We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Beach Resort At All”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not A Beach Resort At All”
Reviewed April 5, 2007

We just returned today from staying at the Alden Beach Resort for 4 nights, 4/2-4/6 after a long weekend at Disney World. We are a family of 5, two parents and 3 little ones (6. 3 1/2, and 2). Upon arrival at the Alden, a man was in the lobby complaining to the clerk about everything, I thought to myself, this guy must be hard to please....well upon walking into our Gulf Front Lanai Room ($319/nt) I understood his complaints, the rooms are very cramped for a 1 BR suite, the beds were very uncomfortable, and the room needed a face lift, its very outdated and sleazy looking. We tried to move to another resort immediately but everything was sold out due to it being Spring Break. Kudos to the housekeeping staff, they kept the rooms very clean despite their old and nasty style. The grounds were not maintained well at all, no cleaning of walkways where cigarette butts and sand were all over, the pool near the beach had a black slimy film on the white tiles, the playground was dirty, unkept and had cigarette butts all over in the sand. The cement fence like areas leading to the beach had holes in them and tiles were missing, the grass was bare missing in many spots, unkept. No one came through the entire time and straightened up the chairs that partiers used the night before, beer cans were all over the grass areas. There are no amenities that would warrant this place being called a resort. No staff on hand to help with bags, valet park, or activities for the kids. There are no restaurants on site at all. The Cabana Bar makes really weak , really bad drinks and the hours (peak spring break) were from noon-10pm. No food is served. The people who were staying here seemed to come in packs, and they were loud, and very hillbilly like, cursing, I even heard one guy make serious sexual jokes to a teenager, completely inappropriate. The noise from the beachfront and pool area was so loud until after midnight daily. These were not teenagers, these were grown adults and their families. We did walk next door (2 down) to the Island Grand Tradewinds resort for lunch one day, very nice place, lots of dining options, activities for the kids, staff everywhere. A much nicer place, The Don CeSar looked nice, the Sirata also looked nice on St. Pete Beach, bottom line the Alden is a dump. I would never stay there again, even if it were free. My suggestion, look elsewhere, there was a Sheraton Resort on Clearwater Beach that looked decent too. Too many options than to stay here.

  • Liked — That I got to leave!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fortwaynetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    594
    188
    80
    70
See reviews for
682
458
35
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa/St. Pete Beach
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2007

We stayed at the Alden from March 25 thru March 31, 2007. The rooms are suites - with a kitchenette and a beautiful view of the Gulf and the beach. We had a balcony that was very tiny and could not sit out on it and we did not like that but overall I would say our stay was great. There is an area with BBQ grills and we grilled burgers one night. The whirlpool was in the same area. The pool is not huge but a nice size and enjoyed spending time by it after the beach. St. Pete Beach is a wonderful place to stay and we would return in a minute.

  • Liked — Suite with view of the beach and the Gulf
  • Disliked — The balcony size we had was barely big enough to stand on much less sit on
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank copms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Mo
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Stayed there 3/24-3/31.
Great location on the beach!
Parking is good, very secure!
No restaurant on site, but plenty of great places within walking distance.
Our favorite place was the Undertow, which is south of the hotel on Gulf Blvd. Best Grilled tuna ever! Huge sandwich for only $6.99. It is just a beach bar with waitresses in skimpy outfits, but the beers are cold and the food is wonderful. Probably not for the kids after about 8 PM or on Saturday afternoons during the Volleyball Leagues.(quite a spectacle!)

Lots to do for kids of all ages!
Playground, Basketball court, Tennis Courts, shuffle board, and Volleyball.

The place is a little dated, but kept clean.
Rooms are adequate, but even the largest rooms are very narrow. Staff was outstanding! There was always someone walking around, picking up trash, greeting guests, etc.
Nice patio with 3 gas BBQ grills and plenty of tables and benches. Pools were clean and chlorine level was perfect!

The beach there is outstanding!
Go to Publix (grocery store) and buy the little reclining beach chairs for $10 a piece. Or for $18/day, you can rent the double lounger cabanas.
The rental guy usually goes home about 5 PM, so you can just wait and use them for free.

Cabana bar is nice! Definitely try the Peach-Rasberry Daquiri.

As was previously mentioned, buy some paper plates, paper towels and Plastic cups for the room. Also, buy a couple packages of those cheap plastic hangers at Publix if you bring a lot of hanging clothes. Nice big closet.

Bathroom was adequate, always had hot water. Having the sink and vanity in the hallway was actually a good idea, but a little butt-bumping when someone came through to bedroom.
Beds and Pillows were good. Maid service was good, good bath towels and beach towels provided.

I booked thru Expedia, (air, hotel and car) and that was defintely the best deal by about $300.
The Alden is definitely not the cheapest, and not the most luxurious place around, but we found it very comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gitnby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2007

I really liked this hotel, and being there just before the crush of spring break, we got a decent rate. We stayed in the Nassau wing and our room was very nice. It was clean, beds comfortable, separate living area, even a balcony. Even tho the room didn't face the gulf, you could still see the beach. Beach access was easy. The only drawback was there was no restaurant on site, although there are tons on the strip, and the bar was small and not well staffed. Just slow service, but friendly. I would stay again. Just don't eat at the Waffle House down the road, very nasty.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no restaurant on site
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatirishgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2007

This is a great family run property. Not to big. Felt comfortable letting the kids have a bit of freedom. Right on the ocean. Nice pool and hot tubs, great tennis courts, cute beach bar. The BBQ were great, we used them a couple of nights. The only thing rooms are well used and could use a bit of TLC. We will be back

  • Liked — ocean view
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mainprize97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevery, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2007

We have just returned from a seven day stay at the Alden-Christmas day to New Year and we could not be happier! Stayed in a Nasau suite and everything was as advertised or better...Beach-tennis-surf-jogging-shelling-shopping at your door and an ave. daily temp of 80 degrees. Had one blocked toilet and five minutes after a call to the front desk it was fixed. Pools and grounds were clean and well maintained. The little kitchen was so good we didn't eat out all week. Publix is a short ten minute walk down the beach...great prices...we picked up a cook book at Borders for a buck and had a great time trying out a new recipe each evening...We hope to return and if we do here are a few things we would take to make our stay even better...measuring cups, spices, and other cooking stuff,radio-c.d. player,tennis shoes...Our lap top with wireless link came in really handy as we used it for the odd DVD and internet...you can pay and get a solid connection for ten bucks a day but we got an okay wireless conection from the hotel next door and didn't cost a cent. We have two older teens, and they had a great time-enough space that we are still all talking and even planning for next year.

  • Liked — Location-space-atmosphere
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring some kind of music system
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Philcan420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

This is the 3rd Fourth of July that we've spent at the Alden. Definitely not the Ritz, but terrific for teens. It's an old Florida Motel at its finest. We traveled with 6 teenagers/adults ages 15, 17, & 20. We stayed in one AB suite = 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 living rooms, 1 kitchenette, & 1 full kitchen. Basketball court, tennis court, beach volley ball, two pools, two hot tubs, hot grills w/picnic tables, and a gorgeous beach - what more could kids this age want? The hotel is minimal, but clean, staff pleasant and helpful, and when we had an issue with a credit card, they accommodated us until we could get it cleared up the next morning. Public transportation is right outside the lobby door and it travels all the way to John’s Pass for shopping and food or farther down to Clearwater beach. Their are plenty of restaurants and small souvenir shops within walking distance for the kids to explore and extra excursions can be booked right on the beach. We reserved a cabana for the week, which is perfect as the "meeting place" when you're trying to keep track of six young people. The only down side is the market is too far to walk back from with groceries in tow – you’ll either need a car or taxi to help with this chore. This is a lovely, laid back resort that is absolutely fantastic to watch sunsets from, but watch out on the night of the Fourth for the “rocket’s red glare, the bombs bursting in air” is true and it’s crazy, but the teens love it!

  • Liked — Convenience to everything - beach, shopping, excursions, theme park, sports, public transportation. etc...
  • Disliked — Rooms are older - no luxery - more family oriented
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't expect a luxery resort, but plan for simple fun in the sun, you shouldn't be in your room for any length of time anyway other than to eat and sleep.
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alden-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
978 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Property: Alden Suites
Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing