We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to spend my 40th Birthday.”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Excellent holiday for myself, my sister's & niece.
As soon as we arrived the staff was very help, we was early but they checked us in and upgraded our room, we had room 141 gulf veiw which had no balcony but as you open the patio doors you walked straight on to St Petes Beach.... Amazing.
The beds was very comfy, the rooms was big enough for 4 adults and the kitchen was fully stacked with everything we need to cook breakfast.
We are planning another trip back next year.

Room Tip: room 141 gulf veiw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Since 141 is a ground floor Gulf front suite, there is no balcony, just a back porch with only 10 steps to the white sandy beach...

Thanks for the nice review!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,795)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Not sure why my review was deleted! The Alden is a great place for families or couples. Clean, spacious rooms and friendly staff. The beach property is beautiful and clean. They need to add a regular coffee pot in the lobby. Love the Alden!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Good beachfront resort. No luxury, but that's oin the price. Good amenities (heated pools, tennis courts, grass area in front of the beach with chairs and lounges, table tennis, cabana bar), and spacious rooms.
On the less positive side: King studio with pool view doesn't get much natural light, and you can definitely feel kids running upstairs.

I'd come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ffloresredondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Alden beach resort is very centrally located on the strip. Many places to choose to eat in the area. The beach is big, beautiful and white the sand is so soft. I fell safe with security driving on the beach. Out in front of the resort on the beach is a Hugh slide for the kids (one for those blow up rubber slides). I did get stung by a Sting Ray so beware! I was even doing to the Sting Ray shuffle. As far as the room it was very large really a suite The two beds were the first thing you enter into, there is a door with a bathroom another door and a big sitting area/kitchenette with a balcony and a Gulf of Mexico view. Wonderful to watch the sunset. Very romantic.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms face the Gulf so you can keep an eye on the kids in the pool or playing outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lolalaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thanks for making us your first choice on St Pete Beach!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed one night Mid Oct.to end our week long Florida vacation. Made reservations online. We wanted a room with Ocean view for our last night. We finalized the reservation only after my wife spoke via phone to be sure the room had a balcony with ocean view. You entered the suite through the bedroom in the back facing the parking lot. the stairs smelled like urin and the elevator had sticky floors. The bed was decent and clean. The bath was old but clean. The kitchenette was tiny even for a camper and the living room was tiny. The small fold out bed was the worse I have ever been on. EVER. 1 inch mattress over bars and springs made sleeping on it impossible even for a child. We slept on the floor instead.The Balcony was 18 inch deep by 5 feet wide, You could barely stand on the balcony if you closed the door. There was no screen so you could not leave the door open and listen to the ocean over night and you couldn't fit a chair on the balcony. Do not waste your time and money if you are looking for an ocean view. This is an old old hotel in worn out condition. The only good thing I will say is the main bed was comfortable and clean and the bath and kitchen although worn and tattered, were clean

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

I am sorry for your unpleasant experience at the Alden, it is truly a shame that we did not meet your expectations...

This guest booked one of only 6 Gulf front suites (out of a total of 62 Gulf fronts suites) that has only a "stand up" balcony. They were notified beforehand that this was not a "full" balcony, and thus the price is much less. No hotels on the beach have screens and most don't even have balconies (less than 10% of the inventory of St Pete Beach hotels).

The odor in the stairwell was noticed by another guest as well, and was rectified immediately after reported.

We clean the elevators twice daily, but sometimes people spill their drink in the elevator, and thus the stickiness for a brief time only, until housekeeping comes by and cleans the elevator.

I don't really understand the comments about "cramped and small kitchen" since this is a suite with about 40% more space than a "typical " hotel room.

Sorry again for the unpleasant experience...this was an aberration to say the least, based on the vast majority of Alden reviews on Trip Advisor.

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The title says it all, for us! The beach location is wonderful, the rooms are nice, the new hot tub looks great! We always appreciate that we can use the business center to print our e-tickets the day before we have to fly out.

Room Tip: Non-beach facing rooms can still have an interesting view while helping to save on the cost of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thanks for returning to see us again!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Second time at this resort - this time for a big family reunion. Hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly! We stayed right on the beach, in a newly renovated suite. I don't know if it's the hotel itself, of the grand location (the beach is awesome), but we had a fabulous time!!!! We were there in the off season, but I thought it was a great value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadWarrior0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thanks very much for the kind review...we also think we are the "best bang for the buck" on St Pete Beach.

Thanks again,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#20 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
453 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $148 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing