We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“us again”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“us again”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Have just returned from our 10th visit here, have been coming to st Pete for 15 years and stayed at other hotels but once we had stayed here we never went anywhere else we just love it!!

We stayed in one of the pool view suites, really nice and big with full kitchen, and this had been refurbished, grandson and husband v pleased with new TV's, myself the new beds and bedding were fantastic, have never slept so well away from home. New hot tub really nice, lovely daily walks on beach, stepping straight out on to thesand from beside the cabana bar, and even played tennis this year on the courts on the car park roof.

As usual staff excellent, helpful and pleasant, special hello to Chuck,see him every year for a catch up, and hi to Alex on the front desk, missing my daily visit, what a lovely man and a credit to this establishment. Will be back,only 49 weeks to go....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happysandy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistefano, Director of Revenue at Alden Suites, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We always love to hear from our repeat guests and that we continue to provide excellent service! Keep the countdown going..48 weeks to go
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    585
    186
    80
    68
See reviews for
660
456
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Alden, and we will be back. We love that it is a family run hotel! We had a gulf front suite, which consisted of a bedroom with a king size bed, bathroom with a separate sink, a kitchenette, a living area AND a balcony looking over the powdery white sand and blue waters of St. Pete Beach. You step outside onto the beach and in the evening you can watch the sunset! The rooms are clean and the housekeeping staff does a great job. The new hot tub is awesome!! It is not a fancy place - and there are a few things that could use a little updating, but for the price you get an excellent value.

Room Tip: If you want to sit on your balcony and see the gulf ask for a gulf front suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Very nice! We appreciate the positive remarks about our family run hotel!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I believe this is my 5th year at the Alden and it keeps getting better. To my surprise, they have updated the beds, TVs, and hot tub! Firstly, the beds are better then most high end hotel chains, they are so comfortable and offered a wonderful nights sleep. I do not watch much TV but they replaced their tub-TVs with nice flat screens (if this is important to you!). Lastly, the new hot tub is incredible and they got rid of their secondary hot tub on the second level. This hot tub can likely fit 15 people comfortably!

Only negative I have this year is they replaced the 8 cup coffee maker with a single cup coffee maker. This problem was fixed rather quickly when I call the front desk. Within minutes I had a new 8 cup maker. THANKS!

I will see you next year!

Room Tip: Does not have a fitness center, but was delighted to know that with your hotel room key you have acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My mom, sister, and I took our first FL beach vacation and we really enjoyed the Alden. When we first walked up to the room my mom was nervous because the outside hallways looked a little rough but I was very surprised when we walked in. We stayed in a deluxe gulf front room with 2 beds and pull out sofa. I loved that it had a kitchenette but the pull out was like sleeping on a box of rocks. The beds were nice though :) It was convenient to the beach and the pool. We rented the cabanas on the beach for $20 and Peter was very nice!! There are many restaurants in the area, subway across the street, a Walgreens and a grocery store in the area also. Their were a couple beach towels in the room which was a plus and they let us have a late checkout so we could enjoy the beach before our late flight. I would definitely stay again and maybe this time have a larger group and stay on the ground floor. If you choose the ground level just be aware of the groups sitting outside your room, they might keep you up at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MNgals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
This guest stayed in a completely renovated (just finished in Sep 2013) Deluxe Gulf front suite (AKA the Lanai Suites) and as we speak, we are resurfacing the outside corridor to look and feel brand new!

Sofa sleepers are what they are....usually for the kids who think of them as an adventure in sleeping, but I have yet to find one that is 100% comfortable for adults, although we have brand new ones in this suite type.

Thanks for the kind comments and please come see us again soon!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

St. Pete Beach is an outstanding beach and so is Alden Resort. We had a suite with two rooms, making it very private, plus a view of the beach from the living room/kitchenettte and balcony. The mattress and pillows were plush and comfy. No need to drive, just walk to fabulous restaurants, like Snappers, Toaster Monkey. The kitchenette is a plus. The staff will let you use the facilities before check in. Great staff but don't rely on them for directions to places. Bring your own lounge chair to the beach unless you want to spend $20 a day for chairs and umbrella use.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the ocean, a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Our full service suites are second to none on St Pete Beach and that's why we continue to receive such positive reviews like this one!

Thanks very much,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Perfect location and convenient to everything. Suite was right by pool and easy to walk out to beach as well. Easy walk to a couple other fun local tiki bars on the beach. Would go again without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Short and sweet and to the point....

Thanks for the nice review,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just stayed at the Alden Suites for 4 nights, we had a great experience. I was traveling with my wife and 4 year old daughter, we had a king suite by the pool at first I was a little dissappointed that we didn't book a room by the beach until we checked in and noticed that we were by the pool and only a few steps away from the beach. We were very happy with our room and my daughter liked having her own bed (pull out couch). The kitchen area was really conveinent and helped us save money by making our own food. For the price I could not have asked for more, the staff was very friendly and helpful with directions. The hotel was very clean and we are hoping to be able to afford another trip to the Alden next year. If we ever have the money to go back to Florida we will definetly be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank star_spur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thanks for the nice review...

We do want all guests to have such positive experiences and our amenity package with kitchen facilities in the suites certainly helps maintain the "eating out every meal expense" that eats into a vacation budget (pun intended).

Thanks again and please come back (We love the Indiana folks!)

Sincerely,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
965 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#15 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Property: Alden Suites
Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing