We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beach Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Beach Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our family of four (kids 11 and 9) had a very nice stay for 4 night over the holidays at the Don CeSar. We had a "Grand" room, which had a full ocean view. We found the room very comfortable and not too small. The room had a small couch and a desk area, in addition to the beds. We were rarely in the room, but when we were, it was fine - so room size was ok for us. The pools were very nice and not overly crowded, even during the holidays. There were plenty of times that we were the only ones swimming in the pool. Outdoor game area with ping-pong, foosball, etc. for the kids. The wide white sandy beaches were great. Service was uniformly very good.

Based on a long walk North on the beach, the Don certainly seems to be at the upper tier of St. Pete Beach hotels, particularly for families. The other hotels appeared to be more run-down, or certainly more for an adult boozy crowd (not that there's anything wrong with that of course). The Don does stand a fair walking distance away from the large group of other St. Pete Beach hotels - so if you're looking for a bar-to-bar beach crawl hotel, the Don is probably not the spot.

We stayed at The Breakers last Christmas - so I thought some people might like a direct comparison. We liked both hotels. Overall, we'd probably pick the Don over the Breakers if we went with our family again -- in part because our similar ocean view room at the Breakers cost over twice our room at the Don. The Breakers is on a grander scale, "fancier" and more opulent if that's what you're looking for. There's something about the Breakers that feels more like a cruise ship, while the Don feels more like a beach vacation. Along with that comes stuff like having all the chairs claimed by 9am at the Breakers - which we did not find to be a problem at the Don. The pool service at the Don was quicker and more attentive. The beach at the Don is much larger and much more usable for lounging, playing in the sand, beachwalks, etc. The town-areas directly adjacent would lean toward the Breakers - short walk into town to nice restaurants, shopping etc -- most restaurants or shopping from the Don were short drives. Also, the ocean itself and climate would probably favor the Breakers. Overall - two great spots - probably depends on what you're looking for and what you're willing to pay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thanks for your great feedback! Based on your comments, It appears that we're in good company with that "other" property you mentioned.

I'm glad you and the kids enjoyed St. Pete Beach and our awesome pool and beach activities. They are a lot of fun no matter what time of year you're visiting.

We appreciate you including Loews Don Cesar in your holiday plans and hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,964
    783
    339
    168
    158
See reviews for
1,038
1,218
95
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Redington Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Out of state friends/family and I had the pleasure of dining at the Don's King Charles Buffet on Christmas Day. The service was impeccable, the the buffet offered many selections, prepared perfectly! The holiday decorations in the hotel lobby were beautiful and elegant; and the staft (despite it being Christmas Day) were all delightful, helpful, courteous, and professsional.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed our Christmas buffet as much as we had preparing it!

Thanks for taking the time to let us know how much you appreciated our delightful and courteous staff and I'm happy to hear you found our decorations beautiful and elegant!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Regards,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Don CeSar. It is a beautiful property with a great spa. The food at the Maritana was excellent. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful, especially Matt from Cape Cod who works at the poolside bar.

A few downsides....the bathroom was quite small in our room (deluxe king suite with balcony) and the fees for beach chairs, etc were quite high.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annrMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thanks for the kind words and feedback! I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your experiences at Spa Oceana, Maritana Grille and the pool! I'll be sure to let Matt know how much you enjoyed his service!

Sorry about the small bathrooms, if we could make them bigger we would! Someday, you never know!

We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Born and raised in Fl and always wanted to stay at the Don and the opportunity came up for my wife and I last week. We only stayed one night on a Thur and it was great! We will come back for a weekend stay for sure! Everyone that we came across that works in this hotel is amazingly friendly and helpful! You can tell the people that work there love it. We had an awesome corner room looking at the Gulf and the bed was really comfortable! Very old hotel with lots of cool history and bathroom was smaller than new hotel and you don't care because the place is so cool! Room had comfortable seating nice flat screen TV and the room service was a 5 star!! We had the coffee steak and the swordfish and they were amazing!! We can't wait to go back and eat there again! Breakfast room service was excellent and chef made a special request for my wife on a restricted diet and they were so nice about it! The pools, the beach, the restaurants , and accommodations are awesome! Love this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for what you would prefer and they seem to do their best for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
From one Floridian to another, I'm so glad you were finally able to discover The Don! It is a truly incredible place and that's why we feel the staff is so amazing - they think so too and are happy to be associated with such a fabulous place!

Thanks for sharing your feedback about our comfortable beds, and great room service too!

Glad to hear you'll be coming back! We look forward to welcoming you!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed Dec.27, 2013 - Jan 3.2014. The outside of this hotel is a truly stunning "pink palace". Hotel is directly on the beautiful St.Pete's beach with lovely white sand. Staff at the front desk is just okay, not so friendly and not very helpful. They confused me with the explanation of all the extra fees this hotel charges. ( It is highly recommended you call ahead to find out about the extra fees before booking so there are no surprises at the end. There are resort fees, beach rental fees and parking fees.) The concierge was much more helpful. In particular Lisa Tai who was so pleasant and accommodating. She really went out of her way to make my stay run as smoothly as possible and gave great recommendations. She knows how to make someone feel welcome and important. All the others are just too old and don't know much about anything, Now, the hotel rooms. Nice rooms but not recommended for more than a family of 2-3 maximum. Not really for kids. All 250 sqft of space is tight. Keep in mind the time frame of when this hotel was built and if your okay with that, great! Housekeeping did well with cleaning our room. I would have like to have seen something special put in the hotel room on a daily basis like special chocolates or rose petals or fresh flowers for the price of this hotel. The hotel had classy live evening entertainment. ( Pianist, quartets etc.) It also had upscale gift shops with unique items to purchase. The pools were nice, but what I really liked was that they offered you samples of smoothies and little appetizers etc. They also had someone come around with little cups of sun tan lotion. Food menus were nicely varied but pricey. Many great little restaurants located on Gulf Beach for breakfast lunch and dinner. If you drive downtown St.Petersburg its very pretty and more upscale, if that's what your looking for. Visit the Museum of fine arts and the Salvador Dali museum is a must see! Overall this hotel is timeless.......very romantic!

Room Tip: Get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks for being so passionate about your recent visit with us and sharing your comments, both positive and not-so-positive, about your stay.

I do apologize if your did not find our front desk staff helpful, but am very happy to hear that Lisa, our concierge, was able to be of assistance! Our concierge are a great asset to our guests in directing them to discover some of the local "flavor" of the St. Pete community, and it sounds as though you were able to get out and see how great the area is. We certainly like it!

I'm also happy to read that your experience at the pool was so positive. Those little samples can really make your day!

Glad you found us to be timeless and very romantic! The color pink does represent unconditional love, and we hope you were able to experience that during your stay.

Thanks again for your comments and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Obviously an older renovated hotel which is all good. My main complaint is that they seem to be doing construction right above my room. Was in meetings all day, nothing, now that I am back in my room it seems now is the perfect time to start a construction project right over my room, every day! They keep telling me it can't be avoided! The noise is driving me nuts! The noise above my head is affecting my ability to provide a decent rating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
First off, Happy Belated Anniversary!

We're delighted that you chose our Pink Palce to celebrate, and that you found our staff to be genuinely friendly, nice and that they provided 1st class service! That's what it is all about and I am delighted you experienced such a great stay.

We hope to see you again soon and, maybe, you'll even have another special "celebrity sighting!" You never know.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Relaxed & luxury at an impressive resort
One of the most relaxing and best atmosphere I have ever felt
Highly recommendable for couples but could be too much for kids below 18
Great pool area with top service offering nos of towels, free appetizers, live music etc. etc

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Per-Ole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Relaxed and luxury at an impressive resort! We could not ask for much better feedback!

Thanks for sharing about your stay. Specifically about our top service and fun FREE treats by the pool! Love it!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don Cesar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,815 reviews
1.7 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing