We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Mini Vacation in October” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Certificate of Excellence
West Conshohocken, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Mini Vacation in October”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a great 5 day stay at the Beachcomber in St Pete Beach in October of 2012. The staff was outstanding in their help and service. Loads of good times and conversations at the Jimmy B's Beach Bar, Bartenders did a great job to keep the refreshments flowing. We loved the daily entertainment during the day and night. The location was great, beach was wonderful, we loved the laid back easy going attitude of all. The free beach ride service was a plus. We had a rental car that never left the lot except to get us back to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathy710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    430
    211
    93
    73
See reviews for
451
625
70
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a fantastic location, right on the most stunning beach, in a charming garden setting, but the rest was such a disappointment. Room decor stuck in the 70's (and not in a good way), with those nasty slippy nylon bedspreads and a barely adequate bathroom plus a funny damp dog smell. With a thoughtful makeover, maybe working the vintage look, but with mod cons it would be fabulous, as it is so different from the high rises on the rest of the beach. High price for hotel-you are paying for the location.

Room Tip: If you don't like late night parties have a room away from the beach bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Although the weather was bad the whole time we were there, this was a fun place to go. The grounds are beautiful, two very nice swimming pools, the beachside bar with live entertainment every day from 2pm to 3am. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are average motel rooms, but ideally in St. Petersburg Beach, you don't spend much time in your room except to sleep! The beds were comfortable, free wi-fi, refrigerator in room, large walk-in closet for suitcases, etc. We spent a lot of time walking around the area, down to Passe Grille and along the beach. We drove around a little and explored many areas. We had a great time and would definitely go back -- hopefully to warm and sunny weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany, ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the fourth time I have stayed here in the last 2 yrs. The last two times I just stopped in without a reservation,after traveling from N.Y. hoping they would have a room. Not only did they have a room but I got a discount and they kind of remembered me from the last stay. Of course, I have always been pleased to stay there. Rooms are clean and well taken care of, the staff is so friendly and helpful. And having a beach bar on the premisis playing music most of the day and night doesn't hurt. I just love it there.

Room Tip: I like the rooms near the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llayton16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

What an excellent experience at the Sports Bar at the Beachcomber! Lots of TV's .. and the most gracious and funny bartender Simon made sure that the game that I wanted to watch got on the tv closest to me was on. Eventho there are lots of tv's everywhere, he even asked if I would like to have the sound turned up so I could actually hear the game ... Nice touch Simon! I highly recommend Players to anyone staying at St Pete Beach looking for a really cool sports bar with lots of tv's, great drinks and food ... and a really great bartender! Thank you Simon for the great time!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We came to the beachcomber for a 7-day vacation and it was really nice. The staff here is amazing and really want you to feel welcome. The rooms are a bit outdated and we were kind of disappointed when we first arrived but after seeing other hotels near, we were glad to stay here after all! There's not a lot of parking but if you don't plan to arrive too late it shouldn't be a problem. Also there's loud music every night until 3 am but if you wear earplugs you'll be fine.The area around the pools is really nice to look at and to take pictures. The pools are warm, the rooms are clean. Not much to complain about.

Room Tip: If you don't like hearing music at night, don't take a room near the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our first visit to St. Pete Beach, and we wanted to stay on the beach versus being further inland.

The Good:

- Very friendly staff - outstanding. They really go out of their way to say hello and make you feel welcome.

- The beach itself is fantastic - a long, beautiful, wide stretch of gorgeous sand, with commerce well away from the beach itself.

- Parking and amenities are good. By all means park up front by the street if possible to avoid having to back up a long distance on the sides. Free wifi is a nice touch, and the music at Jimmy B's is nice.

- Great location, close to shops and restaurants. We walked almost everywhere.

- We booked our room through Hotwire, so the value of the room was good.


Not So Good:

- It was cold while we were in St. Pete Beach, so we needed to run the room heater. Loud.....OMG loud....to the point you were awakened every time it ran, which was a lot. It came down to a choice - freeze and sleep well, or be warm and wake up frequently.

- The music at Jimmy B.'s is a curse as well as a blessing, as the room insulation is poor - you will hear the noise until late. Other reviewers are correct in saying that some patrons are loud.

- The Platinum / Player's card is a joke. You fill out a form, but you don't get the card or discounts for a week. What's the point if the benefit isn't immediate? Why bother? Please rethink your approach, Beachcomber.

- Light pollution. We like pitch-black rooms to sleep in, but the window curtains did a poor job of blocking out the exterior lights in the parking lot.

- The rooms are getting old and tired-looking. I have to agree with other reviewers that the Beachcomer needs a facelift.

Bottom line: The Beachcomber has a lot of good things going for it - they try VERY hard to ensure you will enjoy your visit. I REALLY wanted to like it. I walk away feeling like I had a good visit, but not good enough where I would put the Beachcomber high on my list of candidate hotels for a next visit - I would look at other options first.

Room Tip: Get a room up by the lobby - away from the beach bar - to reduce noise levels. Ask for a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.0 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
1.8 mi away
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
Loews Don CeSar Hotel
#7 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Plaza Beach Hotel - Beachfront Resort
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#18 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 6200 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Beach Resort Hotel is located on 5 1/2 acres of beautifully tropical landscaped gardens. From the first glimpse of the beautiful, white sandy beach and the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the welcoming smiles of all of our associates, you will feel relaxed and glad to be here. The Beachcomber offers rooms overlooking the Tropical Landscaped Gardens, the Swimming Pool, or the white sandy Beach. Each of our guest rooms has two double beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, large closet, AM/FM clock radio, Flat Screen TV with free HBO, free local calls, and unlimited wireless internet access. In addition, guest rooms with full kitchens are available. The kitchen rooms have the same amenities as a standard plus: a microwave, toaster, stove with oven, dining table with chairs for 4, and all necessary kitchen ware. There are NO hidden resort fees and NO parking fees. There are two heated swimming pools with chaise loungers, an on-site fitness center, an on-site guest laundry facility, complimentary coffee served daily in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Beach Resort And Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing