We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised>>>”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised>>>”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2006

As usual read reviews and was concerned about this hotel being not so great. Pleasantly surprised. We wanted to stay in St. Petes as friends were in the area from out of town. We live 45 minutes away and decided to stay on the beach. We booked a standard room. Friends thought this was a very nice hotel too.
Rooms: Nice and colorful, no smell. Hairdryer, coffee maker, small fridge. Nice size room. Great water pressure in shower!
Bathrooms could be updated a little, but very clean.
Dining: Didn't eat at this hotel during our stay.
Bar(s): Beach bar-great pina coladas and service.
Pool/grounds: Nicely landscaped and well kept.
Hotel staff: Friendly and efficient.
Overall: Very nice hotel, right on the beach, plenty of water sports/rentals on beach. Nice hotel for the money compared to the outrageous rates some other beach front hotels charge. Much nicer then another hotel we stayed at 3 months ago on Treasure Beach. Plan to stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
11 Thank bestseller013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    338
    206
    98
    138
See reviews for
350
260
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

This hotel was our second week of a twin centre stay previously stayed in Orlando. We was welcomed by a surly faced man on reception, not a good start. The reception was nice loooking as was the bar and resturant areas.
The rooms smelt very musty that lasted the whole week, an empty beer can from the previous guests also stayed there too. The aircon systems came just before the ark and they were really noisy. The toliet overflowed. Sometimes the key card systems didn't work until the 7th attempt. The pool floor does need fixing as a part of it is missing. You could hear the toliets and showers from other guests being used. This hotel could do from being knocked down and starting again.
Great location on the beach though.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — don't go save your money
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2006

Just got back from 10 days at Dolphin Beach. Initially i was dissapointed with the "sea views"-I had the car park view!But that was the fault of my travel agent who failed to point out before booking.....package deals dont GET a balcony,sea view room! Never travel with Airtours!!! The elevator was the slowest in history and the corridors were a little grubby but was being"renovated"to be fair.The beds were very comfy and the rooms cleaned very well.The staff were very nice too.overall it was a lovely,safe comfortable stay and right on the beach you couldn't ask for more,well,..........apart from the dreaded red tide banished away for good.It was very sad seeing all those beautiful fish washed up dead.but that's mother nature for you! Go Bucs!

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — The elevator
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you upgrade to the sea view rooms for $20.00 per nite xtra
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank zampa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2006

The Bad: Room 132 despite being most expensive has a folddown bed, matress is shot to pieces. Air Con as previously mentioned deafening, musty smell, safe in room instead of reception would really help.

The Good: Door opened directly on to beach-so no fighting for sun loungers round pool, downstair carpets were being cleaned during our stay, car parking free, the 2 black girls and silver haired lady on reception real stars

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacma373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2006

We stayed in the Dolphin Beach for 2 nights in Aug 2006. We were totally amazed by the rooms and corridors. They were full of damp on the ceilings and the smell was very over powering. We had a room booked on the middle floor and we just could not stand the smell and asked to be moved. We got a room then located on the top floor, which was much better but due to most of the bedrooms not having a window there was still a slight smell to the top floor rooms too.
If you are gonna stay at the Dolphin Beach pay for the balcony rooms, they are much better. Rest of hotel fine, lovely pool area and bar. Staff we found very friendly and approachable, it was just the rooms and corridors that really let the hotel down. They are badly in need of upgrading, the carpets leading to the rooms were very dirty, you could see dirt patches and they had a smell with them. We feel it's a shame because with some money spent on the rooms and carpets this would have made a whole difference to our holiday, as we would have definately had to leave if we had to stay in the first room given to us.

  • Liked — everything fine except rooms and corridor areas, they were damp and smelt of mould. pool great and staff very helpful
  • Disliked — rooms in certain areas very bad. smelt of damp, but very strong too
  • Tips/Secrets — pay extra for a balcony these rooms will make the difference to your holiday
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank the eatons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2006

To all of the reviewers that think this hotel is wonderful , you must have been accomodated in a special wing of the hotel either that or you have a great sense of humour!!
This was the second week of our first holiday in the States, however we are experienced and realistic world travellers who expect a reasonable standard of accomodation.
Be warned, this hotel ( or should we say Motel ) is definitely not 3 star standard. It is smelly, it is shabby and it does have bugs ( mainly small to medium size cockroaches), we found several on our beds, in the drawers of the furniture and on the walls of our room during our stay. The smell is a mixture of a cheap air freshener and something rotten, you gradually get used to it but it's definitely followed us home in our luggage!
The hotel looks great on the outside as the owners seem to invest money on exterior paint rather than the interior refurbishment that is long overdue and that it urgently needs. The air conditioning sounds like a jet engine when it kicks in and the old fridge rattled away consistently so needless to say we had broken and restless sleep every night. ( We had also paid for an upgrade on arrival as our original room overlooked the rubbish bins in the carpark ! )
We did not use the restaurant but it looked clean and tidy and the menu plain & simple. A couple of the reception staff were very friendly and helpful but the other staff lacked professional customer service skills.The pool whilst clean could do with a pool attendant / life guard as there were various guests who constantly ignored safety and courtesy rules as there was dangerous horseplay and noisy late night swimming sessions. Prices at the beach bar were a bit of a 'rip off' and again the staff were unfriendly also the associated watersports and excursions were a third of the price dearer than elsewhere. Unfortunately towards the end of our stay our nine year old son gashed his foot on a broken shell on the beach but as an example of their poor standards all that was contained in the hotels first aid kit was a tube of burn cream, an unsterile tirangular bandage, latex gloves and some small plasters.
This hotel should be reclassified or removed from holiday brochures until complete refurbishment is carried out, at the moment even at half the price we wouldn't recommend anyone stay there .

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staying there
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stayed at 'DBR' in st pete bch from aug 2 thru aug 9 '06. Prior to our arrival I read several of the reviews of this hotel and I was very concerned about the accomadations. As soon as we entered our room our worries were gone. The room was very clean. The fridge and microwave were almost brand new. Yes, the carpet was very worn and had a musty odor. We reduced that issue with scented candles and air fresheners. The pool was usually clean and rarely crowded. The restraunt had tasty food at reasonable prices. The waitresses were very friendly. Most of the staff were very courteous and willing to help in any way they could. The only real problem we had was with the carpeting and the odors from the carpet. Overall though, our stay at 'DBR' was enjoyable and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an average, reasonable, place to stay on the beach.

  • Liked — the location....on the beach and close to shops and restraunts
  • Disliked — the carpeting needs to be replaced
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kyjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing