We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Wedding Location”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oxford, MS
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Wedding Location”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I just got back from my friends wedding here, and it was an amazing time. The hotel is pretty much all inclusive as we didn't have to leave at all. The staff was wonderful, especially Laura at the pool and the spa. I had a late flight, and was allowed to use the spa to get ready and shower. The only complaint I have was the hostess at the Brunch on Fathers day wasn't friendly or helpful when we were trying to make reservations to eat. The brunch itself was amazing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear sasieber,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences during your recent stay!

I'm truly sorry for the inconsistency in service you experienced during your brunch, however, I am so glad to hear the rest of your stay was amazing. We strive to create that "all in one" feel for our guests and provide them with amazing amenities here on property. I will be sure to let Laura know how much she impacted your stay!

Thank you again for your kind comments, we hope to welcome you back in the near future!


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,051
    821
    358
    179
    165
See reviews for
1,096
1,273
99
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (740)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

What a lovely hotel.
The decor is so appealing and comforting-- the hotel has so much charm from years gone by, but has kept up with modern conveniences. Nicely appointed, great staff and the most beautiful beach. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear BeckyCakes,

Thank you for your review!

I'm glad you were able to enjoy the beautiful history and surroundings the Don and St. Pete Beach have to offer. We take great pride in showcasing our historic property while providing our guests with the very best in modern amenities. It's great to read about how much you enjoyed both.

Thank you again for your review, we look forward to your next visit!


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Some people can break it down, I just ramble a bit. We arrived this past Friday, quick check-in and offered some champagne and helped ourselves to a few naval oranges on the counter. It is about the only thing free at the resort. We valet parked the car, $23 per day vs. $10 to self park per day, but if you come and go a few times, you pay each time when you self-park. The valet is friendly and really hussle to get your car. We have been here before. We checked into a partial bay and city view room, room 602. The room was small and the bathroom even smaller! So small that the toilet bowl was so close to the bathtub that when you sit on the bowl, your knees are almost touching the tub. I am 5'10", if you are over 6' tall, do not take this room or else while using the toilet bowl your feet will be in the tub, I am not kidding about this!
We had the "Don" breakfast buffet for 2 mornings, $22 per person, includes everything, can even order a dish from the main menu. Eggs well prepared, great bacon, waffles, whole wheat pancakes, grapefruit juice, lox and bagels, a real good breakfast. You can order ala cart if you want. The water temperature of the Gulf was beautiful, almost too warm, thanks Global Warming! Unusual to be this warm in early June. They have plenty of beach lunges and umbrellas, they get $25 per day for them. No charge for chairs, umbrellas or towels at the pool. They will move umbrella's and chairs for you. They do have a $25 per day resort fee, so you are paying for it. They will get you drinks and food, you pay of course. Lots of children at the pool, but not a problem or in your way. Pools were crowded with people bringing drinks in pool. Lots of weddings going on also. We did not eat dinner at the hotel. At one night in St Pete Beach at Snappers on Gulf Blvd, not bad. The second night at Passe Grille right across from the beach, sorry don't remember the restaurant, it was on the corner and many flights of steps to get to outdoor seating. The beach is clean and beautiful, the water as I mentioned above was very warm, can get right in, and very clean.

Room Tip: Avoid room 602 if you are tall, the toilet bowl and tub are an experience.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear William A,

Thank you for taking the time to share all of your recent experiences from your trip to the Don!

It sounds as though you enjoyed many of the areas and amenities throughout the hotel, including the pool and beach areas, as well as our Sea Porch restaurant for your breakfast. Although I wish you had enjoyed a dinner at one of our two great restaurants, I also understand getting out and exploring is all part of a vacation and it sounds as though you found a couple of good local options.

Thank you again for all of the details and comments from your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to the Don in the near future!


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

That is all I can say about this place... The service was incredible, got upgrade upon arrival to a full ocean view which was spectacular waking up to every morning. The room was spotless and very functional. The staff was fantastic and made our stay feel very special, we even got a little behind the scenes tour from an employee that was great, glad he/she went the extra mile for us. To top it off, I proposed to my girlfriend on the beautiful sunset beach. This was truly an unforgettable experience for us. We can't wait to come back, we are even hoping we can get married here which would be a dream... Thanks again to all the staff at the Don!

Room Tip: See if you can grab a corner room, it has spectacular views of the ocean and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbclstj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear dmbclstj2,

Congratulations on your recent engagement!

I'm glad you had such a wonderful time during your recent visit, capped off by such a memorable occasion. We do hope you will come back when it comes time for your wedding and/or honeymoon. You will be hard pressed to find a better team when it comes to weddings and St. Pete Beach does a great job setting the mood with the unforgettable sunsets!

Please let us know if we can be of any assistance with future plans or events, and thank you again for all your kind words.


Warmest Wishes & Congratulations!

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, historic, and supposed to be the best hotel in St. Pete, and probably the most expensive. We stayed for a family reunion, and they had a wiffelball (sp?) tournament and it was so loud, even in the room for the entire Saturday that we could not hear ourselves think. We complained to the hotel, and it was obvious that they did not care. The volume was like you were at a live music concert by the pool, with the bass turned all the way up. We had a fun, good vacation anyway, but I was truly disappointed in the lack of consideration for guests at the hotel, who had paid upwards of $550 per night just for a room, which was also very small for that price. The food was pricey, but good, and the people in the restaurant were fabulous. However, if you are planning on going for a nice, romantic getaway, you will hate it here. They did have a wonderful breakfast, though, and you can visit the hotel and have breakfast and stay somewhere else on the beach, which is what we will likely do next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Wendi B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay on Trip Advisor. I thought maybe I had missed the Wiffle Ball tournament this year but then I realized you had actually stayed with us about a year ago! There were other comments regarding this event that we have since addressed and, should the group decide to return to St. Pete Beach again this year, we are going to have a very different approach to how we roll it out. Our goal is for all of our guests to thoroughly enjoy themselves, and the tournament has a nice crowd that attends and many of our guests enjoy it however, those seeking peace and quiet should have their goals realized as well and we are committed to making sure it happens.

Thank you again for your feedback and I am so happy you enjoyed the other areas of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, and please let me know if you have any concerns and I would be happy to address them personally.


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Upon arrival the staff was great. From the bellman to the front desk the service was friendly and efficient. I was there for a gala and the banquet staff was very helpful and provided great assistance through the event. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. Would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a nice location with great service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear ceeya,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor! I will pass along your kind words to our Bell, Banquet, and Front Office teams, I'm glad they were able to have such a great impact on your stay.

We truly appreciate your response and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future, please let me know if I can be of any assistance!


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Each year my wife an I and our best friends go somewhere special for a few days to celebrate our anniversaries which are just 2 days apart in June. I picked the Don CeSar for it's long time good reputation. Since it's takeover, remodel and operation by the Loews Hotel chain, the experience is first class. The staff is unbelievably friendly and helpful. Many remembered our names after meeting us the first time. We stayed in rooms designated as 'Luxury King' with views to the beach and Gulf of Mexico. Because the hotel was built in the 1920's, rooms are not large but very comfortable with lovely furnishings.
There are two outdoor pools offering areas for families or adults. The beach is big and beautiful and chairs and umbrellas abound. Bar and restaurant experiences were also great. the Maritana Grill on site has a four diamond rating. I'd give it 5 stars, too!
St. Pete Beach and St. Petersburg offered loads of things to do. We included a Tampa Bay Rays baseball game at Tropicana Field and a visit to the Dali art museum.
We will definitely return to the Don CeSar for another special event one day.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on at least the 3rd or 4th floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Denny G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Don CeSar!

Your review was very thorough, and I am glad you enjoyed everything from the rooms to the pool to the world class Maritana Grille! We are very fortunate to have such an ideal location, being close to the Rays and Dali as you mentioned, while providing our guests with the very best beach accommodations around!

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon!


Warmest Regards,

Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
19.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#8 of 98 in Clearwater
2,370 reviews
1.8 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
496 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,362 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,113 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing