We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at the Don CeSar Hotel over 20 years ago. It was nice then and it still is nice today. Within that time the hotel was been remodeled. The rooms were very nice size and decor was up to date, bathrooms were adequate. Two pools that were nice but would get crowded one had activities for families with kids. They also have a kids camp program for families with younger kids. We don't have young kids so we just went to the beach everyday which was beautiful and serene. Ate at the more casual restaurant and the food was good. All the staff was very pleasant and accomodating - from the front desk, waiters/waitresses, pool attendants, beach staff, maid service. The staff were welcoming and made you feel pampered. The shops in the hotel were very nice and we enoyed getting a treat at the ice cream shop. Please note this is a resort so they do charge a separate daily resort fee. Also, you need to pay for anything at the beach - chairs, umbrellas, loungers. This is not unusual for a beach resort. Exercise facility was a little small for a hotel of this size. Only downside is that there really is nothing else around the resort so if you want to see anything you do need to drive. Downtown St. Pete is definitely worth the drive it is on the bay and has restaurants and shops - lively area. We really enjoyed the hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and had a partial gulf view. Rooms are not well insulated so if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,008 - 3,014 of 3,927 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

This venerable old resort style hotel continues to be all class and quite expensive. My son-in-law was married there over the weekend and we spent two nights in a "luxury" room..
The indoor facilities are always outstanding and the resort area, with two swimming pools not only can accomodate a large crowd but are well maintained and staffed.
Every employee was friendly, courteous, and helpful. Rooms were very small but clean and comfortable.
Our only objection was the expensive "a la carte" charges for everything. 23.00 for valet parking, 22.00 for a resort tax (??), charges for internet , newspaper at the door, etc., per night. Our small "luxury" room with king bed was discounted for a group rate at 260.00. Most Marriott's have comparable rooms which are much larger at half the price. Food was very good, but again expensive.
Overall, though, it's still a fine hotel with excellent services.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finewein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for a conference during the past 3 days and I can say that it was a very nice hotel. staff was very friendly and the room clean and the hotel overall was very well maintained. The beach is beutiful and the pools are very well kept. The food, we ate there two out of the three nights, was good. There were many family with kids which was very nice. You need a car to get around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony201089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Visited the Don Cesar more than a decade ago. It was starting to fade, but still luxurious. Now it seems to be going through an identity crisis, trying to appeal to a very wide range of guests. It holds itself out as luxurious but is stingy about bathroom amenities. No shower cap or mouth wash. The bathrooms are tiny. The bathroom updates missed the mirror in my bathroom which needed resilvering. The staff was indifferent. When I complained about being assigned a handicap accessible room I did not request, the front desk's response was "we try to accommodate people with disabilities." Had we not complained about having to wait more than 20 minutes beyond our reservation time at the hotel's prime restaurant no attempt would have been made to comp us for the inconvenience.
Lovely beach but very crowded on the weekends and the hotel charges for umbrellas and chairs!
This is outrageous especially since all guests are assessed a $22 "resort fee" per room per day plus tax. This amounts to almost $25 additional per day more than the stated room fee. This fee entitles you to "free wireless" unlimited local phone calls, "poolside pampering" and 24 hour access to the fitness center.
On the positive side, the food is good and the spa is excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid room near ball or event rooms on the weekends because there are noisy parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teabird45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

From the first attendant who greets you when you arrive, to the last person to say good bye when you leave, it's clear that everyone working there seems to enjoy being helpful. The rooms are well appointed; the banquet food is "restaurant quality"; the beach is wonderful. The elevators move a little slowly, but the stairs work fine!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amosesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a girls weekend and found it to be very good. However, there are a few things I wish we knew before we went. Let me start by saying that the goal of our trip was relaxation. That influences my review somewhat. The staff was excellent, very friendly, well trained and professional. We ate at the pool twice and the more casual restaurant twice. We enjoyed all of our meals very much, however, we did find the prices to be high at the pool. Lunch for three of us with frozen drinks was over $100. Nevertheless, the ambiance of the restaurants is nice and we were happy to just chill there. Our room was recently renovated and it was very nice. The spa is beautiful, however, I would recommend asking for a more experienced therapist (the one I had was obviously new and inexperienced on several levels). There is a beautiful and very private roof top terrace that is reserved for spa guests and lunch can be ordered there. Now for the bad, We could not score a chair at the pool on Friday, Saturday or Sunday. It was mobbed. We didn;t race to the pool at 9:00 a.m. to claim a chair but nevertheless no chair for three days? We learned that local residents can join the pool which might explain why it was so crowded. The chairs on the beach must be rented. For two chairs and an umbrella for a full day was $45. Also, the city does not allow the rented chairs to be moved close to the water so you have to sit back on the beach. Also, this is a family resort and by that I mean kids, kids and more kids. We tried to hit the hot tub around 5:30 p.m. and there were about 5 kids in it including a mother with her two year old in a diaper and bathing suit. I reported this to the Loews employee at the towel stand and his response was "Loews loves kids." I love kids too but not in the hot tub and especially not in the hot tub in a diaper. As mentioned, the spa has a private roof top terrace where you can get a chaise and there are no kids in the hot tub! They charge $10 a day for the self park lot. So, all in all, we had a nice time and it is a beautiful hotel. Just would have been nice to have had a chair to sit in at the pool or on the beach for free. I would return if my friends wanted to go back but it would not be my first choice for a relaxing girls weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mitchcob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the Don Cesar for 4 nights as my husband had a conference there. It is a lovely hotel, with excellent staff, most accomodating, pleasant and helpful. Each guest is made to feel special. We had a mini suite, which was a large room with sitting and desk area. It was kept very clean, and the housekeeping staff was very attentive. There are 2 comments I can make to make, however. There are no hooks in the bathroom to hang a robe, although the robes provided were great. Also, the ammenities were not as good as those in other hotels of this caliber. Although i often don't need them, this time I was looking for both a sewing kit and a shower cap, and they do not have them. Also, many of the resorts offer some kind of coffee bar/starbucks type of location for those who don't want a full breakfast, and they do not have one.

Room Tip: Our suite was 315, and we were told it was a partial bay view, but it looked out onto the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LITraveler811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Beach House Suites by The Don Ce...
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
819 reviews
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#9 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,346 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Guy Harvey Outpost, a TradeWinds Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $278 - $633 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Otel, HotelPower, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing