We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great front staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel it was alittle old -- but the rooms were all you need . Very clean and nice !!The front staff was so friendly and helpful with anything we needed !!! Close to shops and stores right across the road !! Walk out the back door and a few steps in the sand and you right on the beach !!!! Took a 1 1/2 yr old and a 2 1/2 yr old and my husband and myself !!! We will for sure be back !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

604 - 610 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Let's be honest: apart from the exceptionnal setting on the beach, this so-called resort offers nothing more than a below average motel. Hopeless staff - we would still be waiting for someone to fix the AC had we not left - not too clean rooms, AC on the verge of breaking down.... And the NOISE. We nearly had the impression to sleep in other people's room (or in the lobby) so poor was the noise insulation! Not a place to be recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Having read many of the other reviews I was calibrated on many aspects of the hotel. I'll try to a avoid repeating much of what's been said, but rather make a few observations in areas that have drawn less commentary.

Unlike many other hotels in the area they don't surprise you with a "resort fee". They also have reasonable room service rates. Parking and WiFi are free so again no hidden up charges to the advertised room rate. While my room was a "no view" room, it actually had a view down the beach and in many hotels would have qualified as "beach view". The staff were fine and as were the AC, fridge, microwave, bedding, etc.

On the down side, be it the hotel's age or proximity to the beach my door (and I think other doors) didn't automatically close behind you and had to be pulled shut. The rooms also don't shut out all hall noise. Likewise the hall doesn't hut out all room noise, which during one wait for the elevator meant that we were entertained with some in room sounds of passion. More mundane was the fact that there aren't extra outlets around the nightstand or other good phone charging areas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had reservation for 3 nights, but checked out after 1. The hotel was in good shape overall, but service was non existant. Not 1 employee greeted us or made eye contact, but had no problem talking to each other. Rooms were a very nice size, but ours was quite musty and the AC was very loud.
Biggest problem though was the pool closed at 8:30pm. I never heard of a "Family resort" ( that word is quite a stretch for this property) pool closing just past sunset!
My kids were very bored and upset. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I have never been treated so horribly by the front desk/management at a hotel. I have never once written a hotel review but because of the way I was treated I am inclined to do so. The front desk manager is rude, incompetent, and unwilling to help out in any way. Don't expect any acceptable service at this hotel. I am certain this is not just isolated to just the issue I had. I stood in line at the front desk and witnessed many other guests aggravated during their check in as well. The hotel is also a dump. It is old, dated, and unclean. I found a cockroach in the bathroom. The stairway smells like urine. Outside of the entrance to the hotel it smells like trash. There are cigarette butts all over the parking lot by the front of the building. All of this shows they just don't care about their guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsd4261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

So this is the second time i have used this title, and I am beginning to think i have very low standards.

Or maybe i am just lucky.

Had fine wireless (much better than the Tradewinds, where i was participating in a meeting). No problems with slean sheets or towels, FRIGID AC (nice when it's 97F at noon, and 87F at 11PM) No parking hassles. Mini-fridge. Quiet, so it hit the trifecta of quiet, free wireless, and free parking.

Front desk staff looked like extras from Shaun of the Dead, but that's just me being mean- they were friendly an nobody got hurt, and with my non-rush hour needs, not a problem.

Good value, which is what i I always search for, and if I am down for this conference next year, I'm in.

They were only at about 50% capacity, so a great place for a last-minute stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrygrim3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The room was adequate for the night. We went to the pool and found it closed at dusk. Very disappointing that in Florida, the pool is closed at dusk. I wouldn't return just because of this. Pillows were very thin. We paid an extra $16 for a roll-a-way and it was delivered without sheets and pillows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singwithmeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
580 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $106 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing