We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic spa!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic spa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My sister and I had treatments at the spa, but were not staying at the hotel, so this review only refers to the spa. And it is a great spa, although you certainly are paying for what you get. The service, facilities, and treatments were all superb (although my sister was not fully satisfied with her facial, we both had fantastic massages). Great sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, and roof-top sun deck overlooking the Gulf. All very luxurious and relaxing. Could not ask for more in a one-day spa get-away, except perhaps for it to be more affordable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at Loews Don CeSar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear PickyNomad,

Thank you for your review!

Spa Oceana truly is a wonderful part of our hotel experience and I am so glad you had the opportunity to enjoy it! Hopefully next time we will be able to welcome you to the hotel as well so you can enjoy the property in its entirety.

Thank you again for your response, we hope to see you again soon!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,690
    705
    299
    152
    145
See reviews for
904
1,094
77
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (633)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Location is great, hotel public areas are beautiful. The bell staff are excellent. The front desk staff and FOM should brush up on their Customer Service training. The rooms are in terrible need of a refurb. The bed was like sleeping on a bale of hay and the inexpensive bed linens felt like a tablecloth. The decor is mis-matched and was not at all to what I expected from a Lowes branded hotel. We had a very disappointing experience trying to make our reservation and overall, I just was not impressed by this hotel. For the considerable amount we paid per night I do not feel like this hotel is worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bailey2144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at Loews Don CeSar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Baily2144,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent experience.

I am truly sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. It is our goal to provide an exceptionally high level of service combined with an unmatched resort experience. We did not achieve this during your stay, and if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail I would be happy to do so.

I hope to have the opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience and make sure future visits are seamless and enjoyable. Thank you again for your feedback.

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Neck, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. We had an ocean front one bedroom suite with a balcony. The Don CeSar hotel is right on the beach. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. The beach at the hotel was gorgeous. It was our first visit to St. Pete's beach and it won't be our last. There are a lot of restaurants to choose from. We would definitely stay at the Don CeSar again. The rooms are clean and bright and the service is top notch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryost44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at Loews Don CeSar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Ryost44,

Thank you for your kind words!

I'm glad you had such a wonderful time on you first trip to St. Pete Beach! Thank you for making us a part of your experience, we hope to welcome you back in the near future!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My pink palace! Location is to die for! Love the history!The place to go, for spa days! I don't live far so it's easy for me to take advantage of this beautiful resort! Love it here lunches are fab too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOVETHEBEACH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at Loews Don CeSar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear LOVETHEBEACH74,

Thank you for your review!

It's great to hear that, as a local, you have chosen us as your premier spa destination. We love catering to our local guests and are currently celebrating our 85th Anniversary. There are specials being run throughout the property, including the Spa in celebration of the hotel's milestone. Be sure to give us a call and we will let know what is currently available.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Service at this hotel was top-notch from the moment we arrived until departure. As I sat waiting for my ride to the airport during my departure, the bellman unexpectedly brought me a bottle of water. These touches are all a part of the hotel's experience. The staff were all amazingly friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on a gorgeous beach. The rooms were well appointed and the housekeeping staff had a keen eye for detail-nothing that needed to be replaced went unnoticed. Great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeloRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at Loews Don CeSar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear VeloRouge,

Thank you for the review!

It was great to hear about the staff taking great care of you during your recent trip. In particular, it seem as though the bell services and housekeeping teams really stood out and made your time here special.

Thank you again for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great weekend trip where we can bring our dog. I love how friendly most of the staff was. Nice spa facilities. Food was hit or miss -- Sea Porch-->stay away and visit the other locations. The front balcony suite was very spacious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenneffer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at Loews Don CeSar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Jenneffer P,

Thank you for the kind review!

Pets are family too! It's very difficult to find a high quality resort that allows pets these days, but we pride ourselves on being that exception. I'm glad that you were able to have a great weekend getaway with your loved ones and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is great. It is very peaceful. The views are also nice. Although, do not come here for big waves. I suggest the Outer Banks for big waves. The beach is clean. The restaurants are great. Our family had a little trouble in the hotel's business center. The computer's were very slow at processing an order for Busch Gardens tickets in Tampa. I recommend that you should take care of online reservations or online bookings for things before you leave for the vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeluxeHotelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at Loews Don CeSar Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear DeluxeHotelCritic,

Thank you for posting your recent experience!

I'm delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed the property, in particular the peaceful beach and enticing restaurants. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future, please inform us if we can be of any assistance.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Pete Beach
19.7 mi away
Sandpearl Resort
Sandpearl Resort
#6 of 96 in Clearwater
4.5 of 5 stars 2,081 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Clearwater Beach Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by Loews Don CeSar
0.8 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
1.7 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Don CeSar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Don CeSar Hotel

Property: Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews Don CeSar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," the Loews Don CeSar Hotel, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Don CeSar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
Loews Don CeSar Hotel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing