We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have often enjoyed The Don / Pink Palace whether for lunch, as part of a business association, or personal short overnight stays. It's a timeless classic old Florida hotel that is a true treasure in the area. Tampa overall is not our favorite place in the state, but St. Pete is a gem thanks to this hotel. Great service and good stay specials off season. Highly recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Sana P,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor!

We appreciate you continuing to choose us as your top choice in St. Pete Beach, both for business and pleasure visits. Thank you for mentioning the great service as well, something we pride ourselves on and what we feel sets us apart from the rest.

We will look forward to your next visit, thank you again for the review!


Best,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,995
    798
    348
    172
    161
See reviews for
1,059
1,237
97
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Upsides of the Don were that the beach is amazing, the pool area with a number games is cool and the hotel is interesting and historic. Downside: the rooms were half the size of a normal hotel room, the bathroom was a third the size, the service for lunch and drinks that afternoon was super slow and very expensive, there was wedding directly below our room which didn't end until 1am and the front desk laughed about it when we brought it up the next morning. Had my wife not used credit card miles to have our family stay at the Don Cesar for Father's Day and we had paid $300-350 to stay, I would have gone absolutely ballistic. Won't be back. It could be a great place but needs some management of staff and systems to service the guests.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthTampaBuc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear South TampaBuc C,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the beach and pool during your stay, and were able to take advantage of the many games we offer there. As for the size of your room we do have a number of great suites on property that provide our guests with additional living space to enjoy. Please let us know if we can assist with any reservations.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we will look forward to welcoming you back soon!


Best,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a great hotel!! Reservations staff helpful and accommodating, beautiful property, friendly staff, fantastic beach and amenities. I live in Florida and have my own jet skis but even jet ski rental was reasonably priced, much cheaper than many other resorts.
The BEST part, if you like fine gourmet dining is the Maritana Grill. Don't waste your time running out to all the mediocre beach restaurants...STAY IN THE HOTEL. Maritana was one of the best dining experiences in years. A friend of mine with a home in St Pete rec. it to me and I was amazed with the food, the service and the ambience.
Overall not one complaint only praise for the Don!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear steve34515,

It's so great to hear that you enjoyed yourself thoroughly during your stay. In particular, your experience at the Maritana Grille seemed to really exceed your expectations. It is a wonderful restaurant, and they consistently rank among the best in the country for seafood.

Thank you again for all your kind words, we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.


Best,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We live about 30 miles from the Don Cesar and it has become a family tradition to celebrate birthday's or sneak a quick get-a-way to the Don. We have never been disappointed! The Don is a true window back to Florida's grand beach resorts of the past. Built nearly a century ago, it has been been thoroughly updated and modernized with every creature comfort but still exudes the feel of "old Florida." This is our second stay since a recent renovation and everything still seems fresh and inviting. One of the strongest features of the property is the staff. The concierge, Ron, knows Tampa Bay better than anyone I've ever met. The front desk staff treat guests as if they are welcome family. Of course the most important feature of the hotel is it's location along one of the nicest beaches in North America. It's less than two hours to Disney and maybe half an hour to Busch Gardens so combine a theme park visit with a relaxing sunset or early morning beach stroll and you won't want to leave . . . we never do! Like many beach resorts the Don has great casual and upscale dining options but it also features a unique option, an old fashioned ice cream parlor! Nothing says Florida like a sundae or shake after the beach and pool.

Room Tip: Don't worry about gulf view rooms. The gulf is dark at night! Choose a room that fits your famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourfinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear ourfinan,

Thank you for your kind words!

We appreciate your loyalty and are glad to have been a part of so many special occasions for you and your family. Despite all of the updates and renovations it's great to hear we have managed to capture the "old Florida" feel, especially for a local who has spent so much of their life here in the area. Thank you also for mentioning Ron and the front desk, I will be sure to personally thank them for taking such great care of you during your stay.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your recent experiences, if you ever need any assistance with a future reservation or trip to the beach please let us know how we can help.


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I just got back from my friends wedding here, and it was an amazing time. The hotel is pretty much all inclusive as we didn't have to leave at all. The staff was wonderful, especially Laura at the pool and the spa. I had a late flight, and was allowed to use the spa to get ready and shower. The only complaint I have was the hostess at the Brunch on Fathers day wasn't friendly or helpful when we were trying to make reservations to eat. The brunch itself was amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear sasieber,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay!

I'm truly sorry for the inconsistency in service you experienced during your brunch, however, I am so glad to hear the rest of your stay was amazing. We strive to create that "all in one" feel for our guests and provide them with amazing amenities here on property. I will be sure to let Laura know how much she impacted your stay!

Thank you again for your kind comments, we hope to welcome you back in the near future!


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a lovely hotel.
The decor is so appealing and comforting-- the hotel has so much charm from years gone by, but has kept up with modern conveniences. Nicely appointed, great staff and the most beautiful beach. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear BeckyCakes,

Thank you for your review!

I'm glad you were able to enjoy the beautiful history and surroundings the Don and St. Pete Beach have to offer. We take great pride in showcasing our historic property while providing our guests with the very best in modern amenities. It's great to read about how much you enjoyed both.

Thank you again for your review, we look forward to your next visit!


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Some people can break it down, I just ramble a bit. We arrived this past Friday, quick check-in and offered some champagne and helped ourselves to a few naval oranges on the counter. It is about the only thing free at the resort. We valet parked the car, $23 per day vs. $10 to self park per day, but if you come and go a few times, you pay each time when you self-park. The valet is friendly and really hussle to get your car. We have been here before. We checked into a partial bay and city view room, room 602. The room was small and the bathroom even smaller! So small that the toilet bowl was so close to the bathtub that when you sit on the bowl, your knees are almost touching the tub. I am 5'10", if you are over 6' tall, do not take this room or else while using the toilet bowl your feet will be in the tub, I am not kidding about this!
We had the "Don" breakfast buffet for 2 mornings, $22 per person, includes everything, can even order a dish from the main menu. Eggs well prepared, great bacon, waffles, whole wheat pancakes, grapefruit juice, lox and bagels, a real good breakfast. You can order ala cart if you want. The water temperature of the Gulf was beautiful, almost too warm, thanks Global Warming! Unusual to be this warm in early June. They have plenty of beach lunges and umbrellas, they get $25 per day for them. No charge for chairs, umbrellas or towels at the pool. They will move umbrella's and chairs for you. They do have a $25 per day resort fee, so you are paying for it. They will get you drinks and food, you pay of course. Lots of children at the pool, but not a problem or in your way. Pools were crowded with people bringing drinks in pool. Lots of weddings going on also. We did not eat dinner at the hotel. At one night in St Pete Beach at Snappers on Gulf Blvd, not bad. The second night at Passe Grille right across from the beach, sorry don't remember the restaurant, it was on the corner and many flights of steps to get to outdoor seating. The beach is clean and beautiful, the water as I mentioned above was very warm, can get right in, and very clean.

Room Tip: Avoid room 602 if you are tall, the toilet bowl and tub are an experience.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear William A,

Thank you for taking the time to share all of your recent experiences from your trip to the Don!

It sounds as though you enjoyed many of the areas and amenities throughout the hotel, including the pool and beach areas, as well as our Sea Porch restaurant for your breakfast. Although I wish you had enjoyed a dinner at one of our two great restaurants, I also understand getting out and exploring is all part of a vacation and it sounds as though you found a couple of good local options.

Thank you again for all of the details and comments from your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Don in the near future!


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,945 reviews
1.7 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing