We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby, Smelly & Bugs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shabby, Smelly & Bugs!”
Reviewed August 25, 2006

To all of the reviewers that think this hotel is wonderful , you must have been accomodated in a special wing of the hotel either that or you have a great sense of humour!!
This was the second week of our first holiday in the States, however we are experienced and realistic world travellers who expect a reasonable standard of accomodation.
Be warned, this hotel ( or should we say Motel ) is definitely not 3 star standard. It is smelly, it is shabby and it does have bugs ( mainly small to medium size cockroaches), we found several on our beds, in the drawers of the furniture and on the walls of our room during our stay. The smell is a mixture of a cheap air freshener and something rotten, you gradually get used to it but it's definitely followed us home in our luggage!
The hotel looks great on the outside as the owners seem to invest money on exterior paint rather than the interior refurbishment that is long overdue and that it urgently needs. The air conditioning sounds like a jet engine when it kicks in and the old fridge rattled away consistently so needless to say we had broken and restless sleep every night. ( We had also paid for an upgrade on arrival as our original room overlooked the rubbish bins in the carpark ! )
We did not use the restaurant but it looked clean and tidy and the menu plain & simple. A couple of the reception staff were very friendly and helpful but the other staff lacked professional customer service skills.The pool whilst clean could do with a pool attendant / life guard as there were various guests who constantly ignored safety and courtesy rules as there was dangerous horseplay and noisy late night swimming sessions. Prices at the beach bar were a bit of a 'rip off' and again the staff were unfriendly also the associated watersports and excursions were a third of the price dearer than elsewhere. Unfortunately towards the end of our stay our nine year old son gashed his foot on a broken shell on the beach but as an example of their poor standards all that was contained in the hotels first aid kit was a tube of burn cream, an unsterile tirangular bandage, latex gloves and some small plasters.
This hotel should be reclassified or removed from holiday brochures until complete refurbishment is carried out, at the moment even at half the price we wouldn't recommend anyone stay there .

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staying there
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    341
    206
    99
    140
See reviews for
354
264
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2006

We stayed at 'DBR' in st pete bch from aug 2 thru aug 9 '06. Prior to our arrival I read several of the reviews of this hotel and I was very concerned about the accomadations. As soon as we entered our room our worries were gone. The room was very clean. The fridge and microwave were almost brand new. Yes, the carpet was very worn and had a musty odor. We reduced that issue with scented candles and air fresheners. The pool was usually clean and rarely crowded. The restraunt had tasty food at reasonable prices. The waitresses were very friendly. Most of the staff were very courteous and willing to help in any way they could. The only real problem we had was with the carpeting and the odors from the carpet. Overall though, our stay at 'DBR' was enjoyable and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an average, reasonable, place to stay on the beach.

  • Liked — the location....on the beach and close to shops and restraunts
  • Disliked — the carpeting needs to be replaced
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kyjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

I'm 15 years old and a 15 year old isn't going to lie to you about this. This is my honest review and I hope this helps your decision whether to choose this, or another hotel.

My parents and I travelled to Dolphin Beach Resort from July 9-16 2006 so this is a farely recent review.
I didn't expect much after reading the reviews and some of the reviews were dead on, while others couldn't be more wrong.

The first topic is bugs. I don't know what people were talking about but we didn't find one bug in that resort.
Second topic is cleanliness and this is where it gets bad. The countertops were dirty along with the appliances. Even some of the walls were dirty and had black marks on them. I could live with that....until I got into the bathroom. The bathtub was filthy and it took ages to drain. The showertap had pressure problems too. The floors were messy and the hallway was the worst. The stench of the hallway was unbearable but thankfully it didn't smell like mold in the room (although we had to spray some peach mist over the carpet).
The carpets need to be replaced as soon as possible because they weren't even the same colour as they used to be. They were old and soggy and have turned into a dark brown. The overall room is great but the bathroom and hallway need a major cleaning.
The location is fantastic. Right on the beach, next to restaurants, stores etc.
I like the shuffleboard/pool/bar area. It isn't dirty or anything like that.
As for the staff, they were helpful, polite and did anything to make your stay enjoyable.

Overall the resort was what I expected but I had a good time so that's what matters.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness/Smell
  • Tips/Secrets — Read my review
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Marcanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 10, 2006

Please be advised that this is not a resort. It is a room with double beds and an old tv set with poor reception. The carpeting in the hallways are filthy and the hotel is old. It needs a major overhaul. They do not even have enough parking for their guest. It was very disappointing. It is in a prime location so it is unfortunate that the owners do not invest and remodel the hotel it has great potential.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We stayed here last Nov/Dec and had an excellent time. We were a bit concerned after reading the reviews but pleasently surprised when we got there. The hotel is in ideal position - on the beach and supermarket over the road. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to help you and give good information on the resort. It is worth paying that bit more for a pool or beach view room. We were so impressed that we are going back this year for 3 weeks. The hotel is not five star but it doesn't claim to be! All in all it is an excellent hotel offering value for money with well above average service. Ignore the bad reviews - we are so glad we did!!!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 4, 2006

There must be a special room for moaners, we arrived after refusing to stay at our alloted hotel in clearwater which looked like it was being rebuilt!!! you can imagine how upset and agitated we were with 2 children to contend with just wanting to go for a swim. We walked into the reception area and were greeted by very helpful and friendly staff, who booked us into a beach front room immediatley.
This room was well equiped and perfectly clean with what looked like a new carpet. The bathroom was also well equiped with plenty of towels. The beds were very clean [and when we requested extra pillows they arrived within 5 mins].
We enjoyed enjoyed some goodnights by the pool at the tiki bar the barman was very friendly and always made the children feel welcome, he even mixed non alcoholic cocktails for them [without a moan].
There are plenty of restrants near-by if you fancy eating out and also plenty of shops and if you like fishing there is plenty of that to do [also live bait] and the locals dont mind advising you of the best places to try. Without a doubt we will be back next year, maybe you should try it yourself?

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 4, 2006

were do i start the room. we could not stay in the first room they offered it smelt and there was no balconey. so we had to pay to be upgraded it was not much better but the veiw was good. staff not over frendly and we did not fill that are belongings were safe. but that was ok because you could put your stuff into safe at the desks. how old? and worst of all we did not sleep. due to the fan cutting in it, was like a plane taking off. so if i was you stay else were.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing