We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed September 14, 2012

great place right on the beach...so convenient without the resort crowds or having to wait on an elevator the whole time. The hotel was quiet despite being full. The actual room decor and furnishings are a little tired looking and dated and the bathrooms need renovated- but I didnt go to hang out in the room. fridge in the room is good size - very useful. The pool and green space is very nice and the landscaping is well cared for. It is a nice little property between the mega resorts. The restaurant and bar were being redeveloped and not open, but it would be even more convenient to have a restaurant and bar onsite...look forward to visitng those next time.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms by the elevator- its tight in the hall and large groups of people will be standing r...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa_OD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our restaurant and beach bar will be open this next week. We look forward to your next visit and hearing what you think about our new restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,263)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,070 - 2,076 of 2,263 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was clean and comfy. The beds were comfortable and they provided many pillows. We liked that the beach was very close by. The pool was big and they also have a small kiddie pool also. The breakfast was muffins and coffee and no big deal but it was free. We would definitly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyosa724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your gracious comments. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I took his daughter to the beach this weekend, after a Tampa Bay Rays game. This hotel is about the best value you're going to find on St. Pete Beach, right on the beach anyways. We have stayed recently (just the two of us) in the much-fancier hotel next door, at a really good rate that I got through work. This HOJO was just as clean and the room was a LOT bigger, and it cost about half the price. The beach is right behind the hotel, and there is a large swimming pool and a little kid pool. Also we had a balcony with a couple of chairs and a table. The decor is a bit cheesy, but who cares? You can WALK to the beach!!! Also there are plenty of seafood restaurants, ice cream shops, and surf shops within walking distance, and parking is free.

A couple of negatives...the pool didn't appear to have any shade at all. We went swimming after dinner so the sun was already down so it didn't bother us. Also the lobby area was under construction so there was a STRONG paint-thinner type smell when you walked through that area. And both the restaurant and the pool bar were closed...the restaurant clearly for construction, and the pool bar maybe because it is off season? Either way, you have to walk to dinner or go to the store and get stuff to put in the fridge in your room. Try Crabby Bill's down the street for dinner...yummy conch fritters.

Anyways, these things weren't enough to keep us away in the future so we will probably be back.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better your view of the beach will be from your balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backstagecheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We are proud of our hotel and am very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We are very happy to announce that our new restaurant, The Toasted Monkey, and our beach bar will be open this next month. We look forward to your next vist and your opinion of our new restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was a much better place then I thought it would be. We got a third floor balcony gulf/pool view room. It was clean fairly up to date.Our room had a mini fridge, and microwave. There were burn marks on the carpet from the iron. The tv was awful in our room, but fine in another family members room. The a/c was a bit noisy, and in the bed nearest the unit I was cold all night. The elevators were SLOW. The pool was a fair size and had a nice beachy tiki theme. The beach is a little bit of a hike , but not bad. The beach it's self was nice . There are cabanas for rent, as well as other activities . This is a fairly active portion of the beach , not as laid back as some areas south of the Don Cesar . Great for kids, collage kids, and so on. Little much for a mature guest. The beach bar down about to properties has a live way too loud band, over priced drinks ,and horrible food. But, it could be a fun evening for the right people. There is no lack of good places to eat within a short drive. Skidders 5799 Gulf Boulevard St. Pete Beach, FL 33706 has awesome breakfast. I did not try lunch or dinner , but I am sure they are good as well.

Room Tip: Elevator is very slow and thus a lot of load chatting takes place out side your door if you have a r...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phrogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Our goal is not to meet but to exceed the expectations of our guests. We are most happy to hear this was case with your visit. We apologize for the few glitches you experienced with your television and air conditioner. We always share these helpful comments with the staff so that we may continue to improve. You will be very happy with our new bar that will be opening this next month. We will be offering wonderful entertainment that is geared more towards a laid back clientele. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were going to a 7:00PMTampa Bay Rays baseball game at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg so we planned to arrive in town a little early, meet some friends on the beach for some sun and fun and then head to the game. Since the game was the focus of the trip our beach visit took a back seat and so did the beach budget. This waterfront hotel has the lowest rates we could find on St. Pete Beach and that can often mean trouble ahead. We had read the recent reviews on Trip Advisor and we were prepared for the worst. Our reservations were made through AARP Travel powered by Expedia. We checked in at 3PM with a very friendly front desk staff. We bought the in room safe access which is well worth the $1.00 fee. Room 210 was in good condition. This room faces the north and is not a waterfront view. We counted 25 waterfront rooms at this property. The entry to room 210 has a tile floor with a sink outside the bathroom, mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker plus a large open closet. The tile floor ended as you move into the main room where the floor covering was a tight pile carpet in like new condition. Tile picked up again where the exterior sliding glass door and the A/C unit shared the north wall. Furniture was in good condition and the room had a flat screen TV. TV reception varied depending on which station you viewed but we were too busy to watch TV. The bathroom had a sink, classic tub, shower and commode. The building is old but we feel the owners are doing a pretty good job keeping the place up. Beach access was easy and St. Pete Beach is really one of the finest beaches in the country. The Gulf waters are gentle and warm fronted by a mix of white powder sand with a fair mix of crushed shell. There are many shells that the beginning collector would keep. Construction workers were working on the pool/beach grill, bar and I would bet that facility will be open soon. We walked through the pool area and it was in good condition. Landscaping between the hotel and the pool was looking good. If you can find a waterfront resort on St. Pete Beach for a better price you should consider yourself lucky. We were expecting the worst and we were pleasantly surprised at our comfortable and economical one night stay. If we were on a tight budget and wanted good beach access we would, no doubt, return to this resort.

Room Tip: Room 210 was fine.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are indeed opening our new beach bar and restaurant this next month. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The worst customer service I have ever seen. No electric in my room. Was never advised about closing of the restaurant or tiki bar and im on vacation with my family. Construction right outside my balcony so loud that we have to yell to hear one another. When comfronting the front desk Cynthia was so rude saying she didnt know what to tell us we were not getting our money back and she was calling the police. Really I WILL never stay here again.

Room Tip: do not come here for business!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin N, General Manager at Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Thank you for your response. Your information is very valuable in our continual growth. We apologize for the inconvenience that our closed restaurant and bar presented your family. Our new restaurant and bar will be open this next month. We also apologize for the less than satisfactory customer service that you received. We will share your comments with our staff in order to improve. We hope that you will at some point reconsider and give us another opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The good: hotel pool, front desk staff, location, price. The bad: beds way to soft, smell in room, walls are paper thin, can hear everything going on in the next room, pool bar closed, path to beach smelly not maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flgixxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,755 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $100 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing