We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Unless you get the very best rooms overlooking the beach I really didn't see a whole lot about this hotel that was worth talking about. The rooms were dated and basic, nothing cosy about them at all. The breakfast was horrendous and the breakfast room stark and cold.
Other that a location on the beach I'm afraid I have nothing really nice to say about this property..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HelgaBlackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    351
    211
    101
    145
See reviews for
368
271
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

There was no warm welcome at this hotel. This is the slow season and you would think that the hotel would be greateful we were there. I mentioned that I was a Sr. Contributor to Trip Advisor and front desk said to prove it with a business card with my name on it!
First room, someone used the rest room after it was cleansed so we had to switch. Second room, very clean but the entire hotel needs huge revamp. Gardens and pool area is just beautiful. No beach chairs are provided to bring your own.
We upgraded the next day to poolside but it was so noisy due to the bar crowd standing below our balcony smoking and drinking.
Location is great. Close to everything.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trueheartreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Me and my family have been coming to this hotel on and off for 15 years! We stumbled upon it whilst on a fly drive and ended up spending the last days of our trip here. Ever since then we have been back most years and although we have tried a few of the other hotels on the beach non of them compare to the dolphin beach!

The rooms are large and have plenty of hanging space for clothes. There is a fridge a microwave and coffee making facilities. The rooms are cleaned everyday, you can request when you want your bedding changed and there are always fresh towels. There are two double beds which are very comfy!

The beach bar, is my favourite place of the hotel especially after a day around the pool or on the beach. Sitting at a table with the cocktail of the day watching the sun go down is an unforgettable experience and wouldn't be the same in any other place.

The food is of excellent standard whether is be at the beach bar, in the hotel restaurant or at the bar. Coconut shrimp is delicious!!! There is plenty to choose from, something for everyone.

The pool is a very good size with plenty of sun loungers. The sun rises from the front of the hotel so the sun is on the pool pretty much all day. Take a walk on the beach in the morning, meet the locals that walk the beach every morning and keep an eye out for the dolphins!

The staff are absolutely what makes this hotel! Always very friendly and nothing is ever too much trouble. Madonna is a legend and can make any cocktail you want. Such a lovely lady. Along with all the staff that work behind the bars Ken and Matt are lovely guys!! Mike sings at the beach bar which just completes the amazing setting and then has karaoke on a Saturday night in the hotel bar.

Honestly I could go on and on about how amazing this place is but I'm sure you will all see for yourselves! I'm going back in April and can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Princess_sjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

As we drove along Gulf Blvd we noticed the blot on the landscape that was this hotel. Pale peach in colour an eyesore. The check in process wasn't a great experience, the front desk staff are badly motivated and didn't seem interested in giving a welcome or any information about the hotel.The first room we were given was dingy and smelled of damp. We paid for an upgrade to a gulf view room. The rooms are in desperate need of a remodel, as are the corridor areas. The only good thing is the location, and it has to be admitted the pool area and gardens are really nice. We were here for a total relax and were happy to stay around the hotel, using the restaurant for breakfast and lunches, also the beach bar for happy hour and sundowners. The service was so bad and frustrating. The staff were at best unheplful, slow with no flexibility. We tried on four separate occassions to get served at the terrace grill, everytime we had to go in and ask for menus and drinks to be told yeh we were coming !!!! The only time they were pleasant was when the tip was being handed over. The hotel lost a lot of money as we were so fed up with the attitude we went elsewhere to spend our hard earned cash. The housekeeping staf were a really nice bunch of people really friendly, they teach their front of house colleagues how service should be delivered. We know it's only a three star hotel, but five star service costs nothing.

Room Tip: Get a Gulf view room the extra money is worth it.All the rooms really need a remodel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

Vegas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed the weekend of Easter so our room was a bit expensive. We had a Deluxe beach front room, upper floor. The hotel itself is much older but I was more than comfortable. The room was standard with 2 queen beds with a balcony. The view! The view! The view! Overlooked a beautiful white sand beach.
The room had a microwave and extremely small bathroom. The beds were comfortable. The pool area was nice. There is a bar/lounge area with music. We had hamburgers and drinks at the bar. Which was pretty good. We ate in the restaurant for dinner once, it was pretty good.
We didnt seem to run into any spring breakers. It seemed to be a lot of families and a good crowd.
There is a Publix across the street as well as a bunch of shops and restaurants.
I would stay here again but not during a holiday (price was too high). I would recommend this place especially for the ocean view rooms.

Room Tip: Dont stay during a holiday. Its overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keleye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here from 21st September to the 5th October. It was very clean & modern. The waitresses were more than freindly ,I felt as though I was leaving friends behind at the end of our holiday.
The pool was cleaned every day. The chambre maids were great at there job but not very friendy. But woyld recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeverlyBell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I read these reviews and sometimes I wonder about folks' expectations. When you pay for a hot dog, you don't complain that it wasn't prime rib. We stayed here and I must say we had a great time. I loved not having to worry about tracking a little sand in the room - it's vacation! We ate at the restaurant and the staff was extremely friendly. Love the beach. Great place to find shells! We paid the extra to get a beachfront room and I would definitely stay here again. Very convenient to grocery store and Chik-fil-a is right across the street. If you are looking for "value" and not "fancy" then this is your place. If you want fancy go somewhere else and pay twice as much.

Room Tip: Paid extra for beachfront room. We felt it was worth the added cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gitrdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing