We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alden Suites
Nearby Hotels
$204
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Beach(St. Pete Beach)
$245
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Pete Beach Suites(St. Pete Beach)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort(St. Pete Beach)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Inn(St. Pete Beach)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sirata Beach Resort(St. Pete Beach)
$215
$209
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Hotel Zamora(St. Pete Beach)
$363
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,874)
Filter reviews
1,874 results
Traveler rating
799
689
220
89
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
689
220
89
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana barfood truckhot tublanai suitetennis courtspete beachbeach frontcovered parkingshuffle boardpool viewfirst floorcorn holeliving roomfull kitchenpull out sofasmall kitchenettefamily vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,084 - 1,089 of 1,874 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The best mini beach vacation ever! We stayed June 29 - July 2 and it was wonderful. Even the thunderstorms were enjoyable. This property has just about everything one could need, and now with the food service it has everything including wonderful friendly staff. I can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Giddy Up!

At Your Service,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We spent 9 nights in Alden Suites in June 2014. We were so glad we took the suites with the beach view since the sunsets are really beautiful at the west coast of Florida. The suite was perfect for two adults and one 15-month toddler. The staff had already arranged a baby crib in the suite even though we had done the reservation via Hotels.com. This was the only hotel during our vacation that had actually read our request.

The staff was polite and very efficient. Also the cleaning service was really reliable. They didn't even touch the money left for tips unless I left it on the bed. The pool was nice even though we liked the ocean more. There were strict signs at the pool for a-hole guests not to try to reserve sun beds with their towels or other personal belongings.

Beach was just beautiful and we saw dolphins almost every day. Sand is almost white and feels very powdery. The only thing that bugged us about the beach was the overpriced beach cabana service that was 20 USD a day even for hotel guests. Of course we didn't use it, and most of the cabanas were empty. Maybe the price should be fixed -50 % outside the peak season...

Kitchen/kitchenette was a necessary thing for us since we had (and still have) a toddler with us. The only thing that really bugged us was their mini capsule coffee makers or whatever they are called... The coffee flat out sucked. I mean it was just AWFUL! We ended up getting a mini-sized Mr. Coffee from Walmart for $14,99 and drinking our own coffee bought from Publix.

All in all this was a great experience for the cost and we will definitely go back again if we ever decide to stay at St. Pete Beach in the future.

Room Tip: Pick the suite with the beach view–you'll be sorry if you don't!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomiTakamaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thanks for the nice review and the overall pleasant experience you had at Alden Suites.

The Cabanas on the beach are operated by an independent company, although the equipment is owned by the Alden. Their prices are very competitive and service is excellent. Many beach hotels charge a "resort fee" of $25-$35 per day, which includes the use of a cabana, but you pay the fee whether you use the cabana our not!

The Alden offers FREE Keurig in the lobby each day and full pot coffee makers are available upon request in individual guest suites. I'm sorry to hear that this guest bought their own coffee maker, when all they needed to do was ask for one of the larger coffee makers on property.

Thanks again for the nice review,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Had not stayed at the Alden since 2008 so was worried about its physical condition but I was pleasantly surprised as our room had been completely updated - beautiful new galley kitchen between the bedroom and the living room - and a beautifully updated bathroom as well. The two queen beds were comfy and the room was quiet. I had also requested a sunset view and our room and the balcony on the 4th floor were perfect! My only negatives? The downstairs walkways needed a good pressure-washing and there were tons of kids in both pools. I could not get in and swim a few laps as I had planned. I thought coming in May I would avoid the summer vacationers, but instead many families with children under school age were there! But that will not deter me from a return visit next Spring as I loved the Alden and its prime location on beautiful St. Pete Beach.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view of course but for families the rooms on the ground floor facing the beach have a large grassy area right outside the door and are perfect! And for you traveling with pets, they also have pet friendly rooms!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpkins39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

This guest stayed in a "deluxe Gulf front suite" formally known as our "Lanai Suites" and YES, they were totally renovated "back to the walls" in late 2013, so they are like new in all respects. I'm am pleased to hear the compliments!

We have two pools, so if one is a bit crowded, our guests can try the second pool, but in any event I'm sorry that it was difficult for this guest to swim laps. We do cater to families and that means kids are around, but mostly in the summer months only.

Thanks again for the kind review,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We just returned from a 2-week stay at the Alden and it was everything we were looking for. Now in the 4th generation of the family to vacation at St. Pete Beach, the Alden remains our hotel of choice. With great ocean-front views, lush grounds, and a generous stretch of sandy beach, there is no better deal on the island. We are already looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the way to go, but book them early. Waking up to a view of the Gulf of Mexico is truly unique.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachnutsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

The Alden is the "best bang for the buck" on St Pete Beach...we hear that all the time and love it!

We try harder too!

At Your Service,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed in a beach view room with my parents for a few days last summer. It was great to be so close to the beach, although the position of our room did mean that there was no balcony behind the sliding doors. Comparing to disney prices (where all our other FL stays have been) this is excellent value for money, especially when you factor in the divided sleeping and living areas, as well as coming with a fully equipped kitchenette.

Onsite if I remember correctly there is a small store, laundry, pool bar and pools etc. Although we spent most of our time relaxing at the beach. There are plenty of very good restaurants nearby and store such as publix to get anything you'd need. Overall we had a lovely few days at the Alden suites and in St. Pete beach. Will hopefully return sooner rather than later & would definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view suite
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Glad to know that these guests enjoyed their stay and will be back!

At Your Service,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews