We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable quiet time spent on St Pete Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable quiet time spent on St Pete Beach”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My room overlooked an active walking/sunbathing beach on the gulf. The room was on the 3rd floor, quiet, updated, big screen flat tv, and comfortable beds. The staff was polite and pleasant. It was easy to locate on the strip with sufficient parking and access to local restaurants and grocery store.

Room Tip: Get an upper level room to eliminate the possibility of a mold problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wanderingjo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    346
    209
    100
    143
See reviews for
362
268
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I live in Florida and I have been to a bunch of hotels on the gulf and the Dolphin is where I go to vacation all the time now in St. Pete Beach area. I always get a beach-view room and I prefer the North side of the hotel, 2nd or 3rd floor. However, next time I am going to try a ground floor on the South side near the pool. They always let me check in hours early but the electronic key locked me out of my room at 10:45. Carpets are new and everything is colorful and beachy. I don't know if they take pets, but I heard a small dog barking in another room and saw the dog on the beach. The first room we had the heat wasn't working so we had to repack at night to change rooms. Went right next door and it wasn't a problem. Info- IHOP is across the street, Chick-fil-a, Publix, a trolley out front, all the conveniences of home. Also we always go to the Hurricane Restaurant down the way. Lots of places and things to do here if you know about it.

Room Tip: Beachfront, either walk straight out on 1st floor or 2nd floor. Pool/gulf view ask for a patio or y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kimham11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, West Sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

After visiting this hotel in June we decided to go back for a couple of weeks in November. The staff were equally as nice as before including those in the restaurant who all know us by our first names now.
The lobby and ground floor have been painted and re-carpeted as was our room on the third floor. We were there for Thanksgiving and had a really lovely 3 course dinner in the hotel for less than $15. Very popular that day.
It was very quiet whilst we were there and the sea was a bit cold but the pool thankfully, was heated.
Will definitely go back at some point.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have balconies and you will need to pay extra if that is what you want. Worth it in my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geordiegirl414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Dolphin Beach Resort just a few days before Christmas. Although we live in Pinellas County and visit the beaches all the time, it's nice to plan a getaway close to home. The front desk staff was extremely cordial and welcoming when we checked in. Our room had a delightful balcony with a view of the pool and the beach beyond. Gorgeous view! The colors of the room decor first reminded me of a clown college but after the initial shock, it was a cheerful room. We had breakfast in the hotel dining room each day of our visit and enjoyed every bite. Again, every member of the staff was smiling, pleasant and helpful. As other reviewers have mentioned, you can't beat the location. Close to shopping and if you are interested in sightseeing just ask at the front desk. Museums galore in St Petersburg. There is a great variety of restaurants in walking distance. Don't miss the sunsets!

Room Tip: The Dolphin Beach Resort has rooms directly facing the Gulf of Mexico!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JinnieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We (bunch of friends) met at this hotel for a weekend getaway!! The hotel is older but right on the beach and right across the street there are restaurants and a supermarket ! It has a pool, dinning area, bar inside and outside by the pool. We had a beach room, loved opening the doors and hearing the ocean! Has older beach decor with new carpet and clean. It came with fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The bathroom (shower/toilet) is separate from the sink, which makes it really nice to get ready.

We had lunch there (burgers) and it was pretty good. Heard other people say the breakfast was good too.

For the price, location and access to various locations, we really liked this place.

Room Tip: We had a floor ocean room on the right side (when facing the beach).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smile2az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel because of its location. The hotel is right on the beach, accessible via the pool. It is so right across the road from a supermarket and a few restaurants which is good.
Our room was big enough, although the decor was a bit tired. There was a fridge, microwave, coffee maker etc.
The room constantly smelt like the beach, seaweed like which was unpleasant. I realise it is a beach side hotel but the common areas did not smell the same, and our room was not beach side.
The hotel had a bar and restaurant but we did not use it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K8brooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I just stayed at the Dolphin Resort for the first time last week and I loved it. My room was clean and spacious, great view of the beach. The staff was great, the pool awesome. Outside bar. Great location, there are shops across the street that had everything I had forgot to bring. Lots of great dining within walking distance. The beach front had water bike rentals, sunset sailboat tours across the street.

I will definitely be staying at the Dolphin Resort again next year for my vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chriswillfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing