We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can't be happy here, you can't anywhere!”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
IOWA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you can't be happy here, you can't anywhere!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have stayed at the great resorts: Ritz, Four Seasons, Banyan Tree, etc. First of all let me say the service of this hotel and the way it caters to children is above and beyond. We arrived Wednesday March 27th to April 2nd. Five of us and a child stayed in a two bedroom gulf suite which was wonderful, becuase we had a living room and wet bar and that helped with having more space for our family. We were greeted upon arrival by the hotel VIP manager who escorted us to our room, he made us feel like we were the hotel's only customer. The room was expensive, but you get what you pay for and it was spring break too. Frankly in my opinion this is the best and only hotel to stay at in St. Pete. All the staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful. They even know your name out at the pool. We were there over Easter and they had ice cream sundaes for the kids in the afternoon over the weekend, movies outside with popcorn and on Easter they had an easter egg hunt on the beach with giveaways and live rabbits that the children could have their photo with along with the easter bunny, for free. Now what other hotel does this? NONE! They had so much fun things for kids it is the place to come! One day I went out to stroll my baby and the Manager helped carry my stroller down to the sidewalk, the hotel even called to see if there was anything they could help or get us while we were there. The hotel is first class, 5 star! The beach is white sand beautiful and clean, everyone here goes above and beyond. If you can't be happy here you can't be happy anywhere. Thank you to everyone at the Don Cesar for making our trip unforgettable.

Room Tip: We loved the two bedroom gulf view suite which were two adjoing rooms with a living room and wet bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockstar321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,018
    812
    354
    176
    163
See reviews for
1,071
1,260
97
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The only place to stay on this beautiful beach. Sure it's a little rough around the edges and too crowded, but it's the best location on this gorgeous beach. The food is really good. Very convenient to get a burger or drink at the beach or pool. It comes out pretty fast and good with friendly service considering the bustling crowds. I generally like places a bit more exclusive and less populated but you have no choice but to deal with it since there's not a nicer hotel in the area. Mariana's restaurant was delicious and exclusive with a great staff. Great spa as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came to this hotel for a wedding. Its a very nice location and wonderful beach but very expensive. The hotel rooms are a little better than typical hotel rooms but not worth $350/night. Pina Coladas were $12 but the pool (kind of expected). Lots of kids so the pool area was very loud and crowded. Its a nice place but not worth the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool or beach view. Nothing on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorj32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We selected this hotel for the spectacular view and a firm recommendation from our friends. We wanted a special place for a short vacation with my sister who has cancer. Beginning with your caring reservation agents they helped us plan a special visit, selected the perfect room, and made arrangements for a menu to meet her needs. We stepped into the lobby and immediately felt we were on vacation. The staff were friendly and polite. They were there when you needed them.
The restaurants were excellent and the beach cannot be beat. First class all the way!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Although it is pricey, my college daughter and I had a great spring break getaway to relax, enjoy sun and beach.
I enjoyed the poolside pampering and beach yoga.
Spa service pricing is grossly overpriced which limited our experience there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time here and the sight of this beautiful pink historic hotel takes our breath away and the location on the beach is beautiful! Water sport rentals and volleyball are right there.
The pool area is very nice as well with two resteraunts/bars near by and two pools. Love the sweet-potato fries!
There seemed to be plenty of chairs.
The resort was kept very clean, we gave it a 4 rating only because we thought the toilet bowl rims should have been cleaner.
The service was very good, staff friendly and considerate, smiled and said hello. The servers were great. Try the flax seed pizza for breakfast. The lobby lounge was relaxing in the evening with live music and favorite server from Latvia, Agita.
We had a treat of being upgraded to one of the pent house suites our first night and felt like royalty for a night! Absolutely gorgeous!
We gave the rooms and value a 4 only because we thought for the price they could have been a little roomier and there should be down pillows.
Great time beautiful place!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Easily one of the best if not the best hotel I've stayed at! To a previous review I can say that I didn't notice any staff reserving spots around the pool for extended periods! The chairs were on a first come, first serve basis. I found that if you're up by 7:00 you have your selection of any spot. And everything around each pool is taken by 8-8:30. All of the staff were extremely inviting and courageous. The workout room seemed a tiny bit small for the amount of people but I can't complain much about that. A pull-up bar/squats rack would be a strong addition. The biggest down side I thought was the buffet. The buffet at the Hyatt which I had two days before was the same price at $22 yet it had 10 times the variety and was much better tasting. The french toast should be replaced with pancakes/waffles. Although I can say that the pancakes I ordered alone were incredible! Also you must stop at Uncle Andy's at some point during your stay. Wow!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanGleesack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
19.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#7 of 98 in Clearwater
2,346 reviews
1.8 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,022 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Property: The Don CeSar
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing