We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Room overlooking noisy AC Unit, Pool Filtering System”
Review of Alden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alden Suites
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Alden Suites Resort for a week in mid-February. The hotel was listed as a 3 star property, one of the choices with Southwest Airlines vacations packages. We reserved a 2 bed poolside suite on a 4th night free promotion. The package price (Non-stop flight from Albany NY to Tampa + 6 nights) was attractive.

The Good:
Large room (Room 612) with small 4 burner stove/oven, full size refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher.
Separate sitting area with balcony & flat screen tv.
2 Full sized beds in a bedroom with plenty of drawers and ample closet space
Lots of towels for shower and beach
The facility (not the room) on the deep beach front that stretches for miles
Free covered secure parking

The Bad: 1970’s Motel room decor/ambiance

The Bedroom. The Bedroom is situated by the entry rather than by the balcony. This makes no sense. The outside door opens next to the beds, so outside noise, including conversations of people passing by comes right into the room. Curtains need to be closed at all times for privacy and security, making for dismal lighting in sunny florida.

The Bedding. The beds are okay but the bedding is motel quality at best. I suspect the bed covers and blankets would not stand-up well to UV light inspection.

The Bathroom. Kind of dingy and a bit gross. When we checked in we were told that all rooms had been updated in 2008. I shiver to think what they looked like in 2007, because the rooms, though large, were lacking any decorative imagination. The bathroom has a shower with black fungus growing in the caulking. The shower controls make a loud groaning sound when you change from bath to shower, and the shower head is the most basic, wobbling like a new born's head.

The Tiny Balcony. The property is sandwiched between a couple of more luxurious resorts. The poolside balconies do overlook the pool (which is lit like a high crime area in the night. Nobody used them after dusk). They all (all the poolside rooms) also overlook a very noisy AC unit, pool pump, garbage bins and the next door parking area/restaurant back side. The balcony furniture (2 plastic chairs and a small coffee table) is very cheap and weathered. Not only would you not want to sit and relax on the balcony, but you'd probably hesitate to dry wet clothes on the cheap worn-out chairs.

The Staff. The maids were very nice and did a good job maintaining and stocking the rooms. The front desk staff were also nice and efficient. The front desk 'revenue' manager was a twit. The day after we arrived I called to request another room, perhaps one in an area that didn't overlook the noisy AC, Garbage Bins, etc. When I mentioned that the room didn't look like the pictures in online brochures, the Revenue Manager told me that they couldn't control what the travel agents posted on their sites. I said that they didn't look like the pictures on Alden's own site. He said the pictures (3/room) they had on their site were a composites of different rooms. He then went on to say that there were beachfront rooms available, if I wanted to upgrade for an additional $120/night. That's right $120/night !!!! So, they left rooms empty rather than offering them to guests (staying for 6 nights) at a reasonable upgrade cost.

The Bottom Line. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for for couples looking for a comfortable, memorable hotel experience. The room we stayed in was large but it's ambiance was more like a motel room for a group of college students looking to pack a room for a spring break.

Room Tip: Go for Beach facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Telegent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

I am sorry you did not enjoy all aspects of Alden Suites, but please allow me to comment on a few of your observations:

1) We are rated 3-diamond by AAA, and their standards have been very strict to maintain the 3-diamond rating, even made tougher in recent years. Our last AAA inspection was in May 2012, when the inspector again awarded Alden Suites the 3-diamond rating.

2) The Suite you occupied (612) has:

a) New carpet, sofa sleeper, and easy chair (all installed one year ago)
b) 2 BRAND new thin screen TV's, one in the bedroom and one in the living area, both 37 inch TV's
c) The remainder of the furniture, fixtures, and equipment were renovated in 2007, and will be addressed in the next year, although it is not 1970's decor, it's 2007 decor.
d) The bathroom is large by hotel standards, with an outside the bathroom vanity / sink
e) The balcony is very large, respectively, and the balcony furniture , as evidenced by your own photo, is attractive and not made of "plastic" They are standard beachfront aluminum chairs with vinyl strapping.
f) The garbage bins referred to belong to the Coral Reef Hotel next door

Thanks for taking time to compose a review,

Gary Renfrow
President and part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,681)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at The Alden in St. Pete. My title says it all. Our oceanfront suite was very clean, but the grounds could be kept nicer. We did notice them rebuilding a hot tub; (not quite sure why they would choose to do this in the middle of season) but we hope this is going to spread to other areas of the resort, general feel of this resort is that it is in need of modernization. We enjoyed the balcony in the evening, the beach is wide and calm. Not worth wat we paid, but it was a nice weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiminstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a bad experience with our rental and were literally homeless. We found the Alden and love it all. It was clean, and the staff was excellent. Location is great and I loved the Keurig coffee in the lobby. It started as a bad experience but the Alden made it all so much better. Glad we found it and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a corner room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siteseer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

What people like about the Alden is just that....we are all suites with kitchens and geared to a longer term stay than the traditional hotel with tiny rooms...we house many guests waiting for their house to get fumigated or renovated, etc...we have many repeat guest in the Winter that stay for 30-60 days!

Thanks for letting us "save you!"

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very nice hotel- good mgmt, attentive to guests needs. Clean rooms, beautiful location right on the water. Cabana bar happy hours, and Boston Bob playing live music a lot of fun. Beach, pool and hot tub, BBQs for guests, what more do we need. Our first room was noisy, got moved no problem, had an enjoyable stay. Walked across the street for breakfast at Skimmers, and dinner at Snappers. Yum!

Room Tip: Upper room Gulf-side are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 20NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a friendly nice place to stay with clean and well maintained rooms. The coffee and news papers in the lobby are a nice touch. The hotel wifi is expensive at $50.00 and slow compared to many of the other hotels with free wifi. Compared to many of the other places on St Pete beach this one is one of the best for the money. Cali and Chris at the out door bar (where I spent a lot of time), are the best. The hot dog stand next to the bar isn't great and you can do much better at a few other places on the beach for a snack. We stayed in a beach front suite that was quiet and had a beautiful view of the sun set every night. We have stay in several places on the beach in this area and have found this place to stand out as the best for the money, many of the other places try hard to nickle and dime for the simplest request

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank charles h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to compose this nice review. We pride ourselves on NOT "nickel and diming" our guests with resort fees. One correction and explanation: Our WIFI is $9.95 per day and $50 for a week...However, that fee will go away by late April of this year, as soon as our third party contract expires.

We offer FREE:

1) Parking
2) Daily newspaper (even Sunday)
3) Coffee and fresh fruit in the lobby
4) All recreational facilities

The hot dog stand mentioned is a "test" that just opened about one week ago. We may explore other food options at the bar in the near future.

Thanks again for commenting on the great "price / value" of Alden Suites, where you get a SUITE for the price of a room!

Gary Renfrow
President & part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Where should I start... It is the perfect place to stay. Great location on the Gulf, beautiful grounds. I found this resort on line so I was unsure checking into a Hotel I had never seen before. Very fussy on where I stay. I have no complaint's. My room was the best,great view of the Gulf, very roomy, very clean, comfortable beds, Kitchen had everything needed to cook & eat (except the food.). There is a grocery store within walking distance. Must also eat at Snappers Bar and Grill across the street. Two thumbs up. Alden staff was kind and helpful. Cabana Bar was a delight, located right on the beach. Lounge chairs to rent on the beach. I am already planning on another trip back to the Alden. Highly recommend if staying on the Gulf in St Petersburg. They have something to entertain any age, lots to do or just lay on the beach. Oh and watching the sunset from the Cabana Bar while having a drink was absolutely wonderful!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank soakinupthesun222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rgaryr, Owner at Alden Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Tremendous review! Thank you very much, hope to see you soon

Sincerely,

Gary Renfrow
President and part owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

the suite we had was over looking the ocean and was clean and comfortable. the hotel was close to great restaurants and bars. the staff was very friendly and they had cofee and fruit in the lobby every day.they had music in the cabana bar that was very enjoyable.our only concern was little bugs in the room which was room 232.also we were promised 100.00worth of food and received only 50.00 worth. we were there from 01 25 13 to 02 02 13.

Room Tip: ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
1.6 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#6 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,867 reviews
0.2 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#17 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
595 reviews
0.5 mi away
St Pete Beach Suites
St Pete Beach Suites
#3 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden Suites

Address: 5900 Gulf Blvd, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#11 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range: $141 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alden Suites, located directly on St Pete Beach, is an all-suite getaway experience featuring an array of amenities. Nestled against the blue-green waters and white sand beaches of the Gulf of Mexico you'll find a unique resort that lives up to its inspired surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alden Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Alden Beach Resort And Suites
Alden Resort
Alden Suites St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing