We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6 day stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“6 day stay.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Being English, I don't think a pool shutting at 8:30 is a prob. Room size,very large compared to most Med. hotels. Beds comfy,pillows like rocks. 8/10. Pool lovely,no problems with loungers.8/10. Best beach location we have ever had 10/10. Reception adequate.7/10. BEWARE! your room has a fridge,micowave,and coffee maker,BUT!!!!! NO cutlery or crockery,except 2 cups. over all perfectly acceccptable,for my wife and I anyway. 8/10.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranger67london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    340
    206
    99
    140
See reviews for
353
264
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frenchburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel it was alittle old -- but the rooms were all you need . Very clean and nice !!The front staff was so friendly and helpful with anything we needed !!! Close to shops and stores right across the road !! Walk out the back door and a few steps in the sand and you right on the beach !!!! Took a 1 1/2 yr old and a 2 1/2 yr old and my husband and myself !!! We will for sure be back !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Let's be honest: apart from the exceptionnal setting on the beach, this so-called resort offers nothing more than a below average motel. Hopeless staff - we would still be waiting for someone to fix the AC had we not left - not too clean rooms, AC on the verge of breaking down.... And the NOISE. We nearly had the impression to sleep in other people's room (or in the lobby) so poor was the noise insulation! Not a place to be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
138 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having read many of the other reviews I was calibrated on many aspects of the hotel. I'll try to a avoid repeating much of what's been said, but rather make a few observations in areas that have drawn less commentary.

Unlike many other hotels in the area they don't surprise you with a "resort fee". They also have reasonable room service rates. Parking and WiFi are free so again no hidden up charges to the advertised room rate. While my room was a "no view" room, it actually had a view down the beach and in many hotels would have qualified as "beach view". The staff were fine and as were the AC, fridge, microwave, bedding, etc.

On the down side, be it the hotel's age or proximity to the beach my door (and I think other doors) didn't automatically close behind you and had to be pulled shut. The rooms also don't shut out all hall noise. Likewise the hall doesn't hut out all room noise, which during one wait for the elevator meant that we were entertained with some in room sounds of passion. More mundane was the fact that there aren't extra outlets around the nightstand or other good phone charging areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had reservation for 3 nights, but checked out after 1. The hotel was in good shape overall, but service was non existant. Not 1 employee greeted us or made eye contact, but had no problem talking to each other. Rooms were a very nice size, but ours was quite musty and the AC was very loud.
Biggest problem though was the pool closed at 8:30pm. I never heard of a "Family resort" ( that word is quite a stretch for this property) pool closing just past sunset!
My kids were very bored and upset. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have never been treated so horribly by the front desk/management at a hotel. I have never once written a hotel review but because of the way I was treated I am inclined to do so. The front desk manager is rude, incompetent, and unwilling to help out in any way. Don't expect any acceptable service at this hotel. I am certain this is not just isolated to just the issue I had. I stood in line at the front desk and witnessed many other guests aggravated during their check in as well. The hotel is also a dump. It is old, dated, and unclean. I found a cockroach in the bathroom. The stairway smells like urine. Outside of the entrance to the hotel it smells like trash. There are cigarette butts all over the parking lot by the front of the building. All of this shows they just don't care about their guests.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsd4261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
194 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

So this is the second time i have used this title, and I am beginning to think i have very low standards.

Or maybe i am just lucky.

Had fine wireless (much better than the Tradewinds, where i was participating in a meeting). No problems with slean sheets or towels, FRIGID AC (nice when it's 97F at noon, and 87F at 11PM) No parking hassles. Mini-fridge. Quiet, so it hit the trifecta of quiet, free wireless, and free parking.

Front desk staff looked like extras from Shaun of the Dead, but that's just me being mean- they were friendly an nobody got hurt, and with my non-rush hour needs, not a problem.

Good value, which is what i I always search for, and if I am down for this conference next year, I'm in.

They were only at about 50% capacity, so a great place for a last-minute stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrygrim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing