We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL HOLIDAY AT THE ALDEN”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2006

We have just returned from a really relaxing holiday at the Alden Hotel. We had a Cayman suite which was on the 5th floor overlooking the gulf which had such a great view. We would sit on our balcony and have breakfast every morning and our glass of wine in the evening. The suite was nicely decorated and nice and roomy with a kitchenette and everything you would need for any cooking you might want to do. We ate our main meal out everyday as there are some very good value restaurants nearby including the Village
inn, IHOP for the best steak, Gigi italian, and we would drive up to route 19 and go to the buffet at the Ponderosa or 49th Street north to Kings buffet (both only about $10). The beach at the Alden is glorious - cabanas available and never crowded. Just a stroll out of the hotel and relax. The staff at the hotel were very helpful with directions etc and the room was cleaned every day albeit at different times.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JAN53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,544 - 1,550 of 1,703 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Pittsburgh
13
Reviewed July 1, 2006

After just returning from our stay at the Alden, I felt compelled to write a review. Me, my husband and our two daughters (16 & 13 years old) had a very enjoyable stay at the Alden. The resort was beautiful, clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a Cayman suite with a great view of the gulf. The room had a kitchen which was great. It saved us a lot of money since we could have meals in the room instead of eating out everyday. The beach was clean and beautiful. The Alden is very family oriented, as they have a volleyball net, tennis courts, shuffle board, playground for little ones, outdoor grills, swimming pools, hot tubs, and a Cabana bar on the beach for the adults. This was truly the best vacation ever, and we will be returning next year for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, MN
13
Reviewed June 28, 2006

We recently returned from a 4-night stay at the Alden and we loved this resort! We have three young children, ages 6, 5, and 3, and we all had a great time. We stayed in the Nassau suites overlooking the pool area, and our room was very clean and well maintained each day. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The kids loved the pool and spa, which were very clean, and it was great to have a playground next to the cabana so the kids could play nearby or sip smoothies with us while we enjoyed a colada and conversation. On the first day, we had a problem with our shower not draining, and when we called the front desk, they sent someone to fix it right away. There are fantastic restaurants all along that stretch of road - one of our favorites was Crabby Bills. We also enjoyed Fort de Soto park and the Florida Aquarium in Tampa. If you go to the Aquarium with kids, make sure they wear a swimsuit because the outdoor water park was awesome!
Overall, the Alden was a wonderful place to stay with kids. It's a perfect blend of a good price and great quality. We were happy just to stay at the resort all day and enjoy the pool, cabana/playground, and the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2006

This resort offers a beautiful view of the Gulf. I recommend a Gulf front room (it's worth the extra money). One tip I can offer is, ask for a room AWAY from the elevator. It is a noisy elevator and will keep you up at night. The rooms are a bit dated, but our room was clean. The cabana bar out on the beach was FABULOUS it had GREAT frozen drinks, but it only stays open until 9pm. The beach was FULL of seashells and if you watch closely you might see dolphins swimming with you (we did :) This resort will give you a wonderful & relaxing vacation. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank I_booked_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2006

My husband and I stayed here with our two children ages 5& 2 and it was the best vacation place for the family. The rooms were clean. The hotel staff was very friendly. It was quiet during the evening. I would recommend a gulf view. The outdoor grilling area was well and a nice feature to have. We will stay again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank snowforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2006

I found the Alden a pleasant and well maintained resort. The buildings were aged yet were in very good condition, [some of the outdoor hallways were not too pleasing though]. The pools were very clean and the playground and bar area were well maintained. We had a Lanai suite in building 2 with full Gulf view. The beach was fantastic and our hotel room [333] had a great view with a nice balcony. The room was a little small, however there was enough room for our family of four [2 young children]. The kitchenette had a small fridge and stove. There was a complimentary area for barbecuing, and it was well used and well maintained. There was a full laundry room. It was a bit noisy at night [the halls are open to the pool area] until the pool closed, but only an inconvenience for a couple of hours. [we put our kids to bed early] We had breakfast at Skidders and The Village Inn [a lot like a Denny's], and a great steak dinner at Leatherbacks [at Madiera beach - mile marker 10].

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank survayman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2006

I do not understand the high ranking. Is it only about the location? I have to agree the location is fantastic.
When we arrived the reception hall made a very good impression and first we were so happy to have booked this accomodation but the shock hit us when getting to our room. We booked a top floor gulf front view suite which we got. The view was amazing. Other than that the carpets had staines the sink was full of toothpaste, the bed looked as if someone just got out of it. Everything looked dated and the furnisher looked out and dirty. So we decided to check out and give our comlpaint to tho receptionist. He was very nice and sweet and was genuiely shocked. There was no problem cancelleling our room. The hotel rates are very good but our experience was not.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank peronei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $143 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing