We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alden Suites
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort(St. Pete Beach)
$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Beach(St. Pete Beach)
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coconut Inn(St. Pete Beach)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Pete Beach Suites(St. Pete Beach)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Hotel Zamora(St. Pete Beach)
$319
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bayview Plaza Waterfront Resort(St. Pete Beach)
$152
$144
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$349
$309
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blind Pass Resort-Motel(St. Pete Beach)
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Don CeSar(St. Pete Beach)
$414
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,879)
Filter reviews
1,879 results
Traveler rating
801
690
221
89
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
801
690
221
89
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana barfood truckhot tublanai suitetennis courtspete beachbeach frontcovered parkingshuffle boardpool viewfirst floorcorn holeliving roomfull kitchenpull out sofasmall kitchenettefamily vacation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,307 - 1,312 of 1,879 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My first trip to The Alden was back in 1985 as a small child. My family would return each year at March Break for sixteen consecutive years. After a number of years of not being able to go while in post-secondary school, I returned with my wife last year. We just booked another return trip for June of this year.

While I usually stay in modern, trendy hotels, and have stayed in a number of all-inclusive tropical resorts, I still favour returning to The Alden for a few reasons:

The area of St Pete Beach has both beautiful beaches at One end of the property, and lots of local restaurants, stores and attractions along the street, within walking distance.

The hotel is older, but it's grounds have been maintained to an immaculate level. I've stayed in beautiful new hotels that lose their appeal when returning after a year or two, as they become worn and lose their "new" shine. The Alden grounds are always spotless, have beautiful foliage, and the pools are kept clean and warm. It has always been, and remains, clear that the staff at the resort take pride in their work and their hotel.

It's truly relaxing at the hotel. It may not be your exotic adventure getaway, but we can go dolphin watching one day, head to Disney for a day, or just lie around the pool or take a walk on the beach.

If you're looking for a "W"-style hotel, this isn't it. But if you want a beautiful location, great pools, well-maintained rooms, and a relaxing stay, I highly recommend what you get at The Alden for that price-point.

It's easy for a new hotel to wow it's guests. I think it's a better test to return to a hotel that you first visited thirty years prior, and find you still want to return for another stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atorontotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

What a flattering review!

The Alden has been in the Renfrow Family since May 1969 (I was 10 years old at the time). My father, Robert P. Renfrow (1929-2001) instilled great pride of ownership from day one, and always treated the guests as family. He also had a consistent "plan" that included constant renovations and improvements every year, never waiting for things to get out of hand. As a result, we feel that even though some of our buildings are 20,30, 40, and even 50 years old (The Villas were built in 1955), we take the time, effort, and money to keep them as new and fresh as possible.

The second part of the equation is treating the staff as family, as well as the guests. This results in exceptional guest services and keeps guests coming back for 20,30, and even 40 years! We are very proud of the number of repeat guests covering many generations of families in some cases. Their "word of mouth" (and now Trip Advisor reviews) are the best sales and marketing tools we can hope for!

Thanks again for the wonderful review, it brought tears to my eyes.

Sincerely,

Gary Renfrow
President and part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Alden is a fantastic place to stay in the heart of St. Pete's Beach. We have stayed here twice, recommended it to many, and plan to stay again this year. (and see the new hot tub)
Great Value for the money and we found the rooms to be laid out well and clean. The service was exceptional both times we have been there. Our children really look forward to this place and we can honestly say that we stayed at Disney for 5 days after we left the Alden and our kids liked staying here just as much if not better!
We have stayed in both Gulf Front rooms and Pool side rooms and although the view is better obviously in the Gulf side room both were excellent. Fresh fruit, coffee and newspaper are all complimentary at the front desk every morning, and now they have a computer that you are able to check your email from (I think I was the first guest to ever use this new computer, as the front desk manager needed to log me on as no one was familiar with it yet, but when I told them it was no big deal they insisted on helping me...just another example of their service!)

I can't say enough good things about this place and as a family who visits FLA every year we are happy that we have found a destination we can visit year after year!

Great Job Everyone

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonW703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Tremendous review! Thanks so much for taking the time to compose this!

Positive, genuine reviews like this make me smile ear to ear.

Thanks again,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Alden Beach Resort & Suites is an excellent place for a relaxing stay. The facility is extremely well cared for tho it is not a new complex. We stayed on the sixth floor and had a view of the gulf from our balcony. The room was very clean with comfortable queen beds and had a full kitchen in the open area. We had stayed at the resort several years ago and enjoyed our stay, but the resort and grounds are being updated.

The rates went up the day we left but for what we had in our unit, the resort is a good deal for the cost. The staff was extremely polite and accommodating. The resort is centrally located on the beach and is in easy walking distance to local restaurants. My wife and I are looking forward to again including the Alden on our southern sojourn in 2014.

Room Tip: The gulf front rooms are more expensive and we enjoyed our pool side room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Another very satisfied, repeat Alden guest....what more can I say?

Thanks very much,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The only thing going for this place is that it is on the beach. We went to stay here got to the room and there was about an inch gap in the bottom of the outside door. Everything is VERY OLD. Needs updating bad. The manager was very nice and tried to give up a different room but the whole place is gross.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ia35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Warning: Bogus review, as this guest did not even stay at our hotel. The Front Office Manager reports that this guest checked in, but came back to the front desk within a few minutes, because he thought there was a gap between the bottom of the guest suite door and the threshold, of which there is a very small clearance area, but no giant gap as claimed. We offered to move this guest to another suite, but they elected to depart our hotel instead.

The claim that "everything is old" and 'this place is gross" comes from a disgruntled non-guest. Please refer to the other recent review that reflect a more honest appraisal of Alden Suites.

Please ignore this review

At Your Service,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I spent two nights at Alden Suites. We arrived several hours early so our room wasn't ready. The desk clerk had us register and said our room would be moved to the top of the priority list for cleaning and he would call when it was ready. We went to lunch, and he called 40 minutes later to say we could check in. Very impressive service!
Our room, which faced the hot tub, was pretty basic but very clean. It included plenty of towels and pillows, and the kitchen had everything we needed for a couple of breakfasts and snacks. We also enjoyed having a small sofa and eating area.
We used the hot tub and the larger pool. Both days we were able to find lounge chairs by the pool, and there was always space for us in the hot tub.
We were most impressed with the friendliness and politeness of everyone we met--not only the front desk personnel, housekeepers, and maintenance men but also the other guests! We had many nice conversations with people around the pool and in the hot tub, and everyone we spoke with seemed very satisfied with the resort.
Free parking and no extra fees were also big pluses for us!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lilosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Very nice comments about our staff! (and other guests) We have so many repeat guests that have become lifelong friends...over 30-40 years in some cases!

We pride ourselves on first class customer service and not "nickel and diming" our guests with fees for everything...i.e NO RESORT FEES at Alden Suites!

Thanks again,

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews