We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed March 9, 2012

If your looking for a 5 star resort look somewhere else. If you are looking for an affordable oceanfront hotel with a pool, and tiki bar then this is it. Talk to Sweet Sue when making reservations. The place is clean and right in the heart of a lot of action. Probably would eat somewhere else as far as dinner is concerned, but the tiki bar is great, nice staff and great prices. You can walk to great little outdoor oceanfront breakfast place, and a number of other restraunts. Say hi to Erin or Shawn in the tiki bar, tell them Big Daddy says hi!

Room Tip: ask for oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butchchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,139 - 2,145 of 2,297 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in St. Pete Beach for several days while we visited family in February. This is the "high season" in St. Pete Beach and hotels are typically pricier than other times of the year. After searches on all the travel sites, I found a great rate on the Howard Johnson website for their hotel on St. Pete Beach and booked it. Their location right on the beach is a plus for us but the rooms were disappointing - definitely due for an updating of the guestrooms and hallways. Our room was on the north side of the building and the lights from the adjacent hotel's parking area shone into our room at night and the window in our room did not have blackout curtains - good thing I brought my eye shade!

For those who have never stayed in St. Pete Beach, noise is a negative factor because most of the hotels along the beach- not just Howard Johnson's - are in close proximity to one another.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the north side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newengland40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Ok so I was a little scared when I booked this hotel but gotta say it was the best who cares if its outdated its clean peaceful and relaxing and the front desk is awesome every employee I seen smiled said hello and were pleasant I will definitly be back thanks for making my stay awesome!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pegsbrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Right on St. Pete's Beach. Best sunsets ever. Room was big and clean. Easy access to the beach. Centrally located. Good value. Staff was very friendly. Very nice pool area. I loved the classic beach bar behind the hotel. All private balconies, but those that do not face the beach are small. Just go out to the beach.

Room Tip: Book ahead online adn for a few dollars more, get a beach front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickM53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here back in 2003 the place is pretty much the same as then, looks like they painted the exterior and redid the pool area, did a great job there.
Rooms are older, showing their age but clean and comfortable.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Parking and Wi-Fi are free here, a big plus.
There is NO Resort fee at this place, one of the reasons I chose it. Just next door, they charge $25 a day, to park and have Wi-Fi. Most places on the strip have a charge.
My favorite part had to be the pool area, nicer than most places. Very large with Tiki Huts, Shuffleboard and Splash Bar is right there. The Gulf is only steps away.
Another plus was the other hotel next door to the North, has two live bands daily outdoors on their Beach Bar Deck. We went there a few times and enjoyed the music.
Awesome Sunsets!
Many very good restaurants with in walking distance.

Room Tip: Get a room on the South side if you want a sunny balcony. The North side is shaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marrc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My mum and I stayed here in November 2011, I must be the first to say what a lovely hotel it is!
We asked for a gulf view room and we got the 5th floor, which looks straight out into the gulf.
The room was lovely, fresh bedding everyday, nice comfy beds and the bathroom was spotless!
I have stayed here now over the past few years and being honest I would not stay at anyother hotel on st Pete beach.
The staff are very friendly and nothing is a problem
5* hotel and great location!
You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Welly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

My wife and I have stayed at this location every November for about the past 10 years. Rooms are nice and clean, staff is helpful and friendly, great outdoor pool with a beach bar. The location is great for beach walking - - restaurants - - shopping. If you're expecting a "high end" resort with frills, this isn't the spot for you. If you're looking for a nice, comfortable, easy going place then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
495 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,767 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL

Address: 6100 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $99 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Saint Pete Beach
Saint Pete Beach Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing