We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It is nicely located on St. Pete Beach. It's showing it's age a bit but for the price and the location you can't beat it. We spent 3 nights here after 5 long nights in Orlando and it was very peaceful. The staff was very friendly and other vacationers too. We were in room 439 beach front. A quick ride down the elevator and around the corner was the beach. Nicely located on Gulf Blvd around many shops and restaurants. We plan to return for a week stay in the future.

Room Tip: If your going to the beach stay beach front. Room 439 was very nice and had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mspriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    607
    197
    80
    70
See reviews for
704
462
35
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St.John's,Newfoundland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have been staying at the Alden each year since the late 70's. Like most of the hotels on Gulf Blvd, the Alden is kind of old and it certainly shows it's. It's clean but certainly in need of some updating. We have stayed in most of the different types of rooms they have and by far the best is the ones with the gulf view. However we can rarely justify the $200+ a night price tag they come with. It's by no means the best on the strip but we keep coming back because we know what we are going to get and we usually only stay for two nights at the end of our vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbenson11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnellon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Staff were very friendly. The rooms are older, but clean. We were on the beach side, but were not told that we could not sit or even fit a chair on the little front deck. Would like to have been able to sit out with a coffee in the morning. The kitchen didn't even have a coffee maker however. Appliances were old and cabinets were old. Not sure that I would stay there again. They do have two pools and a hot tub and a bar outside. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but there is plenty of dining around the area. The hotel had plenty of parking and had tennis courts (course it was too hot to play even if you wanted to). The best part was just being right on the beach...

Room Tip: Ask if you have a deck that you can sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emerald515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Only 6 of our 62 Gulf front suites do not have a full size balcony, and I am sorry that you were not able to secure one of the full balcony Gulf front suites...come back again and ask for a "premium Gulf front suite"

Thanks very much,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Mgmt and staff all very helpful & polite, rooms clean with all amenities we required. View from the 6th floor to the waters 'awesome!'. Pools and hot tub very relaxing. Will definitely look to come back, we all had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Gulf view rooms beaultiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannawin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The view from our top floor room was awesome! The room was clean and had a separate living area. The hotel staff were wonderful and the hotel amenities were great! The only con was parking- not enough, but since you're right in the middle of everything once we parked our car we really didn't need it again until we check out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Absolutely, the views from our Gulf front buildings are second to none!

Thanks,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed here several times with very little disappointment. It's reasonably priced and offers many amenities. It also has a great location on the beach. It's relaxing, peaceful and very professionally staffed. Absolutely helpful and friendly. Look at the details (amenities) and you wont be disappointed. The building shows age but is well serviced and clean especially for their rates.

Room Tip: The upper pool view rooms are great but for a little more you would not believe the views and balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RADIATORMAN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for the kind review, but I don't know where the "new owners" comment originated from?

The Alden has been owned and operated by the Renfrow family since 1969!

Thanks again,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Scheduled a three day trip (Friday thru Monday) on Labor Day weekend 2013. Had never stayed at the Alden, but felt good about the trip advisor reviews that I had read. We had previously stayed at the Tradewinds Resort next door to the Alden but had never visited the Alden. Had a wonderful stay. We really enjoyed the amenities and family atmosphere of the hotel. It has a more laid back pace and not the hustle and bustle associated with the larger hotels. The staff was very friendly and responsive to any type of request. The staff takes pride in the resort and was constantly working to keep the appearance looking great. We stayed in a pool side first floor room with a King Bed which was convenient to the entire facility. The room was well maintained and had a kitchenette and all needed amenities. You could easily stay longer and enjoy yourself. We were provided excellent service at the Cabana Bar by David and Chris who made you feel at home and enjoy staying at the Alden. Will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
537 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,683 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#2 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Property: Alden Suites
Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing