We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in St. Pete Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We had a king room with a great view of the beach and a balcony.

I generally prefer nicer hotels, but what I wanted was way too expensive ($400+). I booked the room directly through the hotel and got exactly what I wanted in a room ($178 per night). I would say that calling it a resort is a little misleading.

The location was great, on the beach with a nice boardwalk going from the bar to the beach. The beach was great, white sand, clean and not overly crowded. The staff at the hotel and bar were all very nice. The outdoor beach bar, Jimmy B's was a pretty happening spot with live bands in the afternoon and the evening. Some friends came from Tampa one evening and liked it a lot. The food there was ok, not a very big selection. The location of our room was pretty loud, so if noise bothers you, ask for a room away from the bar area. The room was pretty clean, but not spotless. The lighting was not very good in the bedroom or the bathroom. The soundproofing was also not very good. I could hear conversations next door and in the hallway, you could hear into the rooms as well. I didn't use either of the pools, but they may have been on the small side.


We had a seafood dinner next door at Shells. I was kind of skeptical as it is connected to the Travelodge which doesn't seem to get very good reviews, but the food and service were both good and what you would want for casual dining.

Overall, I was satisfied with our stay and would stay at the Beachcomber again if prices were the same.

We drove over to Fort DeSoto Park which has wonderful beaches and is great for taking long walks. It is probably 15-20 minutes from St. Pete Beach. I would definitely recommend this.

  • Liked — Location and room with a great view
  • Disliked — Lack of privacy in the rooms - soundproofing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mcd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    470
    230
    103
    76
See reviews for
492
663
76
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Howell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2008

The Beachcomber - St. Pete Beach, Florida

We spent five great days at the Beachcomber in mid-January. The Beachcomber is located directly on the beach on the Gulf of Mexico. The Beachcomber sits in the middle of a tropical garden setting complete with pools, a fountain, and paths roaming through the grounds. The staff was friendly and very hospitable. They all made us feel like family. The room and grounds were clean and inviting. We enjoyed the food at the Players Sports Bar, and Jimmy B's on the Beach was incredible. We enjoyed walking on the beach. Watching the sunset on the beach was an awesome experience. There was always something for us to do. We had a great time, and it was just the break we needed from Michigan's winter weather. We are looking forward to going back again!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank howelldadnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2008

My sister & I wanted a quick getaway for a few days. We stayed 3 nights at The Beachcomber Beach Resort and it was perfect. The people working there were very nice & friendly... the place was clean... 2 bars ... 2 pools ... boardwalk to the beach! What more could you want??? We would definately go back!!

Thank you!


Sheila & MaryKate
Pennsylvania

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Matilda1Paoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We had stayed at the hotel prior to it becoming the Beachcomber and had always liked staying there. We found the new owners had met and even exceeded the quality of our stay. We especially like the staff and their courteous and hospitable attitude. The housekeeping are wonderfullly cheerful and are always willing to provide anything you need. The grounds are beautiful and beautifully kept. We also enjoy the live music they provide. This is not a luxury hotel, which we were not looking for, it's perfect for those wanting a clean affordable family friendly hotel on the beach that offers all you need for a perfect vacation.

Vacationers from Baden PA

  • Liked — Clean, near the beach, nice pool, courteous staff, convenient location.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VacationerBadenPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.s.,canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

We stayed two weeks at the Beachcomber and really enjoyed the lovely landscaped grounds, the heated pools, Jimmy B's and the amazing sunsets.
The hotel is a two story 'u' shape with the pools and fountain in the interior and the beach bar Jimmy B's at the end, between the hotel and the beach, so quite cosy. You have to walk thru or around Jimmy B's to get to the beach though.
The hotel and our room was amazing clean, the housekeeping staff excellent, and when the T.V started to act up, maintenance was ithere immediately.
Though we did not opt for a full kitchen, our room came with a half size fridge which was very convenient and (my favorite feature) a big walk-in closet with hangers,hooks and shelving whch easily held all our suitcases, jackets, towels,shoes,camera cases,shopping etc. with room to spare, so the main room could stay clutter free which is great for a beach stay.
Jimmy B's has great food. They also have live entertainment during the afternoons and in the evenings.The music can be quite loud so I would recommend a garden room if you want peace and quiet. We had a room by the smaller pool and found it just right. The oceanview rooms are right next to the music so beware if you have small children.
Overall, we were impressed with the hotel and will stay at the Beachcomber on our next trip.

  • Liked — Location on the beach
  • Disliked — Lack of parking
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grayce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

I'm from upstate New York and have been coming to St. Pete's for years, family in the area. I have stayed at various hotels/motels, the Beachcomber is by far the best place I have stayed. The room was very clean, and comfortable, the rate was very affordable and the staff were ALL outstanding. Customer Service was definitely a priority at the Beachcomber. . The grounds were meticulous and beautiful. Staff was so accommodating and always smiling and helpful, from the front desk, to the cleaning staff to the maintenance person.
I'm older and the party atmosphere (Cabana and the band that played nightly) was not a issue for me.
Thank you for making my stay so special.
Keep up the great work.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Norky73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

The area is beautiful. So much to do and see. Worth the trip!

The food at the hotel was good. THere are two places to eat in the hotel. Two live bands daily, which was fantastic. We love music and dancing the night away. Two beautiful pools and of course the warmth of the sand and ocean at your feet.

Many stores and acttivites within the immediate area.

Overall I would say this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in on holiday and I am extremely fussy!

Can't wait to return soon.

Sincerely,

A Protentis
South Florida

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank vacationfamily_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Pete Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dolphin Beach Resort
Dolphin Beach Resort
#21 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Postcard Inn on the Beach
Postcard Inn on the Beach
#19 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
471 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Don CeSar
The Don CeSar
#8 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sirata Beach Resort
Sirata Beach Resort
#14 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
4,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Plaza Beachfront Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Alden Suites
Alden Suites
#11 of 32 in St. Pete Beach
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 6200 Gulf Boulevard, St. Pete Beach, FL 33706-3716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Pete Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in St. Pete Beach
#14 Family Hotel in St. Pete Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beachcomber Beach Resort Hotel is located on 5 1/2 acres of beautifully tropical landscaped gardens. From the first glimpse of the beautiful, white sandy beach and the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to the welcoming smiles of all of our associates, you will feel relaxed and glad to be here. The Beachcomber offers rooms overlooking the Tropical Landscaped Gardens, the Swimming Pool, or the white sandy Beach. Each of our guest rooms has two double beds, a small refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, large closet, AM/FM clock radio and Flat Screen TV with free HBO. There are two heated swimming pools with chaise loungers, an on-site fitness center, an on-site guest laundry facility, complimentary coffee served daily in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachcomber Beach Hotel Saint Pete Beach
Beachcomber Beach Resort And Hotel
Beachcomber Beach Resort & Hotel St. Pete Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing