told that they do not provide receipts for those that book through a third party as if ALL hotels do this. ??? I don't think so.....
Room was clean but service bad. Room wasn't cleaned until late afternoon each day. Several times we had to call for clean towels because they didn't replace the dirty ones on the floor.
Parking lot had a gate that you had to use your room key to activate, but half the time (usually in the middle of the night) the gate was open anyway. Just a stupid inconvenience.
Beach bar was nice, food average, service average. No buckets of beer available to take to the beach.
Sand volleyball courts nice, Pool clean and heated. Deck area nice with plenty of chairs.
Nice to have microwave and fridge in room along with 12 cup coffeemaker.
Noisy in the morning with outside work, mowers, jackhammers beginning at 7:30 AM, etc.
Halls noisy at times at night, but we expected that on spring break.
Carts available to take your luggage to your room. Coin laundry available on 1st and 4th floor.
I'm a competitive bodybuilder, so proximity to a gym is important to me. About 2 blocks up from the hotel was a nice little gym (Beach Bodies) with some cardio, (including stepmill) circuit machines, and full set of dumbbells and smith machine. One week membership for 24 hours was $17.25. Gold's gym about 6 miles away in St. Petersburg. We used Gold's on a travel pass most of the time, but the little gym was nice for evening workout.
7-11 is across the street and Publix supermarket, walgreens is about a mile away if that.
Beach is excellent. Lots of chairs with cushions and umbrella canopies available for $20 per day. Weekly rates were also available. Surf activities were right there including Kayaks, wakeboards, paddleboards etc.
Last time we visited St. Pete's we stayed at The Postcard Inn a block away and it is worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Maybe choose oceanfront so the noise from the parking lot like jackhammers at 7:00AM don't wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I appreciate any feedback that will help us to make improvements. There was a great deal of noise from the property next door due to the seasonal maintenance they were making to their property. We did contact them regarding this. Unfortunately, there is very little that we can do concerning other properties.

I would never consider anyone a second class citizen that utilizes travel companies. I very much appreciate the opportunities that they provide. We do have certain limitations to the changes that we can make on the reservations through these companies. Room types are normally one of those changes due to the agreeement with the companies.

Receipts are available for all guests. The only difference is that the receipts with travel companies do not reflect any type of payment that the guest has made. This is due to the fact that the guest has made payment directly to the travel company as opposed to the hotel. I apologize that my front desk did not communicate this effectively. I will be sure to pass this information on the appropriate supervisor so that the neccessary training can be conducted.

We were having challenges with personnel in our housekeeping department. We have since made adjustments to the staff and operational procedures that have improved the room service immensely.

I hope that you will visit us again and enjoy the new changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

Cibolo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Room was very loud, starting at 7:00 AM when someone fed seagulls outside the room every morning we were there. Hallways were loud most of the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Marybeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
470 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Property: Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing