We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Hotel, terrible staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dolphin Beach Resort
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine Hotel, terrible staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2011

We are staying here right now. We've been here since Wednesday and the hotel is clean, the rooms are big, and the beach is beautiful. The pool is nice if a little small for a resort hotel.

However, the staff is ridiculous! The front desk staff is entirely rude. They got snarky when we asked them to please send someone to clean the room (which never got done at 3:00 PM) and then, when we called again because no one came, they said they were "sure they were very busy" and we were "welcome to come get towels ourselves." Finally, I found the maid in the hallway who, upon being asked for towels, rolled her eyes and balked at me as if I had asked something appalling.

For the cost of the hotel, they need an attitude adjustment. Beyond the staff, the hotel was a great place to stay for a quick spring break trip with the little ones.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nataboo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    338
    206
    98
    138
See reviews for
350
260
23
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

We had a spacious room overlooking the courtyard. We had a balcony from which we could see the pool and the beach. Our room was quiet, we hardly ever heard any noise from our neighbours. The walls & doors are solid. We enjoyed the large pool which was kept at about 85F. The staff at the front desk and in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. We made good use of the mini-fridge, the microwave and the coffee-maker in our room. The resort is in an ideal location: on the one side there is the beautiful beach and on the other a small shopping center with a major food-store, pharmacy, butique stores and restaurants (we liked Tiparo's Thai restaurant the most). There are at least half-a-dozen other eateries in easy walking distance. Public transportation is available, though we didn't make use of it. The place is ideal for a relaxing holiday. We hope we can return next winter.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank professor30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

We did not book directly through the website, and apparently there is a 1 parking pass maximum we were not informed of until check in. They would not give us an extra pass even though the parking lot was 1/2 full the entire weekend. When I asked where we could park the second car their response was, "I don't know". Luckily there was a beach access pay lot next door, but we had to keep running over to the car every 12hours to pay.
When I booked the room, they charged the entire stay instead of just the first night, then went back and removed the one night charge. When we tried to check out there was a problem with the credit cards and the women at the front desk tried to manually enter two different cards, but those did not go through. After calling my bank, they said that she didn't even enter them, so I think they could use some training on manually entering card payments.
Nice hotel/location, however, needs work on customer service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank 27florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Pete Beach hotels

Wilton, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

This is a comfortable, casual hotel. We go here every year in February. The pool is always heated. It's right on the beach. Rooms have frig, micro wave and coffee maker. Grocery store and shops across the street. We eat breakfast in our room and save some $. Bathrooms and kitchen areas recently redone with granite. Pool bar is fun especially when live music is there. You can order lunch outside--burgers, grilled cheese, etc. Frozen drinks are good -- banana and strawberry. Casual dining room and bar. The crowd always varies from young to old. Karaoke on weekends. Prices are reasonable. It's not a four star hotel and they know that but if you're looking for a nice, clean place without breaking the bank, I highly recommend this. If you want to spend a lot of $ go to the Don Cesar.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StPeteVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

We have stayed here 3 times with 2 active teenage daughters. The pool area is very nice with palm trees for shade and a nice pool bar. The beach is clean and the rooms were average. The price was right for what you get. Recommend the Waffle House nearby for a cheap breakfast with tasty bacon (cheaper than I-Hop) and Conch Republic Grill at Redington Beach for tasty and large steaks. Smuggler's Cove Mini-golf at Madiera Beach (beautiful setup and can feed baby alligators for about $3.00/bate bag.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennaandparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed in a deluxe beachfront room on New Year's Eve. Spacious and well worth it. Lovely view. Couldn't hear the pool/bar from our room at all. Service staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. They are actively making improvements, painting and adding internet access. Gulf Blvd. is an unattractive, congested strip, but not visible from our room, and the full-service grocery store across the street was very nice. Bathtub could have used a good scrubbing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopScientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

The staff at the front desk was friendly and as helpful as they could be and the room was spacious and clean. But the elevator had problems during our whole 4 nights stay, on on the day we left, it wasn't working at all, so we had to walk down the stairs, which is difficult for both of us.
The restaurant food and service left a lot to be desired.... food not served as described, soup too salty to even eat.
There was broken concrete around the tables where we met with friends and the birds gathered under the thatch umbrellas and pooped on us and the table where our food and drinks were.
On the last night, our sleep was interuptted by the fire alarm and even after calling the lobby twice, we were left hanging in limbo for hours with no 'all clear' given.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Resort Hotel - ST. Pete Beach FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Beach Resort

Property: Dolphin Beach Resort
Address: 4900 Gulf Blvd., St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-2480
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dolphin Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Saint Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort Saint Pete Beach
Dolphin Beach Resort Florida
Dolphin Beach Hotel St Pete
Dolphin Beach Resort St. Pete Beach, Florida
St Pete Beach Dolphin Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing