We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Spa!”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My pink palace! Location is to die for! Love the history!The place to go, for spa days! I don't live far so it's easy for me to take advantage of this beautiful resort! Love it here lunches are fab too!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOVETHEBEACH74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear LOVETHEBEACH74,

Thank you for your review!

It's great to hear that, as a local, you have chosen us as your premier spa destination. We love catering to our local guests and are currently celebrating our 85th Anniversary. There are specials being run throughout the property, including the Spa in celebration of the hotel's milestone. Be sure to give us a call and we will let know what is currently available.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,940)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,978 - 2,984 of 3,940 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Service at this hotel was top-notch from the moment we arrived until departure. As I sat waiting for my ride to the airport during my departure, the bellman unexpectedly brought me a bottle of water. These touches are all a part of the hotel's experience. The staff were all amazingly friendly and helpful. The hotel is located on a gorgeous beach. The rooms were well appointed and the housekeeping staff had a keen eye for detail-nothing that needed to be replaced went unnoticed. Great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeloRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear VeloRouge,

Thank you for the review!

It was great to hear about the staff taking great care of you during your recent trip. In particular, it seem as though the bell services and housekeeping teams really stood out and made your time here special.

Thank you again for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great weekend trip where we can bring our dog. I love how friendly most of the staff was. Nice spa facilities. Food was hit or miss -- Sea Porch-->stay away and visit the other locations. The front balcony suite was very spacious.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenneffer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Jenneffer P,

Thank you for the kind review!

Pets are family too! It's very difficult to find a high quality resort that allows pets these days, but we pride ourselves on being that exception. I'm glad that you were able to have a great weekend getaway with your loved ones and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The hotel is great. It is very peaceful. The views are also nice. Although, do not come here for big waves. I suggest the Outer Banks for big waves. The beach is clean. The restaurants are great. Our family had a little trouble in the hotel's business center. The computer's were very slow at processing an order for Busch Gardens tickets in Tampa. I recommend that you should take care of online reservations or online bookings for things before you leave for the vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeluxeHotelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear DeluxeHotelCritic,

Thank you for posting your recent experience!

I'm delighted to hear that you fully enjoyed the property, in particular the peaceful beach and enticing restaurants. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future, please inform us if we can be of any assistance.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Had a short stay here for a business conference. The one thing that stood out about my stay was the professionalism and friendliness of the staff. The bellhops, waiters, housekeepers, maintenance crew, virtually everyone I encountered was extremely friendly and helpful. Kudos to their customer service training program. I have never felt so welcome at a hotel. The room and bathroom were small but clean, and modern (with the exception of the shower head) with efficient use of the space. Nice water pressure. I always appreciate free wi-fi, It was a little slow though. The exercise room was large and well-equipped, and they even had yoga classes across the hall. I didn't get to the beach or the spa because of a busy schedule and bad weather, but I would definitely like to go back this hotel for a vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LagniappeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear LagniappeTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay!

Your kind words about the staff are truly appreciated. The team members on property are the reason our guests come back year after year and I am glad they were able to make your stay exceptional. We will look forward to welcoming you back for that vacation trip next time, thank you again for posting your review!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went for a one week stay over new years eve.
In total we were happy and really enjoyed the time here. However we did expect a bit more luxury based on the hotel prospectus and previous trip advisor reviews. Compared to European and Asian standards this hotel cannot compete. The rooms are very small and despite recent refurbishing everything seems a bit old. In addition everything has to be paid extra: USD 43 for two sunbeds at the beach, car park USD 10 per day, breakfast, a resort fee of USD 22 plus tax per day for "complimentary" wifi, poolside pampering, fitness center etc...
We had breakfast a couple of times at the sea porch and despite half the restaurant being deserted they made us wait 20 mins because we did not have a reservation. The pancakes are amazing though and are worth to wait another 30 mins for after having placed the order.
Overall the service is however good and the employees do make a big effort for the guests to enjoy their stay.

Room Tip: Book luxury room so you can move inside your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gridouille_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Gridouille_76,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We truly appreciate your feedback and I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay, in particular your interactions with our staff and the pancakes!

Thank you again for your review, hopefully we will see you again in the near future!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Can't help but keep returning to this lovely hotel it has this hold over me .

We were lucky to be upgraded to a lovely refurbished room with a partial Seaview at one of the front blocks on the side high up .

Great to see the same guy think his name is Jaffa by the pool , he was very helpful and friendly. Also great staff at the lobby bar having a laugh and joke .

Only downside this time is parking is now being charged for guests which i feel is wrong as you already pay an additional service charge of approx $25 a day on top of your room , also the wifi didn't work around by the pool and normal loungers being charged for on the beach .

It's a lot of money to stay here and this time we felt we were being squeezed for more money every which way you turn .

Will this be our last visit for the foreseeable . . .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank go-jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielWalsh, Manager at The Don CeSar, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear go-jules,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay!

We are delighted to continue being your #1 choice here in St. Pete Beach! I am glad to hear that Jaffa was able to provide you with a high level of service to make your stay more enjoyable. It is without question our team members' commitment to assisting our guests that sets us apart from the rest.

Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

- Daniel Walsh, VIP Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $279 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelPower, Travelocity, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing