We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Front Veiw”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was the first time staying on the beach and i loved it. The hotel has a great location. The game room the kid enjoyed but it only had a few arcade games. The view from the 5th floor was great. if it had not been cloudy the sunset would have been great. I liked that once walking into the room it was tiled therefore the carpet did not get wet after coming in from the beach or pool. The room had a ceiling fan which was great you could leave the sliding glass door from balcony open hear the waves and the temperatured was confortable. The beds were pillow top and very confortable. i checked both beds NO evidence of bed bugs. When I booked i requested 5th floor if possible, when arrived was scheduled to have 4th but clerk was able to get me in 5th room with no problem. The restraunt attached was very good, a little slow but the food was worth it.

Room Tip: 5th floor facing the beach can see beach and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneeMilford_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,163 - 2,169 of 2,343 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

I've stayed here three different times and all were good. As others have said if you are looking for a 5 star go somewhere else. You get what you pay for. I can't brag enough about the last time i booked a room, for $149 a nite, we got a huge place, full kitchen, dining area, 2 big beds and bath and living rm, sq ft approx 600 or so. Everybody is so nice, but remember how you treat people is how they respond to you. There are two hotels right on each side that has live bands so yea you will hear music. It is a great place for familys or younger people. but if you want to have quite time, probably not a place for you. As they always says you get what you pay for its true. If you're not looking for 5 star, this is not the place for you. There are plenty of
resturants to go to and things to do. You are right on the beach, They do have different rooms for different prices, but i have been others too, and felt like i got my moneys worth. And when it comes to roaches you are in florida. Ha ha get used to it. If it was several a reason complain if not , as i said your in florida.

Room Tip: ask for the one that has a living rm and dining rm, ours faced the parking lot but it was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcj592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We spent two nights at the Howard Johnson on St. Pete’s Beach. Listed as a Resort Hotel, but can only be considered a ‘Resort’ due to its location on the beach. Having read all the previous TripAdvisor reviews this was no surprise.

This hotel has a superb location, is slightly showing its age but staff do well to look after the property – the staff are accommodating and friendly. Beach view rooms are limited due to the long and narrow design of the 5 floor building.

Our hotel room had 2 double beds, fridge, full size coffee maker, small patio with 2 chairs. The furnishings were old but in good repair. Nothing was broken but showed some signs of wear. The room was clean and comfortable with no evidence of any bug infestations.

Everything that was described or promised was delivered. We came for the beach, stayed for the great value from a property directly on the beach. If you only stay at renovated 3+ star properties this may not be the location for you.

There was a mix of the young who partied until the early morning hours Sunday, families, and those in their golden years. Saturday night had its noisy moments, but Sunday night was subdued. All the guests had one thing in common – the beach.

The pool is fairly small, with a bar adjacent. This hotel has free wifi, but the signal strength is weak and difficult to maintain a consistent connection. The wireless access points are located in hallways, if you access near your door or keep the door open you should be able to maintain a stable connection. This worked for us. Alternatively the Beachcomber resort next door is accessible from the North side rooms.

Don’t miss the nightly congregation to the beach each evening – find a spot to sit to witness the sun as it dips below the horizon. What I didn’t expect was the thunderous applause and cheers as the last bit of sun vanished.

All in all the St. Pete’s Beach Howard Johnson’s is a clean and comfortable beach hotel that offers great value for the area. I would stay at this property again without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you want beach view room, ask for 3rd floor or higher. Also avoid the rooms by the elevator near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorax001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

First time in St. Pete Beach. Stayed here for the value, which is great. The room and bath are a little tired. Could use some updating, but they are clean. Nice big pool and right on the beach. If you like the north side of St. Pete beach, you will not be disappointed. (I prefer Pass a Grille). Good restaurant on premises for a post hangover breakfast, and a nice beach bar to get that hangover.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dag144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed here last April for the 3rd year in a row. Great beach, great value, great service. Hallway carpets redone to spruce things up.
Great food at front restaurant, excellent breakfast. Pool salt water and very clean. Also has a good beach bar

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chachi326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Good location. Friendly staff. Plenty of places close by and easy to get to.
We will go back again.


May 11-13, 2012

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

First the bad: I have stayed at sleep inns and travelers Lodges nicer than this place and it is more than twice the price. The room design is without taste, some of the front desk staff can be quite rude and stand-offish, I found cracked tile in the bathroom, the door was half painted, the wall had holes in it and look as though they had not been wiped down for years. The very few good things about this place cannot redeem it.

Now the good: it you are low on cash and want to be near the beach this is probably one of the cheapest place on Gulf Blvd. The restaurant is nice for what it is and the bathroom amenities include make up remover and feminine product disposal. The beach is in the backyard and it is centrally located on St. Pete Beach, an easy walk to the Tradwinds water park or Jimmy B's.

Overall: This Hojo, like many of it's counterparts around the country, it definelty the minimum standarm for a hotel I would be comfortable staying in.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwinslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
595 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,777 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $96 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing