We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accomodating!!”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2009

I loved this hotel. We stayed there in April for spring break (only an hour from where we live) but we wanted to check out a hotel on the beach. The staff was very friendly & our room was wonderful. So, when I received an email a short time later with a deal for returning guests, I couldn't pass it up. I planned my daughter's surprise 16th birthday party at that hotel on the beach. When we arrived at 10, they let us register early & one room was already ready for us. So we unloaded all our tables, cabanas, etc on the beach & brought our things to our room. We had over 40 people meet us on the beach & they were able to supply us with onsite parking. Every single guest got a pass to park either on the premise or next door, which was a great help because most people drove either an hour or two to attend her party. OH, and a few of my daughter's friends forgot toothpaste, conditioner, etc... but the front office helped them right out with that.

I also asked for 2 rooms downstairs and next to each other. They accomodated me as well, even though when I made the arrangements, they said they might not be able to. Wonderful hotel - will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richie081085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,594)
There are newer reviews for Alden Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,351 - 1,357 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2009

I found the Alden to be a nice place for the price, however it's no hilton but to be that close to the beach with a suite for the lower price was nice

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bashley00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed at the Alden for a week in June. Great place right on the beach, our kids, 13, 11 and 8 had a great time. Pools were nice, grounds were well kept and the beach was awesome! We had a beach view on the 5th floor and it was perfect in terms of the view. The Alden is not as fancy looking or updated on the outside as others close by but it was all needed and the cleaning staff did a nice job of cleaning up each day and making sure we had what we needed. Close to stores - walgreens, publix, 7-11, etc. and plenty of casual dining for families. While there we visited Johns Pass for Bubba Gump, took in a Rays game (20 min drive) with my son and we also squeezed in Busch Gardens (50 min. drive).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jam549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

We've stayed at the Alden 3 times over the last 5 years - overall- perfect for a nice, inexpensive (if you go through Expedia or similar site), relaxing family vacation. It's quiet, family-oriented, great location- right on beach, right by good shopping, way close to St. Pete and Tampa if you want a day away from beach stuff, see museums, etc. Alot of built-in fun-the pools/hot tubs/ tennis courts/shuffle board/ ping pong/basketball/grill area/ kiddie playground are nice- you never have to leave the resort to have quality family-time- and the beach is right there, too!
Suites w/nice kitchens, affordable laundry area save alot of $ for a family. Very clean and functional.
But- not the fanciest place- TVs need updating, beds and furniture acceptable but clearly mid-grade hotel stuff; in-room video games still Nintendo 64!- Fitness Room sadly outdated, really a wreck- we were told last stay they were updating.
No room service- but fine with us, since there is kitchen and you can get pizza delivery; The beach bar is great location, but drinks are overpriced and weak- you're better off hitting one of the nearby liquor stores, putting your kitchen to use, and sitting in the bar area or on the nice lawn right on the beach- great for sunsets!- with your own cocktails.
Totally family w/little kids scene- not a party place- drunken loud idiots would not be welcome!!! Couples would be OK, too, if they don't mind sharing hot tubs with moms, dads, and kiddies.
Overall- great place for families on a budget!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serenetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

We have traveled to the Alden Beach Resort for three years, and love the location, the pools, and the Gulf beach. This resort offers a full kitchen in the suite, so we were not dependent on finding a restaurant for every meal. The staff are very helpful and familiar with the area, so even though we arrived at midnight, the staff member offered an exceptional family restaurant, Mike and Vito's, that was open until 3 am. In addition, there are a large amount of shopping options available within a short drive, and a multitude of attractions, which include, but are not limited to; fine art museums, baseball stadiums, bargain shopping, fine dining, science museums, zoos, a jungle garden, the sunken gardens, aquariums, multicultural retailers, and theaters. The All Wine retailer sold a large variety of exceptional wines, and was located within 10 minutes from the Alden Beach Resort.

Although the fitness center is not in the best condition (per my husband-a gym fanatic) there are tons of outside exercise options available.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serenetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed in the Nassau suite at the Alden, though not one of the renovated ones. Good value for a beachside hotel. Plenty of room, you enter the bedroom first, two queen beds, very comfy. The large living room included a - very useful - double sofa bed, kitchen area with a dishwasher, very large fridge-freezer that made its own ice! and an oven - don't use the oven itself if you don't like a room full of smoke! Very old electric oven with an electric element at the bottom, very definitely out of the seventies! Microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board and hairdryer all provided. When will the USA look at improving their plugs and sockets? The 2 prong plug hangs precariously out of the socket. Huge patio doors leading from the living room onto the patio - 2 plastic chairs and a tiny table - very poor, where is the bistro table Alden? The accomodation also had 2 tv's, one in the living room (with very poor reception) and one in the bedroom, a flat screen with good reception. The hotel charges for internet. Crazy when you can get it free in many places very close by! Pool/beach towels are provided so no need to pack your beach towels! Great when the luggage limit is so mean. The bathroom doesn't have a sink or a mirror but is of good size housing the bath with overhead shower, and the loo. Towel rack stuffed with plenty of towels. The sink area is outside the bathroom. Huge wardobes, mirrored sliding doors (still doesn't compensate for the lack of a full length mirror in the bathroom, there is room for one Alden!) and loads of coat hangers. A safe with a key is in the wardrobe and no cost for that and we had interconnecting rooms, great. Key (your room key) operated covered free car park - if you can grab a space! Not much of a problem except at weekends when it gets busy. Inconsiderate people will walk past your bedroom window in the early hours, chatting away and letting the kids run up and down in a stampede style. If this sounds like you, have a bit of consideration please.
The beach is clean, beautiful and the Gulf is warm and inviting. Buy your own beach umbrella, the cabanas on the beach are far too expensive.For those of you who liked Bennigans on Dolphin shopping precinct- it's closed down! I loved that place. Skidders is over the road, watch out for their gratuity added to the bill. I hate being told what I should tip. The resort now charges 'gratuities' on your bill so watch out! New this year. Minimum 15% and rises to 20% in some eateries. This is not a charge you have to pay if you feel the service you have received is below par - which it often is. Booked in the family of 9 at Sam Seltzers Steak House for 7pm. Only got seated at 7.25pm and the service was dismal. Still can't believe I paid the 20% 'gratuity' that was imposed on my bill! The hotel accomodation is very good in the Nassau. Get the 6th floor for the best of views. The heated spa pool is far too hot to get in so remains empty a lot of the time! 2 other nice pools though. The reception staff are, on the whole, pleasant. Chuck though is the exception - he is so eager to help, give that man a raise! Beware of Matt, he is sour and has no customer service skills whatsoever. On the whole, love St Pete Beach, quiet resort that closes about 10pm - honest! There are a couple of bars that stay open till about 1.30. Stay away from Sports Bar, very expensive! Use the bars on the opposite side to the beach. Wallmart is cheaper than Publix store just down the Blvd but is a bit of a drive away, but the chicken tenders in Publix at the Deli counter are gorgeous! Ask at Alden reception and they will give you directions, both written and a map.We took Tom-Tom sat nav with us this year and it was well worth it. Pay a visit to Lowry Park Zoo in Tampa. We were a group of 6 and got a 'summer pass' for $109 which allowed zoo entry and free rides (except the camel and pony rides). The zoo is great, white tigers and sloth bears and animals I didn't know existed. The rides are quite good and there is a 'sea world' in caves that have huge viewing windows - manattees, turtles and other fish. As well as a reptile house. It's very hot to walk around even though there is shade and the odd fan here and there. There is a water area that you fall upon and believe me, you will want to get yourself wet in it to cool down! Beware of the weather - if it thunders (can happen in the afternoons)the whole park staff pull down the shutters and disappear!
It was our 5th visit this year, and we will return to the Alden, 6th floor Nassau suite, hope the tv works better next time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvercynth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We've been to St Pete Beach before, but usually stayed at a larger hotel - this time we chose the Alden because of the good reviews it had gotten. The hotel is not the newest or the prettiest on the strip, but the grounds are well kept, the staff is awesome and it's small enough to make you feel "at home". We would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirl069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
561 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,741 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $122 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing