We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the line EVERYTHING!”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top of the line EVERYTHING!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We used some travel miles to stay here for a night and can't wait to go back again! The genuine friendliness of the staff is so refreshing and the accommodations are superb! The renovations are beautiful, and yet still preserve some of the old charm. We had a partial gulf view room which was clean and comfortable, my only negative comment would be about the bathroom tissue paper, it was single ply and felt a bit like sandpaper, for a 4 diamond hotel ( even one that is doing it's part to conserve & be green) it was a disappointment. We had a few drinks and ate at the Sea Porch bar & grille, I had the Filet mignon & crab cakes...to die for! The entertainment,
( Colt Clark I think) was headliner material! Very jazzy bluesy and played all our requests with enthusiasm! The wait staff was attentive and made sure our evening was amazing!
The lobby is breathtaking, and you feel like you are on a private beach as it is a about a 20 minute walk down the beach to the next public establishment. It seemed to have a lot of family activities and caters to every age group. It is worth the $$$ to experience Loews Don Cesar!

Room Tip: Do try to get a gulf view room it is stunning at sunrise & sunset! Do the self parking it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhkmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,018
    812
    354
    176
    163
See reviews for
1,071
1,260
97
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Don Cesar for my birthday this past weekend. Upon arrival, the person at the front desk told us, "All of our rooms are over $230". Automatically judging our wallets based upon our appearance. We didn't even ask the price, knowing that it was going to be expensive to begin with.

After checking in at the front desk, we went up to our room which was cramped with two double beds, a desk and tv, a nightstand. The bathroom was so cramped, when I sat down on the toilet, my knees grazed the tub. $300 a night for this??! I've had more cozy experiences at the Days Inn.
We went downstairs to the beach bar, to wait for three minutes to be acknowledged. Not even with a smile. The staff was rude and less than friendly.
After bar hopping in St. Pete, we came back to our room to order room service- which the pamphlet noted that their kitchen stayed open late. I placed our order and asked kindly what the wait time was like. The lady had told me about 25 minutes. 10 minutes later, a woman calls up our room and has a terrible attitude, "Yes did you call us back to ask what the wait time was," she asked. I replied " No, I didn't call you back to ask what the wait time was, I asked when I placed the order," she then said "Oh well it will be about 30 minutes."
We fell asleep by the time the food arrived, to wake up in the middle of the night and see our cold food sitting in the room.
Upon check out, we noticed they had charged us an additional $15 to deliver the food- no big deal, just wasn't written anywhere on their menus.

Overall- the stay was overpriced and the service was less than friendly. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. EVER.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place. Over priced for a tiny room. Not worth it. Stay at the Vinoy, or some oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Loews is a historic building that makes a great hotel. It is lovely and you walk out to a fine sand beach. Prices are high for rooms food and spa but service is outstanding. A splurge for some luxury. For a less expensive treat go to the beach for happy hour priced drinks and snack bar meal and watch the sunset

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goonybird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffabba, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Glad you enjoyed some luxury on the beach!

Our historic "Pink Palace" has become synonymous with quality amenities and superior service and we're delighted you could experience both!

We hope to welcome you back soon! Your sunset awaits!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay there. We stayed at sister hotel, Beach Suites,but we did massage (overpriced),drinks (overpriced) and while we made reservations at restaurant,we cancelled when we saw the menu and the prices.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München, Deutschland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Don Ce Sar five nights, using two superior rooms (which are the standard rooms I think), one for the two teens, the other for my wife, the little one and me. We were surprised by the excellent rennovation which had taken place meanwhile, the rooms were very nice and clean and light. Some comments on tripadvisor complain about the old rooms, but this has now changed completely! OK, Prices are not too low, but I think it was worth the money. Also pool and beach were in perfect condition. The service can only be called excellent. We enjoyed it very much!

Room Tip: Of course a sea view is the nicest, but in this hotel you usually use the rooms only at night, while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feuerhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsDonCeSar_1928, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Greetings from sunny and fun St. Pete Beach!

We're so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at the Loews Don CeSar, and especially had fun at the pool and beach -- two of our best assets (not to mention our employees, which you so kindly mentioned as well!).

I'm glad you were happy with our rooms and we're very pleased that you took the time to share what a great experience you had with us on Tripadvisor.

We hope to see you all back in the near future!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

What can I say...This hotel was the most wonderful hotel experience we have ever had...We arrived Sat of Labor Day weekend for my husbands 50th b day, the hotel was sold out, pool was packed but the staff was WONDERFUL...From the bell hops who took our car to service desk and the the pool staff.....The pool guys work miracles to find you chairs and fold out your towel and the remember your name for the rest of the week...Then there is the wait staff, Lucy and Laura were the most sweetest servers possible, the pool was packed but these two servers were SO KIND AND SWEET AND EFFIECIENT,,I dont know how they did it all with people everywhere, the place was packed for the holiday weekend...Room service is a bit pricey but it was great food ....Everyone should experience this hotel once in their life, its and experience like no other..

Room Tip: You must have a balcony room to see the beautiful gulf coast, our first time seeing such blue water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianetripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffabba, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Hi Diane!

Thanks fo much for the kind words, especially about both Lucy and Laura, they are fantastic and we're proud to have them as a part of our team.

We trust your husband had a wonderful 50th birthday and we look forward to having you all back soon!

Best,

Jeff Abbaticchio
Loews DonCeSar Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Don is old (circa 1920) but the exceptional services provided by a well trained staff makes up for any modern shortages. Loews management emphasis on hospitality is sure to pay off in repeat business. I know we will return.
My stay over Labor Day weekend when the hotel was packed --every room occupied-- was a tough test but every encounter with waiters, pool personnel, maids
, bartenders, valleys was a pleasant encounter. Bravo!

Room Tip: The suites, while comfortable, are only a single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fosdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
19.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,346 reviews
1.8 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,022 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing