We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantstic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New Bremen, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantstic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

This was our 4th trip to St. Pete Beach. The 2nd trip this year. We always stay at Beachcombers. They have everything we are looking for. Pools , bars inside and outside, right on the beach. The biggest thing we have found out about this resort is the friendlyness of everyone who works there. We do alot of traveling and have never had such good service. Thanks to everyone at Beachcombers for such great stays. We will see everyone in October as we are making onother trip to St. Pete Beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jskuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    459
    226
    100
    76
See reviews for
477
653
76
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
michigan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

We rented a vehicle for our stay and never had a proper place to park. It is an older hotel and they have tried to squeeze in as many slots as possible. I had to let my wife and son out then pull into the slot and sqeeze out myself. Fortunatly I purchased the insurance on the vehicle because of the dents in the doors.Also where ever you parked down the side of the buiildings you had to back out, very unpleasant. The pools are indeed nice and warm, but it says no food or drink in the deck or swimming area. Maybee they should have put up a sign that read no floating keg parties. The music was nice though. They did have two bands through the day, and there were some talented musicians playing. The beach is nice and private. The water was 90 deg. in the ocean. It did not get out of hand while we were there but I can imagine that it could. For the money that we paid for the trip package it was not a bad deal. Good luck and have a safe and happy trip were ever you end up

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hubert49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deal, kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

Visited the Beachcomber with my wife and 11 year old daughter along with my parents who are in their sixties. This is the 8th Time in 16 years we have visited this hotel, it has fantastic staff and a great location. Spotlessly clean, the hotel and its amenities are faultless, and the all staff, especially the Assistant Manager Miriam, and the loveley Ava, who has been working there for years and years are faultless and always at hand to help and advise. The beach bar on the property is home to live music every afternoon and evening, during the week the music ends not too late,around midnight and on fridays and saturdays it goes on to the around 2am, however, this is never a problem, the rooms are pretty soundproof. Especially at weekends the beach bar is meeting place for the locals and holiday makers alike. Everything is gentle paced, our 11 year old was enjoying her 4th trip to the hotel and she loves it. Highly recommended if you need a restful lazy break with the option of some gppd live music and great food on your doorstep. Our eldest son, who has visited the hotel many times has made the hotel part of his honeymoon and will be checking in mid august, If you try this place once, it won't be enough! Looking forward to our next trip in 2011

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clemo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2009

Booked for two nights with Hotels.com and ran away the next morning with no refund for the 2nd day beware when you book on "no early checkout policy".Hotel was well located on the beach but the music was loud from the Bar till 2am.The room was cheaply furnished and dirty and my husband spend the latter part of the night killing huge roaches in the room...Stay Away...When we complained they offered another room only in the morning but no refund for one day even though we left earlier...this place sucks beware "you have been warned"

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KANADAFAMILY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djollimore, General Manager at Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2009
The above Trip Advisor posting is not the case, following are the facts:

The guest checked into their room in the early afternoon. The hotel never received a complaint from this guest regarding any insects or any other issues during their 20 hours of occupying this room.

The guest had wanted to check out of the hotel a day early due to the rainy weather we had been experiencing. The weather forecast was that it would also be raining on this guests second day of their stay too. Since the guest reserved a non-refundable room through the Internet and paid that company directly, they would not receive a refund for checking out of the hotel 1 day early. Our hotel is unable to give the guest a refund for the second day because this guest had paid the monies directly to another company when they made their reservation. We can not control another companies booking or reservations policies.

When the guest was informed that we would not be able to give them a refund for the one day because they had paid another company for their reservation, they then tried to claim that there were insects in the room. In good faith and to do what ever it takes to satisfy our customers, the Assistant General Manager offered to accommodate this guest in a different area of the hotel and in another room, the guest declined, still wanting to check-out due to the rainy weather that day and what was forecasted for the second day. Our manager even offered to upgrade and move this guest to our sister hotel of the Grand Plaza Hotel at no extra cost. This guest declined this offer too.

We asked if we could inspect this guest’s room to see the claimed activity and we were denied access by the guest. Upon this guest’s departure, our management team immediately inspected this guest’s room for any signs of insect activity, as this guest claimed. There were no signs of insects in any part of the guest room. There was nothing in the trashcans that was discarded or any remnants of any activity.

This very same room had been occupied every night prior to this particular guest occupying it, and the hotel did not receive any complaints about any deficiencies or issues pertaining to this room from any prior guests.
This same room has been occupied every night since this guest’s departure and the hotel has not received a single complaint or comments that any problems exist in this very same guest room.

Our hotel strives daily to provide quality service and facilities to all of our valued guests.

We take our guest feedback very seriously and strive daily to make certain every one of our guests have an enjoyable experience while being our guest in our resort.
Our hotel is a classic Florida Beach Hotel and the entire property is extremely well maintained and modernized.

Our housekeeping staff constantly receives rave reviews about the great job they do and the overall cleanliness of our guest rooms.

Every guestroom is inspected by the housekeeping manager for quality and cleanliness prior to the checking-in of any guest, as this guest’s room was. As in the case with this guest, his room was spotless and there were no signs of any insects or other issues.

This guest had been through our hotel lobby many times during their first day spent at the resort and they were asked every time how their stay was. Never once was there mention of any cleanliness issues or insect issues in their room.

Again, after reading this guest’s posting, an immediate investigation and inspection of this guest’s claim were completed by Hotel Management and there was no evidence of what this guest has claimed.

As you can see from past reviews, our hotel enjoys favorable reviews from our other hotel guests and our hotel takes pride in providing clean and comfortable rooms.

Our staff caters to all of our guest’s needs by providing superior customer service to all of our hotel guests. We have a 100% commitment for guest satisfaction and it applies to all of our guests when an issue arises and when that issue is within our control.

In the case of this guest, we were unable to control the weather, nor were we able to help them out with a refund because they had paid the other reservation company directly and their reservation was non-cancelable through them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

This was our third year staying at the Beachcomber. It is clearly an older property and not very swanky, but has been kept well. Free parking, free internet, two pools (one very large one and one smaller, quieter one), beautiful grounds, and right on the beach! Half of the rooms have full kitchens, which is very convenient. The bathrooms have a large window sill which are great for setting all of your toiletries where they are out of the way. And the rooms with kitchens have walk in closets - makes your room feel more like home and makes it so that you don't have to live out of your suitcase. The rooms are clean, the staff was very friendly, and the location is perfect. I'm not sure that there is a more reasonable place to stay that is directly on the beach. Another review I read suggested that this is not a family friendly place - I would disagree! There were plenty of kids at the place, and all seemed to be having a great time. If you're looking for a quieter room, ask for the courtyard view, which is actually cheaper as well. The beach bar at the end of the property has live music every night, but in our courtyard room w/the door closed, you could not here the music.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aunry79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Central Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

What they do not tell you on line is that there is a huge bar on both ends of this resort - the one on the back must be walked through to get to the beach. On our first night, there were around 300 twenty somethings drunk in this back bar - drunk, dancing and making out. Not a family friendly enviroment.
The rooms were semi - clean, although the bath tub still had hairs in it from previous guests.
The next morning, the beach just outside complex was covered in condom wrappers. We got our family out of here as quickly as possible!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frpdmp7895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

I took my 81 year old mother to the beach midweek for 4 days and we had a great time. The room was clean and roomy and we felt very secure. The pool was steps away from our door and the gulf beach as close as a walk to the mailbox. The service people were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the nightly entertainment and the tropical atmoshere. We are planning a return trip!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ridenavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#16 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#13 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 6200 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Beach Resort Hotel is located on 5 1/2 acres of beautifully tropical landscaped gardens. From the first glimpse of the beautiful, white sandy beach and the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the welcoming smiles of all of our associates, you will feel relaxed and glad to be here. The Beachcomber offers rooms overlooking the Tropical Landscaped Gardens, the Swimming Pool, or the white sandy Beach. Each of our guest rooms has two double beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, large closet, AM/FM clock radio, Flat Screen TV with free HBO, free local calls, and unlimited wireless internet access. In addition, guest rooms with full kitchens are available. The kitchen rooms have the same amenities as a standard plus: a microwave, toaster, stove with oven, dining table with chairs for 4, and all necessary kitchen ware. There are NO hidden resort fees and NO parking fees. There are two heated swimming pools with chaise loungers, an on-site fitness center, an on-site guest laundry facility, complimentary coffee served daily in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beachcomber Beach Resort And Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing