We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem on St Pete's Beach”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

When possible and the opportunity presents itself ...one should ALWAYS stay at a renovated "Grande Dame" or in this a "Grande Señor ". This hotel is just that . The rooms are lovely. The facilities superb. The staff is AMAZING!
Not to be missed in this area
It's Gatsby reincarnated!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HillTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,746)
There are newer reviews for The Don CeSar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,486 - 2,492 of 3,746 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

We love the Don CeSar. We visit every year on our wedding anniversary (we were married there) and always have a wonderful experience. The hotel was built in the 1920 so has lots of character and charm. The food and service are wonderful but a little pricey. I guess you get what you pay for! We see small changes every time we visit. Some are good and others not so good but we love staying at the Don.

Room Tip: This is an old hotel and there are no "cookie cutter" rooms. There are many different sty...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Fantastic. Stay at this gorgeous hotel, super well renovated. Staff really nice , very thoughfull.
Great breakfast buffet on weekends. Pity that there s no buffet on week days.
I also loved the ocean front swimming polls. The staff pampered like the hotel website mentioned.
Rooms very clean as well the rest of the hotel.
The beach is nice, with soft white sand. Good for walk or jogging
The price on low season seemed for me reasonable.
I spend 4 nights. With my wife, but they are very kids friendlly
I recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicardoRays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Fantastic! What a great word! And one I love to hear when people are talking about their memorable stay with us here at Loews Don CeSar Hotel.

I'm happy that you found our staff thoughtful, enjoyed your breakfast and appreciated our many kid's activities! I hope you had the opportunity to check out Camp CeSar, the kids love it!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

As locals, we have stayed at "The Don" on several occasions. Although the rooms are small, and everything is pricey, we've always enjoyed the great food and 'over the top' service. Over the past year or so, we've noticed many unfavorable changes. First off, the food quality has gone downhill all the while the prices have increased immensely. Yesterday was the final straw. As we went to the pool bar for a beer while walking the beach, we were quite shocked to learn that they added tax and an 18% gratuity to the bill for two beers. $13.75 for two domestic draft beers? We always tip 20%+, but we were so taken back we paid the bill and left. The Don CeSar used to be one of my favorite places to visit on St Pete Beach. . Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank flgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Very disappointed.

Those are some of the most unwelcome words anyone ever wants to hear, especially those of us in the hospitality industry that depend on people like you to keep our industry alive and our co-workers employed. I am so sorry that your recent visit to Loews Don CeSar was disappointing and concerned that the quality of your food was not up to par.

As you stated in your comments, we consistently strive to provide our guests with the best in service, cuisine and an excellent hospitable experience. I am very disappointed that you left feeling the way you did.

I hope that you'll come back!

Regards,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed the Don for a wedding. It was truly a lovely experience.

Check In/Room

Check in was a breeze. We arrived early and did not think that our room would be ready, but much to our surprise, it was. The room itself was pretty small, but beautifully appointed. There were wood hangers in the closet as well as bathrobes. The hotel charges a daily fee, which covers tips for the maid service, two bottles of water daily, internet service, non-motorized sports along with some other things. It was nice that these things were somewhat “included”, but it would have been nice if this fee also included chairs and umbrellas for the beach. This was an additional fee.

Pool/Beach

The pool was wonderful and clean. The food and beverage service by the pool was wonderful. The beach is amazing with the most powdery soft sand you can imagine.

Food

The breakfast buffet was very good as was lunch by the pool. We had dinner at the less fancy place one evening and that was good too.

Overall it was a great experience and was happy to have stayed here. It was a pleasant surprise as sometimes destination wedding accommodations often fall short of my expectations. We had a great time at this sophisticated and elegant hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaiefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Some colleagues and I planned an afternoon of appreciation for some of the community partners with whom we do business. From the private rooftop lunch to the snacks and beverages we enjoyed while socializing and waiting for our services, and finally to the services themselves, everything was perfectly executed. The spa and catering staff were welcoming, professional, and accommodating in every way. They were flexible during the planning process, and made sure that we found a way to accomplish all that we wanted to do. After the event, we received nothing but rave reviews from the attendees. A couple of them even sent us flowers and cookies as a "thank-you" for such a perfect afternoon. I highly recommend the Spa Oceana for not only personal use, but also for business-related functions. They will not disappoint!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Hi Jennifer!

You really know how to make a person's week start off on a great and positive note!

I just saw your more than kind words about your group's experience at Spa Oceana and we all are so delighted that everything turned out so well!

Spa Oceana is a perfect, and often over-looked, location for a business thank you experience! We're so glad you, and your guests, left happy. Enjoy the flowers and cookies!!!!

We appreciate your business, and the fact you shared about it here on Tripadvisor.

Hope to see you back soon!

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Loew's Don CeSar Hotel towers over it's surroundings like a majestic pink flamingo rising from the beautiful Gulf.

The service at the hotel was impeccable, from the front desk staff...to the housekeeping staff...to the pool/beach staff.

Room was very nicely laid out and the size was comfortable.

The hammocks on the beach were great...a perfect place to relax each day to watch the sun set.

Beach is one of the most beautiful I have walked along.

Highly recommended for a quiet, romantic visit to Florida.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
1.8 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
562 reviews
19.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,413 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,225 reviews
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $250 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Otel, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing