We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never going back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
East Northport, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never going back...”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

The only reason I'm even giving this Howard Johnson's hotel two stars is the great location on St Pete Beach, and decent pool area. This hotel itself is in need of major repair and updating!. The carpet in our room was ripped and dirty and the fridge was old and rusty! The fixtures in bathroom were very old and worn and the tile was missing in places. Did not see any bedbugs but my husband saw a cockroach in the bathroom the day we checked out! Will find somewhere else to stay the next time we visit St. Pete.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingridv1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    744
    562
    281
    220
See reviews for
940
653
112
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

HJ on St. Pete Beach was great---best of all was the location and price---the young lady who worked the front desk was very helpful and nice. Biggest negative was the Wi-Fi did not work very well throughout the hotel---even in the lobby. She did let me use the hotel computer to buy my Busch Garden tickets and Mapquest our route. Hotel is older and a bit dusty in areas--mostly noticed this in the elevator. Overall was very happy with the location, price, and customer service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casobg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Overall stay is good but the pool is extremely cold. They advertise a heated pool but after repeated calls, and promises to turn it on, they outright won't do it. At 3:00 in the afternoon, adults sit with their feet in the water but the pool is empty because it is extremely cold. Avoid if you find another hotel with an actual heated pool.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sathomps10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crown point
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for the last 12 years. It is your basic hotel. The rooms have always been clean, and the staff is always friendly. Pool is large with lots of chairs available and the beach is right there! We always look at other hotels, but end up back here each time we come down to St. Pete.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is the only place we stay when we go to St Pete Beach. It's always clean and well maintained. The staff is courteous and we always feel safe! This is a basic beach hotel, no frills and no big resort amenities. It is right on the gulf and has a great pool area to hang out at if your all beached out!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastalcwby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in March. Our goal was to find a reasonable hotel, on the beach, and that's what we found. The location is great!
PROS
Location can't be beat, walking distance to most things we needed. We had a car, but hardly used it.
The staff were very friendly from the front desk, to the cleaning staff.
The hotel was dated, but it was clean. We certainly didn't find any indication of bedbugs, and trust me, that's the first thing I check for when I enter the room.
Unlike other hotels in the area, parking was easy and plentiful, even though the hotel was full.
The pool area was clean and had plenty of lounge chairs. The bar at the pool was a bonus. Drinks were priced similarly to all the other beach bars in the area.
CONS
Late night noise from the beach bar at the hotel next door. We were on the north side of the hotel but I think it would be quieter on the south side.
Air conditioner worked well, but it was noisy.
The balconies are small, but two can still sit on it for morning coffee.
Not great views of the gulf unless you have a Gulf view room, but we didn't go St. Pete to view the gulf from our room anyway. We spend very little time in the room when we travel.

All in all, we got exactly what we paid for and were satisfied. We spend very little time in our room, so for what we needed, it fit the bill. I would return if I found the same deal.

Room Tip: Request a room on the south side and I would try to avoid the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoorsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great location but WiFi coverage is very poor on some of the floors. I had to go out by the ice machine to get a signal. I was actually advised by the front desk to try connecting to a neighbouring hotel. They refused to move me to a room with a better signal. The manager on duty said that "all our guests are complaining about it". Well then, ;perhaps you should do something about it! Don't waste your precious vacation time chasing an internet connection!

Room Tip: Do not stay here if you need solid WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_in_EC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
990 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Property: Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing