We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service and annoyance with hotel renovation”
Review of The Don CeSar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Don CeSar
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 31, 2011

With all the problems of staying at a hotel being renovated, the staff could care a little more about their guests. The breakfast room was closed. The rooms are old and uncomfortable. Couldn´t believe how it could be part of LHW. And don´t forget to check their expensive parking prices before deciding where to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,133 - 3,139 of 3,796 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I are Tampa Bay residents so when we were able to schedule our wedding and reception at the hotel in 2001 we were thrilled. At the time the amenities, staff, restaurants, and general ambiance we perfect for the occasion. An experience that we and are guests spoke about long after the event.

This year I surprised my wife by scheduling our 10 year anniversary at the hotel. It was a hugh disappointment and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The building was still beautiful, and the staff relatively helpful, but it was so overcrowded as to lose any feel of ambiance or charm. If you want a hotel that has an overcrowded pool, a dirty beach with broken chairs, and a chain smoking clientele this may be your hotel.

The only bright spots were the fine dining restaurant (Maritana) and the Sunday Brunch. I can assure you I will a new location for my next anniversary.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Burke76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

From the moment you arrive till you leave you are treated like royalty. It is a little pricey but if you can afford it then definitely stay here. They gave us a free upgrade to an ocean view at check in which was a nice surprise. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosaj_sggob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We were in town and thought it would be nice to eat at the Don Cesar. We ate outside which was nice but the service was very slow...like they forgot about us. The price was very inflated....$15 for a burger but it was very good. The server got my order wrong twice and I had to ask for more tea when my glass was clearly empty.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lory r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

The Lowes Don CeSar is a beautiful old building, and a great location.

I booked a Grand Room (which is supposed to be the nicest room - aside from a suite) available. The web site makes it sound spectacular. We were shown to a very small room on the 2nd floor with barely a beach view over the rooftops of the 1st floor and through the palm trees. We thought they made a mistake so we called the front desk. No mistake, but they did switch us to a room with a more unobstructed view, but for nearly $300/night the room was quite small.

Beds were comfortable, decor was nice. Bathroom was exceptionally tiny - only one person could occupy it at once. My wife noted the full-powered hair dryer (this is a 'plus' for her). Bath products were not regularly replenished (in 5 nights, we only had the lotion and body wash replaced once - shampoo, conditioner and soap were not replenished at all).

The pool area was very pretty, and each day they had different specials where they brought smoothies or cool compresses out to you at the pool. Gym was nice. Small, but good equipment and water, fruit and towels available.

Beach was gorgeous and the property is located right on the beach. Excellent sunset views.

Restaurants have nice menus. The Sea Porch Cafe served good food, but was either extremely crowded, or service was very slow. It looked like part of the restaurant was under construction so perhaps they are expanding this. Beachcomber is just the pool bar - nothing fancy. Uncle Andy's Ice Cream is very good. It's a locally made ice cream and lots of flavors available.

Lobby is spacious with a nice bar/lounge, but when you first enter the main check-in area there is an overwhelming scent of vanilla. Too much, and too heavy. A little sickening, in fact. Once you walk through to the lounge it dissipates somewhat.

One big disappointment was the lack of acknowledgement of my wife's birthday. We went for this occasion. I specifically mentioned it when I made the reservations. I called the day before we arrived to remind them and also told them she loves chocolate. They seemed as if they were taking this information down. Well, nothing was done. We travel a lot and often on birthdays/anniversaries. Hotels have given champagne, flowers, cake, and even just simple notes from the manager wishing us well. This hotel did nothing. their restaurants do serve cake - there was even a $3 cookie on the Beachcomber bar menu. How difficult would that have been? Even a note to welcome her for her birthday - that would cost them nothing. When we checked out my wife asked if they ever did anything for guest birthdays and the reception said 'sometimes,' so she mentioned they didn't do anything for hers and they said 'sorry.'

So, it's a very nice hotel, but don't expect them to make you feel special on a special occasion.

Room Tip: As for a FULL beach view - not obstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We spent a weekend at "The Don" and didn't find it to be everything it could be. There is a lot of staff, but they seem to be directionless. The best service was at the pool bar; even better than at the white tablecloth restaurant. A lot of little things added up to be far less than the high quality experience that we hoped.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TampaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Noisy describes it all!! Why the heck are they moving furniture around at 12:30a??? Seriously, I came hero for r&r!! The noise, in one form or another, continued throughout the night.
Beautiful hotel albeit small rooms/bathrooms (but I knew that coming in). Dingy halls and rooms need some updating. Awesome beach/sunset, Spa Oceana was nice too. However, the hotel experience was not worth the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeychellesDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
578 reviews
2.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
407 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach House Suites by The Don CeSar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,255 reviews
1.5 mi away
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
TradeWinds Island Grand Resort
#10 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
5,482 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Don CeSar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Don CeSar

Address: 3400 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-4015
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#3 Green Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#6 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $259 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Don CeSar 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as Florida's "Pink Palace," The Don CeSar, facing the white sands of the Gulf of Mexico, was built in 1928 to resemble a Mediterranean-style castle. Born in the Great Gatsby era as a playground for the rich and famous, the iconic "Pink Palace" has been revitalized and refreshed within, ensuring a future as rich and storied as its history. Enjoy newly redesigned 277 luxurious rooms including 36 suites, many with spectacular views of the pristine Gulf beaches or Boca Ciega Bay. Relax and indulge at Spa Oceana, featuring over 11,000 square feet of spa facilities, luxurious spa treatments, full service salon, and a stunning rooftop garden overlooking the azure waters of the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Otel, Prestigia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Don CeSar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Cesar Beach Hotel
Don Cesar Beach Resort
Don Cesar Hotel Florida
Don Cesar Florida
Hotel Don Cesar Beach
Don Cesar Resort
The Don CeSar St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing