We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, friendly, and didn't want to leave”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for almost a week. Took a little vacation decided the Alden was my best value(based on room size with ammenities and dinette). I was so happy I found that place. Kitty the food and beverage director was so kind, Chris at the bar was chatty and told us where to go to eat and what to do around town. Nice pools, clean grounds and beach, covered parking, what more could I ask for......nothing. This place deserves to be recognized. Will be back for sure :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liketotaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thanks for recognizing us on Trip Advisor!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,703 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have been staying at the Alden for our annual Florida vacation for several years. After a scheduling mishap left us dissatisfied last year, I am happy to say that our stay at the Alden this year was on-point. Our room was a pleasant surprise. We stayed in a Grenada suite on the 6th floor. While the Grenada suites are a bit smaller than some of the other suites we have stayed in, it’s a perfect size for a couple. The balcony is also smaller; just enough room for two chairs, but the view of the gulf is spectacular. The nicest thing for us was the privacy factor. The room location (if you are on the 5th or 6th floor) is very quiet and more private than other rooms, as the room location is off to itself on the side of the building. Because of this, there is no outside walking traffic or noise. Grenada suites on the 1st through 4th floors connect to the other building, so they are definitely not as private.
The nicest thing about the Alden suites is that they are fully equipped. The kitchen is has everything you need including toaster, dishes, pots and pans, coffee maker, cups/glasses and a dishwasher. The location is great with shopping and restaurants very close by.
The service at the Alden this year was excellent. We were able to check in a little early and the process was very efficient. Housekeeping is also very good. Our room was usually done in the mid-afternoon, but that was not a problem for us as we are usually out all day. The new cabanas are a great addition, especially because the prices are discounted if you use them multiple days. The cabana staff were very friendly and helpful. Other new (and much appreciated) additions include the new hot tub and free Wi-Fi.
For us, the big attraction is St. Pete Beach, but the Alden Beach Resort provides comfortable, well-appointed suites for the price of a room. We enjoyed our stay and definitely plan to return again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachmoon3605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

OMG! What a fantastic review!

I would like to hire this guest to work for us as a Marketing Consultant!

I won't reiterate all the glowing positive comments, but many of them are what we advertise year round...

We cannot buy such great advertising as this, word of mouth (especially on Trip Advisor) is the number one marketing tool any hotel can hope to have, and this one is what it's all about...

Thanks again, and I hope you come see us again next year when another $400,000 of impressive renovations will be completed for your enjoyment and comfort,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It was one of the recommended hotels for the Rock and Roll Half Marathon in St. Pete. Although a little out of the way from the race itself, the beach front room and location was great! The rooms were clean and the service was good- when someone was onsite. Which leads to my only complaint about the hotel, there was one night where a party from the bar area had re-located to the pool around 2 a.m. and they were rather loud. One of the guests told them to quiet down and an argument ensued. Several attempts were made to contact the front desk regarding this and no one answered - and no one from the hotel ever came to break the party up. I brought this up to management the following morning and sincere apologies were given by management. The remaining nights of our stay things were very quiet and no issues at all.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for the beachfront - the views and access are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks for the review...

We do have security at the hotel all night and someone at the Front Desk 24/7, so I am baffled that the noise at the pool at 2 AM was not immediately addressed by Security and the front desk staff, I will look into that ASAP.

Please be assured that this is an unusual situation, as we have one of the most family friendly hotels on St Pete Beach, with an excellent nighttime security staff.

Other than that, I sincerely appreciate the positive comments contained in this review.

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We recently had a last minute accommodation change on our recent trip to St Pete Beach. I had not done any research on the Alden, only passed by on previous trips. But after searching several hotels they were the only location with availability for our entire stay, and at a reasonable price. The hotel overall was great. Front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful, we were especially excited because we got the last room! They had also called us promptly after checking out to alert us we left something behind. We stayed in the older part of the resort, one king bedroom only, not the suites. Room was everything we needed, bed, refrigerator/microwave, coffee maker, even some utensils and plates with dish soap. Bed was comfy. Pools looked clean and inviting, although we did not use them, spent most of our time on the beach. Parking was convenient. Location on beach was excellent. Beach staff renting cabanas also very friendly, i recommend renting one of the cabanas. Housekeeping needs work. Our first full day they had not arrived before 5pm, we had to call for more towels. That night we left for dinner and came back to find they had visited/cleaned the room, but did not shut the door completely and therefore had left our room unlocked. I called the front desk who apologized. We left the do not disturb sign on the door the next day, did not need the housekeeping and thought it was safer that way.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks very much for taking time to compose a review...

When resort hotels are running 100% occupancy (as we were during this stay) Housekeeping does it's very best to service all suites before 4PM, but sometimes it is just physically impossible to do that. However, I do apologize for the door being left open, there is no excuse for that and I am please to know that nothing went missing and the staff apologized.

Other than that, thanks for the very complimentary review,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We pay more than at other hotels with the same services and commodities and soon we find out that they cut my Internet access because an Illegal Activity ? It appears that Skype its not allowed on this site. Well that its poor enough for us as we needed to stay in touch with our relatives. The place was not of a good standard anyway and for less than that we've got better service somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaban1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

After doing some research on this review, I have an explanation for the "skype" issue with this guest: Our FREE WiFi system has limited bandwidth that will not allow for the massive amount of bandwidth needed for Skype, unless they customer elects to purchase an upgrade to the system. After checking with other hotels, we find that this is true at most hotels, including very "high end" hotels. It appears that this was the guest's only issue and we are sorry that most FREE wifi systems cannot handle that much bandwidth without paying for an upgrade.

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel had a great beach location and really loved relaxing with a drink at the bar overlooking the beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable and while the resort is not new it is better than most in the area. Had tennis courts and ping pong tables which is great for those who have teens looking for activities. The service here was good and the price was very reasonable. This place is really all about location!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSHickey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks so much for the kind review, please come see us again soon!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a great week at Alden Suites. Our room was clean and had everything we needed - kitchen, microwave, etc. The aircon was a bit noisy sometimes but nothing we couldn't live with. The staff at reception were friendly, the property seems well looked after and the bed was comfortable. Our room with balcony on the second floor faced the beach (but we didn't have a view of the sunset) and was nice and quiet. There is plenty of parking, a deck for barbecues, area for table-tennis, 2 outdoor pools, small shop selling essentials, laundry, beach bar (selling drinks not food) and easy access right onto the beach. It's within easy walking distance of many good restaurants, bars and shops, and although it's on a main road, you don't get traffic noise as the layout of the complex means the rooms are built away from the road. One pool is used mainly by parents with children while we used the other one which was used by couples and groups. We would have liked umbrellas next to the sunbeds (too hot to stay in the sun for long) and there is loud pop music played on the speakers all day which we felt was unnecessary, but it's a nice place to relax and the pool is lovely. We would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to see the sunset from your balcony, ask for a room in the block facing the sea. Ours f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floridafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thanks for pointing out many of our amenities and for the kind comments...hope to see you again soon!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,893 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $143 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing