We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for a family retreat.”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We enjoyed a family stay at the Don in early June. The resort was well kept. It was busy and it was hard to get service at times. Be prepared to pay for everything but it is worth the cost. If you want a relaxing vacation and spending a little is not a concern than this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneillmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

I'm glad that you were able spend some quality time with your family recently here at Loews Don CeSar!

Thanks for your feedback on the property and we hope to have the privilege to welcome you all back in the near future.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,938)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,449 - 2,455 of 3,938 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

I felt so rejuvenated with the positive attitude, professionalism, and the pampered treatment such as having doors opened for me. Everything was clean and updated. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The furniture is well maintained, not worn or chipped. The bathroom was spotless. We received the room we were promised. The entire staff, everywhere in the building to the pool, are well trained and they put their best effort into helping you enjoy your experience. I am somewhat picky about hotel rooms and this one made me feel that it was cleaned thoroughly. The pool was clean as well as the beach well maintained. The meals at the restaurants were fresh, flavorful and gourmet. The poolside food was delicious too! The ice cream shop is a must, they don't skimp! We stayed when the resort was at full occupancy and I never felt that it was over crowded or understaffed. There were plenty of umbrellas and seats at the pools and on the beach. I have been recommending the Don CeSar to everyone. Don't forget to join the tour to learn the history of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Victoria M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Pampered, Professional and Positive - words I love to hear!

I am happy that we were able to contribute to you feeling so rejuvenated after your stay here at The Don. It's great to hear about how much you loved everything from our comfortable beds and pillows to our well trained and helpful staff.

And, I'm thrilled you found your way to Uncle Andy's for some ice cream! It is a must and just thinking about it makes me want a scoop just about now!

Thanks for sharing your feedback and I hope we will have the privilege to welcome you back soon.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Top notch service and beautiful grounds. Staff was ultra accommodating. Rooms were small (very comfy beds) & we had a $500 wrongful charge to our credit card but it was quickly resolved and taken off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cortney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

First of all, my apologies about the issues with the charge to your credit card. I am happy to hear that we resolved the problem quickly and all is well.

Thank you for your comments about our top notch service. We believe we have a fabulous physical property as well, but its the people that make it so special - thanks for recognizing that.

We hope to welcome you back soon - your comfy bed will be waiting!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

In St. Petersburg, it simply is known as "the Don," the best luxury hotel this side of the Plaza or the Ritz or the Waldorf-Astoria or the Four Seasons. It was rated only four stars by somebody who didn't like his morning coffee. But, trust me, it's a five-star hotel. On the beach, two big swimming pools, two terrific restaurants, a wonderful ice cream parlor, shopping, rooms overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The "Pink Palace" has everything. It was built in the 1920s. Babe Ruth stayed there. During World War II, the Veterans Administration took over. For years, it was empty. Then it was renovated. It's every bit as grand as it once was. Loews, the new owner, has done a lot to make it even better and more family-friendly. Lots of activities to keep the kids busy and happy. The live entertainment at the pool keeps the adults busy and happy, too. The lobby bar is a popular place. The employees genuinely make you feel that you're an important part of the family. Yes, three days in a junior suite on the fourth floor in the south tower overlooking the Gulf can be expensive. But there are more expensive hotels that don't provide as much enjoyment. And there is easy access to everything that St. Petersburg has to offer, including the Dahli Museum, the Tampa Bay Rays, the Tampa Bay Lightning, the Gulf beaches, fishing, golf, Formula I racing, boating and shopping. It no longer is the town that caters to retired folks. The famed green benches along Central Avenue are long gone. There is talk of restoring the million-dollar pier. Babe Ruth would have liked this place.

Room Tip: Rooms in the North and South towers with views of the Gulf of Mexico are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

If only Babe Ruth could see us now!

Thanks for your glowing review of the Pink Palace! It's flattering to be included in the same company as the Plaza, Ritz and Waldorf. I appreciate the comparison and really appreciate you naming us a Five Star Hotel!

It's great that you were able to enjoy such a wonderful and memorable experience during your stay. You covered everything, and are right on the money in addressing all there is to do here in St. Pete, in addition to our fabulous beaches!

All of us at Loews Don CeSar are grateful that you shared your comments here on Tripadvisor and hope that we have the privilege to welcome you back in the near future.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is beautiful, clean, staff friendly . Food great,beautiful comfortable rooms. We had a nice view. Shops in hotel are very nice and had very pretty things. Spa looked wonderful but didn't have time to use it. The live entertainment by the pool was very relaxing and entertaining. They serve Starbucks coffee downstairs in the ice cream shop! The restaurant coffee was very good too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Priscilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

I'm delighted to hear that your stay with us was "Fantastic in Every Way!"

From our friendly staff, to the pool and comfortable rooms, it does sound like you had a great experience. Hopefully next time you'll be able to work a spa visit into your day.

Thanks for sharing your comments with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Sadly, our experience at the Don Cesar was the worst we have had in our travels.

We splurged on the extravagant hotel for our honeymoon, booking two nights so we could have one full day of the beach, pool, and all the amenities you hope for from a hotel resort like the Don Cesar. It was an experience we had high hopes for and which was really a splurge for us.

The first day we arrived we ordered room service as we were famished on arrival and later enjoyed a meal together downstairs. The next day, we spent the entire day extremely ill in our room, not well enough to leave once. We have both had food poisoning before, and this was terrible. It ended up being the most expensive weekend we've spent together and we spent it sick in every way you can imagine.

It was a heartbreaking experience for our honeymoon. We were very nearly too ill to fly home the next day.

The concierge was verbally sympathetic and the staff was kind, but the hotel took no steps to make up for the experience. We hoped to be invited back for a night so we could enjoy some of the experience we planned and paid for, especially given the unforgettable experience and "incomparable service" promised by the Don Cesar. But at the very least we would have expected to be reimbursed for the food which led to our illness and the daily resort fee which was to cover the amenities we were unable to enjoy, but we were billed in full for all fees and services. We truly regret our decision to spend such a special occasion at the Don Cesar.

Stayed: June 2014
5  Thank LJane415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

I am so sorry that you had such a "heartbreaking" experience during your recent stay with us and that you regret you decision to spend your honeymoon here.

We do care very much that our guests experience "incomparable service" when they stay with us. It is one of the foundations of our impressions of service and I apologize that you left feeling they way you did.

It is my understanding that we did attempt to reach you about your situation but were unable to connect for whatever reason. We want to make this right, and want you to know that we are passionate about our property, our staff and more importantly the well being of all our guests.

I apologize again for any inconvenience.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was our third annual trip to the Don CeSar and this time we managed to get a room with a balcony overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The views were lovely especially at sunset and early in the day. The service from check-in to check out was excellent and we only cried a little when we had to leave. The history tour was interesting and definitely worth the time. And you cant beat a frozen strawberry lemonade on the beach (or a beer if you are so inclined). My wife had a spa treatment for the first time this year and really enjoyed that.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Lsimonetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

I'm so happy to hear that you were able to get a room with a balcony! Between that, a beautiful sunset and your service in Spa Oceana, it sounds like you had an awesome memorable experience.

We appreciate you sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and hope to have the privilege of welcoming you all back for a fourth annual visit!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
436 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Beach House Suites by The Don Ce...
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
820 reviews
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#9 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $277 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing