We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great location”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Newfoundland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean and great location”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel had a great beach location and really loved relaxing with a drink at the bar overlooking the beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable and while the resort is not new it is better than most in the area. Had tennis courts and ping pong tables which is great for those who have teens looking for activities. The service here was good and the price was very reasonable. This place is really all about location!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSHickey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind review, please come see us again soon!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    607
    197
    80
    70
See reviews for
704
462
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a great week at Alden Suites. Our room was clean and had everything we needed - kitchen, microwave, etc. The aircon was a bit noisy sometimes but nothing we couldn't live with. The staff at reception were friendly, the property seems well looked after and the bed was comfortable. Our room with balcony on the second floor faced the beach (but we didn't have a view of the sunset) and was nice and quiet. There is plenty of parking, a deck for barbecues, area for table-tennis, 2 outdoor pools, small shop selling essentials, laundry, beach bar (selling drinks not food) and easy access right onto the beach. It's within easy walking distance of many good restaurants, bars and shops, and although it's on a main road, you don't get traffic noise as the layout of the complex means the rooms are built away from the road. One pool is used mainly by parents with children while we used the other one which was used by couples and groups. We would have liked umbrellas next to the sunbeds (too hot to stay in the sun for long) and there is loud pop music played on the speakers all day which we felt was unnecessary, but it's a nice place to relax and the pool is lovely. We would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to see the sunset from your balcony, ask for a room in the block facing the sea. Ours f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridafans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks for pointing out many of our amenities and for the kind comments...hope to see you again soon!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

You can tell this place is well cared for. It is not new but I don't need new. I do need clean and well maintained. You get that here. Wife and I just stayed there 4 nights. We did not have a gulf view but rather pool side. Loved it. Clean room well decorated. Good TV, ample kitchenette and awesome bed! Every staff member greeted me daily with a "Good Morning" and three different couples told us they have been returning to the Alden for years and years. We enjoyed one couple so much we will be meeting them there next year. My complements to the family and staff because they are really doing a good job with the details.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We take pride in the "Family Ownership" aspect....Family owned & operated since 1969!

At Your Service,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at The Alden and it was adequate as always. The room was clean and they had plenty of pillows! All amenities were clean (pool, sidewalks, etc). The staff were not personable, but were friendly, which is fine if you don't want to get caught in a 10 min conversation every time you see them. They are also helpful. Coffee was kind of tricky. They have (2) 1 cup quick brewers in the lobby. We bought big coffee mugs and filled them in the morning. It wasn't a terrible inconvenience. They also have 1 cup brewers in the room, but the coffee for those is nasty. There is some updating that could be done, but it's not like a wormhole to the 50's. I caught a glimpse of a naked lady swimming in the pool late one nite when we got back from an outing. This doesn't have anything to do with the hotel, but it's still cool!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairdale, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

First of all..the rooms look nothing like the pictures posted. I made reservations and paid 2 months in advance and was told by the "manager" that our room would certainly be on the first floor, beach front. We, myself and 3 other women I was traveling with arrived on 9/10/13 we were told those rooms are under construction and they tried to put us on the 3rd floor in basically what I would call a closet it was so small and closed in. I asked them why if you knew we were coming did you not call or email and tell us that those rooms were not available before we got there so we could have the opportunity to find something else? No one had an answer for for this , including the manager. I was told by the staff the the "owner of the hotel was there and when I asked to speak with him I was told he wasn't there...go figure? I asked for my money back and the "manager said he would take it off my credit card. We got really lucky though and found a fabulous room at the Grand Plaza Hotel right on the beach with a great view and a wonderful staff and the most beautiful room I have ever seen! Beware of making a reservation in advance, you will not get what you are paying for!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
I reviewed this posting with our Front Office Manager, who dealt with this guest.

The guest had requested a ground floor Gulf front suite, but since the renovations for the ground floor suites were one week behind schedule, we could not honor the ground floor request when they arrived. We moved them to a 3rd floor Gulf front SUITE, which is over 500 sq ft, so I don't really understand the "closet" comment. These suites have a separate bedroom and separate living room / kitchen and are 30-40% larger than a "typical" hotel room.

We provided this guest a 100% refund and apologized that the ground floor suites she wanted were not yet completed

No one ever asked to speak to me (Owner), I would have been happy to speak with this guest personally...

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed at The Alden suites for 5 nights after a hectic 9 days in Orlando. We stayed in room 341 which directly overlooked the beach. Yes, as other reviewers have said, the rooms are a little tired, but saying that they had everything we needed. The rooms were spacious and kept very clean, The beds were so comfy and the bedding had a lovely fresh laundry smell to them. We had an abundance of clean towels, including beach towels. The staff were very friendly and the amenities included two pools, a hot tub and a bbq area including 3 bbqs. The main reason to stay at this hotel was to relax on the beach, and you certainly could!! The views were stunning from our suite. The hotel was well positioned for good restaurants and there was a 711and Publix supermarket nearby. The only negative comment was the safe had a key lock rather than a digital one, which meant we always had to carry the key with us. I would not hesitate to stay at the Alden again and would recommend it .

Room Tip: Book a front of house gulf view suite to enjoy the stunning beach views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngeH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks very much for the nice review...

Gary Renfrow
President & part onwer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our first time staying at St. Pete's Beach area and of the Alden. Great location for the beach and restaurants and services. As most people have stated, the rooms are outdated and could use some upgrading. The room itself had everything we needed including a kitchen and patio so can't complain too much. The price was very reasonable. We would have no problem staying here again but we just may try another area such as Clearwater just to experience another beach and hotel.

Room Tip: Elevator is very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Not sure about the "needs updating" comments, since we have totally renovated all guest suites as follows:

1) 20 Lanai Suites in 2012-2013
2) 27 Bermuda Suites 2010
3) 8 Villa Suites and 4 hotel rooms 2011
4) 45 Nassau Suites 2005/ 2010
5) 42 Gulf front Suites (Building 1) 2008

Thanks for taking time to post a review,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
535 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,683 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Property: Alden Suites
Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing