We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spring Break Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
“Spring Break Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Don is a beautiful, historic hotel in St. Pete. All the staff were pleasant and courteous although upon arriving I asked to upgrade our room with a better view, but none were available at the time. The desk clerk said she would call us when something opened up but never did. Our stay was a little pricey for what you get verses an all inclusive vacation. The rooms are small, but clean. Our teenage girls enjoyed the hot tub and pools. Order the cheeseburger when you are sitting poolside, they are the best. Also, the breakfast buffet was pretty good too. The white sand beach was lovely, but a little too cold and windy for us to spend much time there. Location is nice if you want to walk to Pass-a-Grille-I'm guessing a couple miles. They do have an extra daily room charge I believe was $22.00 for extra's included in the hotel such as internet. If you are planning on doing business here and need to depend on the internet-it's not very good. Overall, it's a really beautiful place, but I'm not sure I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was a double deluxe and it was quite small for the four of us. Two adults and two teens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,904
    768
    323
    162
    154
See reviews for
993
1,193
92
383
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you want a stunning venue which will leave a lasting impression on your guests, go to the Don
If you want a staff which is unrivaled by any other, go to the Don
If you want to be treated like royalty from the moment you arrive, go to the Don
If you want to experience the best hotel food ever, go to the Don
If you want your every wish to be granted by the most accommodating professional staff, go to the Don
If you want your wedding guests to tell you they can't wait to return to your beautiful venue, even without you, go to the Don

Room Tip: Rooms on both sides of the hotel have stunning views, but those on the beach side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

As an historic piece of St. Pete's and an amazing piece of property you can't go wrong. It is well worth a visit. But for a place to stay don't plan for a long haul, it is a little over rated. There are much nicer properties within a short drive (everything just a short drive), so scout around.

But this location is definetly a MUST SEE! Read about the history of the building before going to the hotel, it will be more meaninful.

Room Tip: As with any hotel that faces the ocean try and get one that faces that incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttonsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our first trip to this resort. We have a 5 and 2 year old. It was a great vacation. We had an ocean front suite and we asked for a mini fridge and microwave. The staff is extremely accomodating and friendly from housekeeping to the pool to room service. There are 2 pools with lots of kids and it is steps to one of the most gorgeous beaches we have ever seen. Powder white soft sand, warm water and amazing sunsets. They have a fantastic play area in the sand with tons and tons of buckets/shovels and beach toys for everyone to use. They put umbrellas all over the sand pit for kids. There is cold drinking water in many locations. I loved this resort. It is only 1/2 hour from the Tampa airport, so very convenient. Get a car service to/from the airport. Bring lots of tip money. The resort is pricey, but if you are looking for a great, relaxing family resort, this place is great. We will be back.

Room Tip: ocean front overlooking the pool. prepare for a wonderful sunset every night right from your balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 81260745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had three families stay here in the beginning of April. Here are the positives- nice beach, good pool bar and food and good service at pool& beach. Lobby bartenders, front desk, Uncle Andy's staff all wonderful! The cons-rooms and bathrooms small, terrible food and service at Seaporch, pool so crowded we were forced to rent chairs and umbrellas everyday. But the worst was an encountered with the catering manager who was so rude and did not accommodate us. After her error ruined a planned get together with some other relatives meeting us for brunch, she never apologized. I took the time to tell the GM and detailed the incident in their after your stay survey...never heard back from anyone. A simple sorry for the inconvenience would have gone a long way after we spent over $10k at your hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Natsomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place was nice to stay but it was costly! You have to pay for parking 10.00 a day. 22 dollars for service at the pool. We did not know this ahead of time. We didn't use the service at the pool. So all this extra cost to the cost of the room that was $299.00 a night! Parking was terrible. They had water in the room that they wanted $7.00 dollars for a bottle. Jeez! And we didn't even have a frig.The room was nice and the maids where very nice. Because of the price of things I give it a C. If you don't go to Walmart and by your umbrella or chairs you will pay $25.00 dollars a day to use their lounge chairs and Umbrella. USA needs to come up with something because Mexico has better rooms, everything is all included. That is your flight, hotel, food and drinks is all included in one price. We prefer Nokomis Beach, Venus , Saratsota, and Sannibell. This is because they have better shells.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

A great old hotel on a great strip of the beach. Rooms a little small but nice. We had a patio which was great. Good food in the room and in the restaurants. Layout of pool and beach cabanas is great. We spent a weekend and never left the hotel and just had a relaxing time. As the bill was paid by someone else I do not have good input as to the value. For small meetings of 100
Or Less it is great. I will come back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
1.7 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," the Loews Don CeSar Hotel, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing